Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kota Kinabalu

Good hotel and close to nature

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Rooms are big with good size bathroom as well. There is a tub as well as a cubicle for shower.
Cons: Carpet seems worn out and needs replacement. Buffet dinner could improve as food was not replenish when finished. Furthermore dinner is not cheap.
Location: There is a small trail to explore but not fully accessible.
Hotel was not in town central, therefore secluded with lots of greenery. Pool and gym was an added advantage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose from M

Peaceful location, yet not far from town centre

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Our bookings cannot be located. In this era where free communications like Whatsapp and Telegram are realtime, more so should be business communications which generate revenue. The front office told us breakfast will be thrown in upon registrations, with the thought our rates were revised. To our disappointment upon completing breakfast we were billed. This was certainly more expensive that the breakfast packaged. Though outlet staff gestured and didn't billed for our 2 kids. Unprofessional, hotel should honour mistakes made by their staff, and aim to delight guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by PP-HW from UK

Great Place Great Price

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice clean and very friendly place to stay. great VFM!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice but tired

Posted Dec 7, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good quality hotel in nice surrounds

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: Location and service.
Location: Sepilok orangutang park
The hotel is in a good location, is well maintained and has a nice pool area. The facilities are good and the food and service couldn't be faulted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by leah from england

Perfect for stop over stays, to and from tours

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Easy to access, helpful with bag storage so we didn't have to carry all luggage with us on our trips, amazing choice of food, didn't have time to check all the hotel out but was pleased with time spent there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Chess from Western Australia

Couldn't have been better

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
A very comfortable stay after a week in the jungle. The accommodation was perfect, the pool delightful, the pizza delicious. Only the location might not suit everyone as it's a bit far from town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Qld, Australia

Highly recommend!

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband, 20 month old son and I stayed at the Sabah Hotel for 5 nights after being recommended to stay there by family. We were really happy with our choice. There are definitely newer hotels in the town of Sandakan, but the surroundings, service and pool at the Sabah Hotel can not be beaten... especially if you have children! Our room was spacious and clean, and the bathroom was a really good size. We ate at the buffet breakfast every morning and there was a great variety of food. We did have a lunch and dinner meal at the restaurant, but found we could get better (and cheaper) food at the local restaurants in town. The Sabah Hotel is about a 10 minute walk down the hill into town. This didn't bother us at all because along the way you can stop at the Agnes Keith House or just take in the sights and smells of Sandakan! And it was a cheap taxi ride back to the hotel (a couple of dollars only). As mentioned, the pool was a highlight, especially the 2 water slides that provided plenty of entertainment. I read many reviews before staying at the Sabah, and since our stay at the hotel would say that some of the comments written are definitely over critical. I would definitely stay at the Sabah Hotel again and would recommend it to any potential traveller. The ambience of the hotel was such a highlight and we only left with a positive feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by radhika from delhi

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
fairly comfortable room and beds, good pool. A good place for a short stopover if main focus is sepilok/ trips outside of Sandakan. away from the town so not great if you want to be downtown. food and service quite poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Seasoned travel from Adelaide SA, Australia

Sabah in Style

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Pool
Location: Close to city but an oasis just far enough away
Hotel is well situated about 1k from city centre. All amenities are well maintained and it is in a natural setting. Good for couples of all ages or family. Definitely would stay again for these reasons with staff quite helpful at all times.