Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Overall it was ok, kids had a blast at the waterpark.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Water park or large pool?

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: location was close to cedar point
Cons: I would put toilets closer to the pool as I didnt see kids getting out often and they looked like they felt the pool was a big urinal.
Location: cedar point is close by
I felt that paying $259 a night would get me more than a large pool with a few slides. The images look great online, but in person the hotel is overrated and the rooms we rent that great either. I would not stay here again and I feel the resort was anything but a resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Better than other reviews suggested

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Good location, convenient to Cedar Point, breakfast, good rooms.
Cons: Rooms need a full end-of-season cleaning at the end of the year, including rugs. Better wifi signals.
Location: Easy drive to Cedar Point.
Stayed here while visiting Cedar Point and was a bit worried because many recent comments about this hotel described it negatively. Overall it wasn't spectacular but it was a good value and lived up to what it was supposed to be. Checkin process took about 20 minutes. There was a good line but it moved fairly rapidly and the hotel had 3 people working so even when someone had a difficulty, the two others kept working. The room itself was a standard room, two queen beds. Overall it was a little bit old and I could see where some of the cleanliness complaints came from but it was pretty much fine. There were a couple stains on the floor by the door; the rugs could use shampooed, but the room had been well taken care of on normal cleanings. Towels, bathroom, everything else was as it should be, beds were in good shape, i have a dust mite allergy and these didn't bother me. Breakfast was somewhat crowded, at the longest it took about 10 minutes to get through the line, but they kept food coming out the whole time. Standard hot breakfast, eggs, pancakes, sausage, biscuits/gravy, coffee, tea. Lots of kids around but that was expected. Only negative thing really worth noting is that there was no detectable wifi signal in my room despite the hotel advertising wifi. Had I not spent the full day at an amusement park I might have made a bigger deal of this. Overall, it was better than I expected based on many of the comments seen before coming.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel REALLY needs more renovation!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
I had to be moved twice to be content with staying there with my family. I just did not feel clean, carpets are nasty.It needs a lot more work. I will pay the extra money next time to stay at Kalahari next time! The staff were pleasant and did their best to accommodate me but, I was just not pleased....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from COLUMBUS OH

SANDUSKY VACATION

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: THE WATER PARK WAS GREAT. THE STAFF AT THE WATER PARK MADE YOU FEEL SECURE. ROOM WAS SPACEOUS AND CLEAN. ENJOYED MY STAY VERY MUCH.
Cons: COULD HAVE MORE PARKING SPACES CLOSER TO THE HOTEL. HAD TO PARK IN THE OVERFLOW LOT ACROSS FROM THE HOTEL. THAT WAS SOME WALK AT NIGHT.
Location: THERE WERE MANY THINGS TO DO NEAR BY. HAD A WONDERFUL TIME AT CEDAR POINT.
HAD A GREAT TIME AT THE RESORT. THE WATER PARK WAS FABULOUS. THE HOTEL STAFF WAS GREAT. DOC WAS TRULY AMAZING. HE AND THE STAFF MADE YOU REALLY FEEL LIKE YOU WERE FAMILY. ENJOYED TALKING WITH THEM AND BEING AROUND THEM SO MUCH. GREAT BREAKFAST. LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR RETURN. ALSO, OUR GRANDKIDS REALLY ENJOYED THEIR STAY AND WANT TO RETURN REAL SOON.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average quality terrible customer service

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The hotel is dated and it shows. Bathrooms are small and sub par. Carpet has stains and beds are average quality. The icing on the cake was getting my card charged twice for my one night stay. I called a week later after noticing this and they said their records showed that after checking out I checked back in for a night. It took 30 min on the phone before someone finally put funds back on my card. Poor customer service all around. Stay at the great wolf lodge down the street, this place is a hole.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great value. Could use an update.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Good location and value
Cons: housekeeping, signage, cleanliness
Location: Quick ride to Cedar Point
Hotel entrance was not well marked. Great value compared to similar hotels in area. Nice waterpark. Great layout and design for room that could accommodate 2 adults and 4 kids. A room with 6 beds should be stocked with 6 sets of towels. (We got only 4 and needed to get extras at the desk each night). Overall it was a decent place but a little dirty and can use an update.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Ohio

You really do get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Upon arrival the boy who helped with the check in was nice enough but clueless. He did not give us our waterpark passes or a receipt. My daughter said the hallway smelled like her grandmothers attic and once going in the room it was a big disappointment. The carpet had black sticky spots on it, the furniture was dusty and other guests were loud and obnoxious well after midnight. I could not in good faith recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Resort behind a gas station

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The resort was not as I expected.There were big stains in the carpet(told front desk but they seemed to not care),resort is behind a gas station...best thing is the water park area of resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and I love it

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Great and I will be back. Everything was nice about the room, the breakfast and the staff was great.