Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Needs updating!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
It is potentially a nice resort. They have everything right on the property, golf, pools, beach (not visited) & restaurants. However the whole place needs updating badly!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wilmette, IL

Pleasant but pricey, not for families

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Being semi-secluded, it's low on traffic noise. But it's easy to get to.
Cons: More for the younger set, including a free breakfast.
Location: Route 250 to the west is a reasonably quick drive. It's the main drag to Cedar Point and chock full of fast food restaurants.
While the fake wilderness lodge decor is reminiscent of Great Wilderness Lodge, there's no indoor waterpark, no arcade, no hot tub, and no free breakfast. The Sawmill's target audience appears to be retired adults, not families. They offer tennis, golfing, a pool, a ping pong table, and a game room with a billiard table but no arcade. There's a pricey restaurant but for more kid-friendly fare you need to head to a few miles to Rte 250. When pricing, remember to add the daily resort tax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by The Thirionsfrom Perry, Ohio

What a great experience!

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our 4th visit to this hotel and have always had a great experience. We celebrated my birthday on this particular weekend and I can't remember ever having such a great experience. We splurged on a suite and our bed and pillows were super comfy! The bathrobes were totally dreamy! I appreciated the Adirondack chairs that the hotel provided at the beach. Loved the band! Room service was very good. My only complaint about this hotel is that the parking is rather strange. It is not too convenient for guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert Hfrom Huron, OH

Great look but needs improvement in other areas...

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very charming, courteous and friendly staff. Room was fantastic. However, the resort restaurant menu was sorely lacking and way over priced for the quality of the food. The filet was average but my companion's lobster pasta was inedible. Also, room service was very slow and when ordering, the person I spoke with couldn't answer one question about the menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carolfrom Michigan

Going to C Point? U must stay at Sawmill Creek!

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location close to Cedar Point- nice pools indoor and out. Nice restaurants. Very clean and quiet. My teenagers loved it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place, but at that price breakfast needs to be included!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by saidefrom columbus, ohio

nice place close to cedar point

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
After I saw the not so pleasant review for this hotel , i decided to cancel my reservation ,but I am glad I did not , this is a nice hotel in nice surrounding , very beautiful golf , close to lake , very helpful employee two beautiful pools, nice small shop close to pool, overall I enjoyed my stayed and I recommend this hotel . just only one thing, the route 6 is very busy road it took us 15 minutes to take a left turn from the resort, i wish they put stop sign or red light.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean resort hotel with pool and golf course

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Great hotel w great access to all amenities in Huron and Sandusky.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lisafrom Kent, OH

For what we were paying, I expected much better

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the rather steep price we paid, I would have expected so much more! Check-in was chaotic; a long line of guests and one girl at the counter who eventually called someone else up from the back - not to help, but because she had to clock out before she got into overtime. There was no greeting from the new clerk or any apology for being kept waiting. Several of the lights in the parking light were burned out, leaving us walking to our room in the dark. We were on the second floor and there are no elevators, so we had to lug heavy bags up the stairs. The vending machines in our building were both completely sold out; our only option was to walk all the way back to the front desk and go to the convenience store there. The air conditioner sounded like a tractor - it woke us up repeatedly during the night. If I were paying $100 a night at some chain hotel, I wouldn't be so picky, but paying more than twice that, I expect the hotel to do a much better job with basic things like lights and air conditioning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

never again!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
stayed in the Ottawa room #1413, very outdated, wet carpet, smelled terrible, slept under the sheets with the air conditioning and window open!