Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chesterland, Ohio

Nice place to visit

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Looked like it would be an interesting place to hold a convention.
Location: Lots to do nearby as Sandusky is a busy place.
Our stay at sawmill creek was very brief. Room was nice and cozy. We did not try any of the amenities there, but did take a look at the indoor and outdoor pool. I think either my kids would have enjoyed. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast. The buffet was about 15 bucks for adults and 7 for kids. It had a lot of selection. No one left hungry. Saw the golf course, but did not experience it. I would definitely consider this hotel again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Check out took a bit too long. Heater of room was old fashioned. Blower had to run all the time and was loud. Overall nice set up. Lots of amenities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You Are Not the Customer

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Staff was unfriendly & extremely disrespectful to me as a guest. Enough said.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beware your valuables

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I put ado not disturb sign on my door while I was out for work and left two lights on. When I came back the lights were off, meaning a staff member came into my room despite the do not disturb sign.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danielfrom Ohio

Needs Updating!

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Resort has become dated. Watched a TV that was 15 years old, I could barely see the picture. The carpet had dark carpet stains, the coffee pot would not stay on. Restaurant service was slow on both nights, the food was very good once we got it. I advised the customer service personnel at checkout and they said "Ok, thanks for letting us know".
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Needs updating!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
It is potentially a nice resort. They have everything right on the property, golf, pools, beach (not visited) & restaurants. However the whole place needs updating badly!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wilmette, IL

Pleasant but pricey, not for families

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Being semi-secluded, it's low on traffic noise. But it's easy to get to.
Cons: More for the younger set, including a free breakfast.
Location: Route 250 to the west is a reasonably quick drive. It's the main drag to Cedar Point and chock full of fast food restaurants.
While the fake wilderness lodge decor is reminiscent of Great Wilderness Lodge, there's no indoor waterpark, no arcade, no hot tub, and no free breakfast. The Sawmill's target audience appears to be retired adults, not families. They offer tennis, golfing, a pool, a ping pong table, and a game room with a billiard table but no arcade. There's a pricey restaurant but for more kid-friendly fare you need to head to a few miles to Rte 250. When pricing, remember to add the daily resort tax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by The Thirionsfrom Perry, Ohio

What a great experience!

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our 4th visit to this hotel and have always had a great experience. We celebrated my birthday on this particular weekend and I can't remember ever having such a great experience. We splurged on a suite and our bed and pillows were super comfy! The bathrobes were totally dreamy! I appreciated the Adirondack chairs that the hotel provided at the beach. Loved the band! Room service was very good. My only complaint about this hotel is that the parking is rather strange. It is not too convenient for guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert Hfrom Huron, OH

Great look but needs improvement in other areas...

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very charming, courteous and friendly staff. Room was fantastic. However, the resort restaurant menu was sorely lacking and way over priced for the quality of the food. The filet was average but my companion's lobster pasta was inedible. Also, room service was very slow and when ordering, the person I spoke with couldn't answer one question about the menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carolfrom Michigan

Going to C Point? U must stay at Sawmill Creek!

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location close to Cedar Point- nice pools indoor and out. Nice restaurants. Very clean and quiet. My teenagers loved it.