Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Not the romantic hotel we hoped for

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Free parking, location on the Rhine.
Cons: Be clear that the rooms are not as pretty and romantic as the building's facade would lead you to believe. They are basic, utilitarian rooms.
Location: St. Goar is a lovely town and the Reinsfeld ruins are great. Watching boat traffic on the river is lovely, as is cruising the river.
It's a few rooms located under a lovely restaurant. While the restaurant and the outside look lead you to believe the rooms would have character, they were very utilitarian. The rooms were clean, but basic and without character. The wifi was spotty at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Surfer dudefrom Dhahran

Very good value. Right on Rhine river.

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room with great view. Very good meal in restaurant dining room. Nice kitchen garden. Would have been nice to stay more than one night and use the hotel bicycles. Hotel provided nice packed lunch since we hadn't leave before breakfast. Friendly staff. A very pleasant place toasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Fredfrom Lidingö

kanonställe

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mycket fina rum och badrum. gemytliga sällskapsutrymme och en stor terass med utsikt över Rhen med dess båt-trafik. Trippelglas i fönstren eliminerar buller från den näraliggande tågtrafiken men förutsätter givetvis att fönstren är stängda. Mycket hög klass på maten som serveras i restaurangen. Bra sängar och urval av TV-kanaler inkl CNN för den som inte hänger med på tyska. Vi var alla mycket nöjda med vår vistelse och fann inget att klaga på.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Nice hotel on the banks of the River

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: We liked the location ,as it's on the banks of the river away from the main town. Everything as been well thought out for tourist.
Cons: May be more staff on at peak times,they seemed to be rushed of there feet ,which dosnt give them much time for interaction with guest .
Location: It's a fantastic location for watching the trains plains and automobiles ,and the ships on the river.
It was the quickest check in I've ever had ,it looked liked there was a coach party having a meal ,so the staff looked Quite busy,I rang the bell give my name and was handed the key,so we just took ourselves off to find our room ,the room was lovley and clean and very well thought out . We had our evening meals at this hotel,meals are served in a beautiful dining room overlooking the River ,on the Sunday evening we had a choice of where to sit ,on the second evening there where names on the tables ,we had been placed looking at the only wall in the room ,we did ask to be moved and thankfully it wasn't a problem .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Praktisches Hotel für einen Zwischenstopp

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Ich möchte das Hotel nicht schlecht machen. Meine Bewertung ergibt sich nur daraus, dass das Preis - Leistungsverhältnis nicht stimmt. Gemessen an 120 Euro pro Nacht (Doppelzimmer, Rheinseite) erwartet man, dass die Handtücher nicht uralt sind, der Fernseher nicht starr in einer Ecke an der Wand hängt, sodass man ihn nur im stehen nutzen kann. Weiter kann man das Bett mit einem billigen Kinderbett vergleichen, die Matratze ist nicht für Erwachsene gedacht. Die Kaffeeflecken auf dem Stuhl beim Frühstück und der Fliegenfriedhof auf der Fensterbank direkt neben dem Frühstückstisch, runden den Eindruck ab. Nicht falsch verstehen. Bei einem Preis um die 80 Euro hätte ich eine top Bewertung abgeben, da die Erwartungen einfach nicht so hoch gewesen wären.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fiona & Terryfrom English living in Southern Germany

Wonderful Location

Posted Aug 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I wanted a romantic get-away for her Birthday. We enjoy walking so took a chance on the Weinhotel Landsknecht being conveniently located to St. Goar albeit a 3 km walk. What a GOOD decision! Our room overlooked the Rhine by 10 meters with a castle opposite. We had previously read that the restaurant was good, so decided to have both our evening meals there. It was fantastic. The food and wine selection was very good, The food was very professionally prepared and presented ... and yes ... tasted excellent! The Rhine view and sunset was the 'icing-on-the-cake' When we are in that region again, we will not consider staying at any other hotel. Well done Weinhotel Landsknecht
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ralphfrom Peoria, IL

Great hotel right along Rhine!

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Very cozy - with great terrace and views of Rhine!
Cons: Installing an elevator.
Location: We took drives up and down along the Rhine and enjoyed the scenery very much. It was a great stop on way from Cologne to Strasbourg.
We loved the hotel's charm and its location. Great views and very good evening meal and breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Carolfrom Seattle

Isolated

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice Motel on the Rhine but not close to (walking distance) St Goar and Rheinfels Castle. Yes, shuttle service is available but not convienent. Windows cannot be opened because of bugs in the summer and noise from constant trains going by. Ended up having all of our meals here (B, L & D) Lunch & Dinner menu the same--good. Breakfast was included and it was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LoBrofrom Canada

Very comfortable

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Arrived after 28 hours of travel (about 1.5 hours from FRA airport). Very courteous and quick check in. Large room (2 chairs, sofa, 2 single beds together) faced the Rhein River (with windows open, could notably hear the train on the opposite river bank). Very well maintained and clean. We had a car so short drive into St. Goar. for supper, but large restaurant and patio (facing the river) at the hotel. Hotel location is not close to any other services. Breakfast was very good and pleasant staff. Impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lofrom Quebec, Canada

Magnifique

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Bien situé,vue incroyable
Cons: Région bruyante
Location: Sur le bord du Rhin
Magnifique! Sur le bord du Rhin,nous avions réservé une chambre double supérieure avec balcon et nous avons eu un appartement avec immense parterre entouré de rosiers avec vue sur le Rhin. L'appartement était immense avec cuisinette,chambre et salon double. Seule déception : bruyant en raison des trains qui passent de chaque côté du Rhin a toutes heures du jour et de la nuit... Mais ce n'est pas lié a l'hôtel,c'est partout pareil,c'est comme ça dans cette région