Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

5 star facilities, 4 star service, 3 star food

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds.Stunning views.Restaurant set around a very nice pool.Spa - first class.Public areas gorgeous.Lovely suite with 2 large balconies.
Cons: Food was satisfactory no more - certainly not up to the standard of a 5 star. Reception staff were poor
Location: Hotel's beach is gravel (as is most of the Italian Riveira's coast) Pretty village/town with some lovely nearby restaurants
Overall we had a very good time, although the food certainly let down the experience, we had far better meals in local cafes/restaurants/hotels. Not up to the standard of a 5star hotel and overpriced for the quality. The restaurant had two very good singers/pianists although most evenings it was virtually empty. The highlight was Antonio the Maitre'd who was exceptional. Hotel facilities and grounds were lovely, very nice pool, service on the whole was good although the Reception staff were very poor. We were actually asked to visit the local information bureau to have our question answered and much of the information we were given was incorrect. The italian riveira beaches are mostly gravel, as is the hotel's private beach, which was disappointing although we probably should have researched before we left. Overall, a lovely looking hotel with great facilities although we wouldn't visit the Italian Riveiera again due to a lack of sandy beaches, good but not great food and lack of buzz. The area is living on past glories imo. Cote d'azur is still streets ahead... We were actually asked to visit the town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, England

Our stay at Grand Hotel Del Mare

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was good, especially, when I found out on the second day, that you could have a hot breakfast.
Cons: The receptionist (Christina) clearly does not enjoy her job or give you the feeling that you are made a welcome guest.
Location: You can walk along the pebble, stony beach, no sand. A walk into town will take you approximately half an hour.
Caveat Emptor (let the buyer be aware) room was booked was with a balcony, that you had to peer through the side to see any view, bad location. Absolutely nothing to do at hotel. Not a 5 star, as stated, more like a 3 star. Iv stayed in 5 star hotels previously and know what to expect. Receptionist needs training, especially in customer service. A customer was being served as we arrived, whilst we were waiting, the customer then left and the receptionist then stated to us "you've probably already heard me talking to the customer previously, so if you need to know anything else then let me know". It was clearly too much trouble for her to explain the benefits/amenities of the hotel that were included in our stay at the hotel. The internet connection, although free, is as slow as a snail. Balcony was not cleaned. No tea or coffee making facilities. Small bottle of water 4.5 Euro's, walk into the town is a good half an hour. If you want a hot breakfast, you have to ask, this is not made clear. Would not stay at this hotel again. We booked this hotel after reading other reviews, however, our experience was not a pleasant one. We felt that we had wasted our money on this hotel booking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Large hotel with little within walking distance

Posted Aug 5, 2014
What a pompous hotel. The staff are rude unless you look like you have money. The maître de deserves special recognition for rudeness. The guests looked bored. Perhaps it was the dull breakfast with little choice unless you paid extra that got things off to a bad start to the day. Perhaps it was because you could be anywhere as there is nothing close. All the men looked like they'd just had an argument and the women just remainde silent. Look out for the singer in the evening who has a restricted vocal range - or enjoy the pianist who repeats the same songs every evening. Our dinner was accompanied by a more expensive wine we didn't order. On checkout they wanted to charge for a beer we didn't drink. It was our honeymoon. They knew it and made no effort. In addition we asked them for written confirmation of our stay date and they refused saying that the manager was in a meeting and could not be contacted - for two days. They promised to email and at the time of writing still haven't sent us the requested information. On the plus side, good pool side attendants and one good breakfast waiter. Save your money unless you have more money than you need. Oh by the way, they don't have irons in the hotel but take a Kleenex. They charge 2 euros to iron a hankey or 12 for a polo shirt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlos from Switzerland

Peaceful hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The private beach was a plus after seeing how busy the beaches can get around there. Even though is a small gravel beach, as many in the area.
Cons: the service at the restaurant could be faster. there were not many people and the service was quite slow.
We stayed only one night in our way back home and had a wonderful, relaxing and restauring night. People at the front desk was very nice and we were up-graded to a suite: great room, very nice mattres, the bathroom was top. Really a great place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Rüedi from Zürich

baroque retreat with seaview

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel offers comforting rooms and a sense of security when entering through the drive-in. the interior is a bit between a medicis castles heritage and a soft-pawn movie environment. a good place to stay on my way along the coast, away from hustle and bustle, providing lots of space in entrance hall lobby and the gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kh from riyadh

Nice hotel on the sea coast

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: ceaselessness and sea views
Cons: staff for room services should understand more English
Location: a good location
This hotel is very nice with a beautiful sea view. It has got very clean and comfortable rooms. It serves breakfast with fresh and variety of options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Faye from Gloucestershire

Great sea view

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel had not reserved the room which I booked so was offered an upgrade. Great view of sea from the balcony. Service was excellent and every thing was done to make our stay enjoyable. Very good facilities at the hotel but they promised an indoor pool which turned out to be a large jaccuzzi so not really large enough for swimming. Hotel is 2 km from town centre and had to drive into town each night for dinner as a limited vegetarian menu in hotel restaurant. Great holiday and will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hctimr from UK

Mostly a good experience

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were informed on arrival that we had been upgraded, but the room seemed to be pretty much the one that I had booked. The comfort of the beds, and the quality of linen and towels are 5 star level. As are the outside areas and common areas. Dinner was disappointing; risotto was too salty and mixed grilled fish only had two types of fish. We mentioned this as the plates were cleared away, but no reaction. Also slightly annoyed that we were not allowed to extend checkout from 1200 to 1230. The room was not attended by maids until 1345 on the previous day. 5 star rating should mean no quibbles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dmitriy from NJ

Nice vacation

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: In my opinion the Royal Suite should have jacuzzi (not only shower) The Internet speed and reliability can be improved
Location: It is very short distance to Sanremo, Monte-Carlo, Cannes etc. You can reach any point of Riviera de Fiori and French Riviera within 1.5 hours
Positive fact about hotel: Exellent spa - the pool with the salt water, nice steam room, sauna with realy high temperature (80C), aromatic shower and everything free of charge and from 10AM to 9PM. Free valet parking. Pleasant sea view from the room balcony. A lot of trees and flowers in the garden, pool with sea water. All hallways are decorated with antic paintings, sculptures, furniture etc. that can suit the good museum. Every night You can enjoy live piano music. On the breakfast You eat with silver knives and forks. The quality of food is exceptional. Hotel is dog friendly and some dogs can help You to support the good mood. Staff is very friendly, especialy the Russian speaking staff. They are ready to help with any problem. The linen in the room are very good quality. The maids helped us even with the smallest size bathrobe for our 9 years old daughter.