Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most excellent "Grand" hotel!

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Cons: The Queen/King beds were really just twins pushed together, but they were comfortable enough.
Location: We visited the ruins at Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast! The hotel provided us with a great map and excellent directions!
We loved the grandeur and charm of this hotel! It is obviously a place where italians love to hold events - There was a wedding or fancy party every evening, but even so we were never inconvenienced by noise or people during our stay! The staff went to great lengths to make our stay lovely, suggesting beaches to visit, and making sure we were happy! We enjoyed the "Bed and Breakfast" aspect of a full service hotel. It was like staying in a wealthy relatives' home!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bergamo

Vacanza da sogno!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Come vi immaginate una vacanza da favola? Hotel splendido e pulitissimo, personale cordiale e disponibilissimo, ottimo cibo. Questo è quello che abbiamo trovato. Un particolare ringraziamento ad Antonio che ci portava la colazione con vari suggerimenti e Diego della reception.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nairobi and Canada

Not what it is chalked up to be.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
To be fair, the hotel was clean, comfortable, and the WiFi worked well but only in the rooms. The lunch and dinner menu was excellent. The breakfast was not worth getting up for. The place was extremely difficult to find. If you did not have a GPS I think it may be impossible. There are no shuttles to ruins, to shopping, or the beach, as advertised. There are parties for various occasion 's constantly. So using the pool and garden area is impossible. No one speaks English. It's not a foreigner friendly place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coral Springs, Florida

Very, Very nice. Convenient to get to "Pompeii"

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: See comments above.
Picked it out of a picture on Hotels on Expedia. Were very surprised at the beauty of it. Much more beautiful than the picture. Front Desk was super and friendly, bartender also, and the young man that helped with our luggage and also waited on us at Dinner and Breakfast was fantastic. Sorry we only had one night on our trip to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

This hotel was created and run by love

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Atmosphere. Room. Stuff.
Cons: stronger water flow in the shower.
Location: We were 4 days in the hotel as a base of a 'star' tour of the area including Amalfi coast, Pompei, Vesuvious and Napoli. Italian traffic is SLOW.
Luxury hotel for everyday prices. This hotel was made by someone who really loved what he was doing and he spent everything to make it the best he can. The stuff joins this effort and tries his best to help you. We felt like kings and queens in that hotel. We got a room for 2 adults and 3 kids. A Big room. The beds were comfortable, decorated with intricate wooden carvings as was the cupboard mirror and even the minibar. The floor was special painted ceramics and even the bathroom was big and decorated nicely We had a lovely balcony. The hotel is fun to walk with lots of hidden gems. This hotel certainly elevated our holiday in Napoli to new heights. Breakfast was nice, not magnificent but every family member had what he/she needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mentir, ohio

Perfecto!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Francesco and Antonio were awesome! The owner, Mario was a pleasure to talk to and very happy. What a beautiful stay. Very close to Pompeii. Would love to come back and celebrate our anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kheminda from Princeton, NJ

Old World Italien Palace

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at La Sonrisa one night with my family touring Italy. Great Hotel with very friendly staff. They treated us like family and attended to all our needs. Our car had a flat tire when we got the hotel. The staff was very helpful in getting a tow truck to get the tire fixed. The next morning the I was informed that the tire could not be fixed and hotel staff made calls to the rental company and made it possible to get the tire fixed so we can continue our journey. I like to recognize concierge Danilo who took so much trouble in calling different people on my behalf to resolve the issue. The hotel its self is a old villa brightly decorated with colors and chandeliers. Rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was great with fresh fruits, different juices and baked good. If you are visiting Pompeii this is a good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shonna from Bentonville, AR

Words cannot describe this hotel! Wow...

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing hotel! Words cannot describe the beautiful detail of the grounds and hotel lobby! There was even a wedding expo going on while there and we got to hear the music and firework display that is available for weddings over the fountain! Service was immpeccible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a marginal area close to Pompei.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Former high end hotel; now dated but it remains interesting with attentive staff and beautifully maintained grounds.
Cons: Update rooms, fixtures, flooring.
Location: 15-20 minutes driving to Pompei ruins and Vesuvius.
Interesting hotel - built for weddings. Beautiful grounds. Rooms are dated but interesting. Breakfast was good.