Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Beautiful view of Mt. Vesuvius

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: character of the hotel and the view of the garden and the mountain
Cons: the consistency of the water temperature of the shower(handheld shower of the tub) and the fluffiness of the pillows
Location: It was close to the Ruins of Pompeii, some little stores and restaurants.
It was a great experience staying in a very ornate hotel. We had difficulty finding the address that we got from expidia website using our GPS but since the hotel is advertised well in the area we were able to locate it as soon as we reached the street and the rest was pretty evident. The view was breathtaking since we could see Mt. Vesuvius from our balcony and the garden is very lovely. We had a problem with the broken refrigerator door but they replaced it right away with a new refrigerator. The waiter where we had our daily breakfast buffet was very attentive and helpful. The staff during our check out was very friendly. Thank you Grand Hotel La Sonrisa for the wonderful experience and to Expedia for helpng and providing us travel reviews wherein I based all my decision in booking our hotels. Expidia made it easier for my whole family to travel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An awesome place

Posted May 28, 2014
This place was so awesome. Totally decorated like Versailles, with amazing furniture, frescoes, etc. Room was large, with a balcony, big bathroom. Breakfast was big and delicious. They even made an attempt at bacon. But the pool area is the most amazing. Statues, fountains, canopies, and outdoor seating. It looks like it'd make an awesome wedding venue. And, the price is so low. I couldn't believe how cool this place was especially given how much we paid for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hôtel for family vacation

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Decoration was amazing. Staff was so friendly , and food was excellent.
Cons: Everything was perfect to us
Location: Very close to Pompeii. A must see site. A very close to Amalfita costa
WE had an amazing family time in this gorgeous hotel. Everything was perfect. The staff is so nice and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel Decoration is beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel & staff

Posted Mar 17, 2014
I love the hotel. excellent staff, pretty facility, delicious food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fabulous but, needs updating

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fabulous hotel! Just a beautiful as it pictures. Friendly staff. However, beds were worn out and the bathroom had multiple plumbing problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Uli from W-S, NC

Great Hotel close to Pompei

Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place is a palace - beautiful room, interior, exterior & grounds for a great price. Recommended for anyone that enjoys staying in castles and palaces, not recommended for someone that wants super-modern accomodations. Some staff was nice, others not so nice, not much English spoken here, but we would stay here again. The drive from the Autostrada to the hotel is pretty straightforward but chaotic due to congested area you have to pass through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Diane

Amazing, outrageous, a must visit

Posted Oct 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful visit. We arrived down the tree lined drive way and wondered if we were in the right place. To our delight we were, Yay! We had arrived early and after a short wait - we walked around outside during this time and took in the amazing grounds that included a fountain, a pool and marquee - we were able to chech-in to our room. The hotel arranged a shuttle to take and pick us up for our visit to Pompeii. We dined in and the table setting and the dining areas are magnificent. Chandeliers and oranate decorations. Our room was wonderful and the bathroom facilities were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

old world charm

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: opulence
Cons: location
Location: confusing drive to pompeii
fantastic looking place overwhelming extravagence. good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2011
We stayed for a week in the hotel and had an overall very good stay. The hotel might not be to everyone’s taste but definitely has character. The food in the hotel is reasonable priced and of good standard. The staff is very friendly and Danny was specially helpful. The only drawback is that very few staff speaks English. The hotel must be some kind of a wedding machine. When we stayed there was up to 3 weddings in one day!! The surrounding is not much to write home about but it's a good location IF you have a car and want to explore the Amapfi cost, Sorrento, Capri and Pompei.