Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shelter for One Night.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
The good: close to the beach, close to the center of town , tile floors, hot shower, bed was acceptable. The gritty: No control of smoking guests. We were assigned a smoked-in room, then reassigned to another room. The new room had no refrigerator and the staff declined our request for a refrigerator. Poor sound dampening between rooms. Though the bathroom window opened, the bedroom windows were fastened shut with wood screws. No air conditioning, All surfaces chipped, scratched, worn, and in need of maintenance/remodeling. No coffee maker.
2 out of 5
by Neil-mo from Gold Coast. Australia

Santa Barbara disappointment

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: A full re model would be in order. The rooms are cold and un inviting
Location: Great ocean front location. Within easy walk to all the shops and restaurants in State st.
This hotel has a great location, but is in dire need of a re-model. Over priced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from San Jose

nicer than i expected, newly remodeled.

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: clean worth the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Karen Shahidi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by disappointed from central coast

Rip off

Posted Dec 2, 2013
after checking in and requesting A jacuzzi tub I was told that my rate through Expedia didn't cover that cost... I ended up paying almost as much as I could have for a much better hotel. plumbing was horrible as well and the walls are so thin I could hear conversations Bologna... not planning to stay here again and wish I would have read these reviews before I went
2 out of 5
by TA

Terrific location; less than terrific accommodatio

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location. Nice roof deck that overlooks the ocean.
Cons: Paint, furniture, windows, bathroom towels, etc. Given the state of the rooms, it is WAY overpriced.
Location: Right on the beach.
The Ala Mar MOTEL has a fabulous location. Unfortuntely, the rooms reflect vintage 1950's and, likely, haven't been updated since. I did not check out Yelp ahead of time but had I done so, I would have gone elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by Nick from Visalia, Ca

Great Location!

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Fantastic location! Right in the middle of all the shoreline offerings!
Cons: Although charming, this old property could be better kept. Not well maintained.
Location: 5 minute walk to the pier. 10 minute walk to the marina. Many good places to eat, all within a short walk.
The on line pictures do not represent the majority of the rooms, misleading!
1 out of 5
by sher from los angeles

Not so clean

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean this place up
Location: Great location.
Not clean, smells bad, water dripping faucets, unfinished paint on ceiling. Loud noise right outside window. Dirty blanket.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tom from Huntington Beach

Waste of money

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms are awful, dirty carpet peeling up, mold in the bathroom, marks all over the walls. Asked for a late check out due to a local race, of which they forgot about and tried to throw us out to clean. Zero parking. Very small lot with cars easily hitting eachother. Parking on the street is either permit only or 90 minute. Nothing to accommodate guests.