Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Good quality for the price, and great location.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: fitness center
Location: withing walking distance from train station and near the beach/waterfront.
Good quality for the price, and great location. Comfortable bedding, cheap rate, great location. Breakfast included..cute decor.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Redondo Beach

Homeless Central

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Nothing to be perfectly honest.
Cons: Rooms and Service.
Location: The location is terrible. Next to a park where drug addicts and homeless gather at dusk.
The Hotel is located in front of a park where all the homeless of Santa Barbara gather. We heard confrontations in the middle of the night and screams for help. Personal at the Front Desk were rude at the check-in and every time that we had a request or inquiry. I went to the breakfast station before 10 and they were out of eggs and coffee. Rooms are dirty. Carpets and Shower Curtains were disgusting. Very unhappy and unsatisfied with the hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was somewhat dingy(colors). Carpet in rooms seemed dirty. Breakfast was not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Juliette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sherryfrom Cleveland

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay while driving up the coast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sadlerfrom US

Almost Good

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Once we got to the room the Avania Inn was good. Their problem is the people that work there. Spoke on the phone twice to the front desk staff and they were rude and put out that I needed some assistance. The same was true when checking in. After we got the key and didn't have to interact with the employees again the property was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ryanfrom Washington, DC

great location, but rude service

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for the 4th of July. It was a great location- only a few blocks from the water and the room was very nice. However, management was very rude. I understand that it was the 4th of July and it's a difficult day for hotels, but management made false accusations toward us. It was very unprofessional. Reading other reviews, they were similarly rude to other guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

close to the beach and pier

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Definitely a 2 1/2 star level hotel. But overall clean and fine. Continental breakfast was decent with OJ and Hot Coffee. Basics. Lobby and eating area was very clean and well maintained.