Ratings based on 548 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Beautiful with problems

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Too close to train & freeway Floors & walls not sufficiently insulated for noise - running kids in room above was constant nuisance TV worked only intermittently Beach full of tar and a bit rocky Ocean views ruined by oil rig Massage not great Trouble with getting drink & food orders right BUT, the architecture and grounds are spectacular!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2015
The resort is gorgeous with fabulous views of the ocean. Rooms were very nice and staff was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Encino, CA

Santa Barbara Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Wonderful and lovely staff, beautiful location.
Cons: See above
Location: Location is great - only 1 15/30 from LA. Easy to get to State Street in Santa Barbara and close to wineries.
The Bacara has been our getaway from LA for many years. We usually love it and feel relaxed and rejuvenated after our visit there. This visit wasn't the same and we think it has really changed. First - we were disappointed that it was no longer an American Express Finer Hotel with the amenities that comes with that. Second - it was 4th of July Weekend and there was nothing planned at the resort, no decorations, nothing - it was really strange. Third - the pretty bathroom terracota floors were totally stained. They need to be stripped and repolished. Fourth - there are no movie channels and no pay-per-view available. I really dont think that there is any hotel around without these amenities. We were offered DVDs to check out but the selection was horrible - like leftovers from the 80's. It was actually embarrassing for a hotel of this caliber. The staff are all lovely and professional, but the hotel really needs to get back to the 5-star level that it used to be, especially when we are paying such high prices per night! Until we hear about improvements, we will probably choose another property to escape to in the area. It is unfortunate as we really love the feel of the Bacara.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Disappointed in the level of professionalism of staff for a hotel of this caliber.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from bermuda, nyc, calif

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Perfect experience from the moment we said hello at the front desk. Nice work Bacara.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel with old charm and elegance .

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: That it had old school charm and elegance with all the modern touches.
Location: Just about a 10 minute ride to down town Sanata Barabara near lots of restuarants and shopping.
Hotel staff from from valet parking , front desk, to gardners all very friendly. The hotel is also very pet friendly all rooms available for pets. The beach is just steps away with many walking trais . Pool and spa experience is 5 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Elegant and friendly

Posted May 26, 2015
Love the staff-Real people with great attitudes and always smiling. The resort itself is BEAUTIFUL!!!! The rooms are elegant, clean, and comfortable. I will definitely stay here on my next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great resort

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: everything...location and relaxation
great views and very relaxing and has a lot to do within a 10 min drive. santa Barbara or the vineyards hotel itself is nestled in a great place where you can escape
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Relaxation at its finest

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Please keep price reasonable so I can keep coming back!
Location: Did not want to leave, but I hear Santa Barbara is beautiful!
Beautiful mission style architecture, adobe fireplaces, spa, heated pools and jacuzzis, walk to beach, ammenities. Can walk around the paths and gardens or get a ride in a golf cart. Will go back again and again with friends or my signifigant other as often as I could afford it!.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beverly Hills

Very nice place :)

Posted Apr 24, 2015
I was celebrating my bday these year with my friend and we truly liked these hotel . Warm pool just made our day and Spa cafe has an amazing kitchen , these place is all about to relax and enjoy your weekend . Why I didn't put everything 5* because , I think the rooms are very dark . I am a pet lover but, it would be better with no pets allowed.