Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tarzana, CA

Maybe Paradise

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: It was gorgeous, romantic, comfortable, and super-peaceful.
Cons: See above
Location: It is about 10 miles or so north of Santa Barbara, but close enough to jet into town. Near beach, tennis courts, mountains -- perfect spot, really.
This was a wonderful 3 nights at Bacara. Expedia made it affordable, otherwise, way out of our reach. Gorgeous, luxurious, spacious, comfy, elegant abundance. The room was a garden-view with 2 double beds that were really nice and firm, so made for good, restful sleep. The garden terrace was lovely and peaceful, and the garden by the entrance had a really sweet, soft fountain trickling away. Bathroom and linens were first class. The TV was a good-sized and HD, so we could indulge our US Open Tennis needs in style. The pool area was visionary, with great ocean views. We kept running into town to do our usual Santa Barbara fun things, so we didn't use 1/10th of what Bacara had to offer, but next time I plan to never leave the grounds. The staff were all friendly and helpful and fast on their feet!! The only complaints would be: that the Cox Cable is kind of old-fashioned, they should get DirecTV; the tap water was not so great; there is a price for all this sumptuous luxury, e.g., there was a $32.50 valet charge per day (or you would have to park a mile or more away, they said, which is kind of BS), and a $25.00 per day facility fee -- so it was about an extra $75.00 per day by the time you get through tipping everyone. I can't say it wasn't worth it, though, as they took really good care of you for those charges. Just be aware that the joint is pricey around the edges. If I was rolling in dough, though, I wouldn't bat an eye....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sept stay

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful and the help good.
Cons: Look above.
We loved our stay. Couple of things, we wanted a late checkout as we were not able to arrive till 4 pm. And they would only give us a 1/2 hr the next day. Coffee to the room would have taken 45 min. That delayed our morning then we had to go down and get coffee after later delaying our relaxing morning, we thought. Then when leaving, the car was brought up, no bags put in which we had the bell hop bring down.and we drove down the road and had no bags, 30 min later we looked, luckily the 5 hr drive wasn't without bags. But it made it longer 1hr. Coffee maker in the rm did not work. So the expensive stay had a few glitches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Nice luxury resort, very quiet and close to the beach. The food and service was excellent, will definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Service

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The worst Service in The front desk Delay in checkin For over 5 hours
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose Ca

Lush Green Beach Resort

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Been to many hotels/resort here and abroad and Bacara Resort to me is just OK. Bacara Resort did not offer a 5 star experience. Lobby is a little bit boring/old. Front desk who assisted/checked me in is snobbish, no smile--discriminatory. For the price of $500/night, i was expecting more--room was small&cramped. Have to call for the complimentary wine that theyve promised, was not in the room when we arrived.Ground staff, not helpful..a lot of them roaming with their empty cart but nobody offered us a complimentary ride.Spa Cafe is good. Bistro restaurant is meh except for d dessert--most of the dishes weve tried is on the salty side : calamari, spaggetti& lobster risotto. We want to try Miro but fully booked that night. Went to the pool,and found it too crowded, cocktaildrinks are sugary. Beachshore is contaminated with tar. Customer service is very poor here. Will not be back ! Four Seasons is much much better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2014 by Kathleen Cochran, Hotel Management
Dear Brenda- Your feedback is very valuable to us. We strive for exceptional service and are confident our team consistently provides positive guest service. It is important to hear when our team does meet our expectations; thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please know your comments have been addressed with our team. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. I am confident your experience will be outstanding. Warm regards, Kathleen Cochran General Manager Bacara Resort & Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquil resort right on the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Spa, pool/cabana, close to beach, service, workout facility/classes
Cons: Timeliness of room cleaning
Location: Off the beaten path, this hotel is great for a getaway. Right on the beach, there are several great hiking areas and other activities.
We had a great stay at the Bacara for 3 nights. The food, service, room and accommodations were all fantastic. Great on the beach location with stunning pools. We loved the spa and workout facilities along with the Spa Cafe that offerred healthy and gluten free food. You are far enough away from downtown Santa Barbara that you feel like you are in a different location but close enough to go into town if you want to explore the shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2014 by Kathleen Cochran, Hotel Management
Dear Guest- Your review was wonderful to read. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We value your feedback, and will share with the rest of the team. Please visit again soon. Thank you, Kathleen Cochran General Manager Bacara Resort and Spa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The resort is beatiful, but too over priced. You have a daily parking fee, as well as a daily resort fee, as if the price per night wasn't enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2014 by Kathleen Cochran, Hotel Management
Dear Christina- Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay. As a resort that serves thousands of guests a year, many whom return year after year, I know we are capable of offering a fantastic experience and value for our guests. Again, thank you for your review. Sincerely, Kathleen Cochran General Manager Bacara Resort & Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Nice resort with lots of amenities

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Great weekend away. Definitely will be back again. The resort was very busy with weddings and family vacation (lots of children) but that didn't bother us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2014 by Kathleen Cochran, Hotel Management
Dear Laura- I certainly appreciate your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and visit us again soon! Warm regards, Kathleen Cochran General Manager Bacara Resort & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A Lovely Getaway!!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location: We explored Santa Ynez wine country before checking in. Los Olivas is a charming town, great for wine tasting--they must have two dozen tasting rooms
I have no idea, really, why I didn't give Bacarra 5 stars -- maybe I've been too many resorts in my adult life and have gotten a bit jaded -- everything about it was great. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (a bit late too, 4:30PM), but the front desk was lovely and apologetic, and invited us to use the resort -- so we took a beautiful late afternoon bike ride that ended at the beach. When we returned to the hotel, they had already moved our bags to our room. Our room was lovely, comfortable, extremely clean and very-well appointed. (It's sort of an odd layout -- the tub and shower 'overlook' the bedroom/sitting room -- so potentially very nice for couples.) There are three great pools. We spent part of our stay by the really BIG family pool; the next day we had a lovely day at the adults-only 'spa pool' -- which was also great. The Spa Pool also has access to the very luxurious spa (with showers & lockers etc); we hung out there for most of the afternoon after we checked out. Extremely relaxing. We also had a very nice, not too expensive dinner on the outside terrace the Bistro -- quite good! All in all, Bacara is a great romantic and/or family getaway -- or both, depending, I guess, on your accommodations. (We got a great deal, btw, on Expedia!! No problems whatsoever with the reservation.) Really Bacara deserves 5-stars, everything about it is first-rate...except that it's not in Hawaii, I s'pose, but that's not the hotel's fault.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
It was a nice hotel but I expected more for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Kathleen Cochran, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Although I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the resort, I am sorry to hear you expected more for the price. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Thank you, Kathleen Cochran General Manager Bacara Resort & Spa