Ratings based on 507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Great location with easy access to other parts of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, CA

Like being in Hawaii without the plane trip.

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: The setting. The room. The meals. Seeing the ocean from my balcony. Christmas carolers. Thoughtful touches.
Cons: Not enough staff for check in. Definitely not enough staff at departure time.
Location: Beautiful setting. Went to Los Olivos, a charming village nearby. Also went to the Biltmore Hotel in Santa Barbara for Christmas lunch. Beautiful.
Everything was perfect except for the slow arrival and departure experiences. The setting, the view from the room, the restaurants, the service were wonderful. A magical feeling while there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Oceanfront getaway.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
We loved it. Loved the areas of grass as they allowed my son the play outside separate from the pools and sunshine at times. Loved the pools, jacuzi, and the ping pong tables. We were well taken care of by every staff member we were in contact with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SCV

Posted Nov 8, 2014
A beautiful quiet relaxing place to get away from it all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All excellent above. The staff was very nice!!!

Posted Nov 7, 2014
The concerimge was excellent. He made great recommendations of where to iand gave us directions. The only thing I could suggest is upgrades in room furniture and on demand access in TV. Otherwise I loved my vacation. I will come again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Celebrated First Wedding Anniversary Beautiful grounds
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Disappointed in room situation

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great except the particular room was very dark (on the bottom level away from the sun) and that alone was very unpleasant and uninviting. I don't know if it was because we got a great deal on the price or if booking through Hotels.com for that price gets you the "dregs" of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Riverside, Ca

Excellent views a relaxing experience

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Staff were friendly...the fitness facility was great. Overall a beautiful resort. However the room we were in had a smell coming from the drain in the shower and the floors could of used daily mopping! I mean we did pay for housekeeping...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpromised but beautiful.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The spa, the food, the service
Cons: The rooms - cleanliness, comfort.
Location: Excellent wine tasting nearby in Los Olivos/Santa Ynez Valley.
We had been looking forward to an anniversary weekend at Bacara as we had heard fabulous things about this resort. While the staff was very accommodating and service was impeccable, the room itself and the grounds were not what we would expect from this 5-star resort. The buildings themselves looked like they could use a coat of paint. Our room was dark and musty and we had numerous ants in one area of our room. The white curtain had a large stain in the middle of it. The television did not offer any movie channels or pay per view movies, and while the room had a DVD player, the selection of DVD's at the hotel was limited. Having said all of that, the food was great at the Bistro/Pool Bar/Room Service. The spa was fabulous; fantastic massages and state of the art fitness center were appreciated. The concierge, while taking a week to get back to us, was helpful in scheduling a great wine tour for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Lovely stay

Posted Oct 20, 2014
This hotel is without question a top hotel, and as such we hold it to high standards. Almost everything was spot on, it's a fabulous place. The views are wonderful with the ocean backdrop, dinner at the bistro was very good, and the bed was so comfortable we fell asleep earlier than we intended. Room for improvement in our opinion: check-in lady Sophia didn't smile once and was less than welcoming, there was dog excrement on the grass by our terrace, pool towels have too many tar stains on them and we waited a very long time for our breakfast order at the Spa Cafe (the waiter forgetting about our coffee all together). Having said that, once our breakfast did arrive it was delicious and very fresh. Highly recommend the omelet with wild mushrooms and spinach, served with avocado and toast. Definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for quiet relax in beautiful surroundings and don't need to be close to downtown Santa Barbara.