Ratings based on 848 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
The only issue I had was the room keys didn't work and had to be replaced 3 times. Other than that, I loved this place. Great location, nice room with fruit and free water. Will def return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Nice hotel, close to freeway access

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: The hotel had easy freeway access, which made it close to everywhere in Santa Barbara while also offering easy parking that you won't find downtown.
Cons: The automatic bathroom lights blinded me the 1st night. Unable to turn off light from bed because of location. Restaurant only OK, ate elsewhere.
Location: Many international travelers stopped here while traveling around CA. Hotel was quiet except one night when it was full so I heard footsteps above me.
I went to Santa Barbara on a mini-vacation. The Pepper Tree is well-located, close to many restaurants and Whole Foods. My room was very nice and included a couch, easy chairs, mini-frig, desk, table and microwave. The grounds had lots of flowers blooming, and I enjoyed the hot tub several times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area CA

Posted Apr 25, 2015
I booked a King bed with a sofa bed room. We ended up with a queen bed and Queen sofa. They are fully booked so I cannot change to any other. But, our bed is not what I paid for that make me not very happy. Our bed is too small for us although it is comfortable bed. Their carpet is really dirty! I have to wear shoes indoors and wrap my children dark feet before bed because they won't wear shoes inside the room. So do bring sandles or socks for walking in the room. Our room is good size and Located at the far end part of the pool side so it is more quiet. The hotel doesn't provide free breakfast has to pay to eat at their restaurant. So we just walk across the street to the Macy's shopping mall to buy our breakfast. The location of the hotel is closer to 101 but our room cannot hear any of hwy traffic noise. Only if we open the window other than having the AC on, than we can hear the cars drive by from the parking lot. Their hallway are out by the parking lot so if housecleaning chart or lugguges roll by you can hear it. But our short time stay that is not bad. I have stay at better Best Western before, but most SB hotels are aged. So, it is kind of as expected outdated. Check in and check out is easy and quick with Expedia prepaid booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Cons: The screen and sliding door seem a bit old. Other than that the room was very good.
My wife and I would stay there again. The staff was helpful with any request we had without any hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Not too far from shops & restaurants...

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Loved the pool view and somewhat private garden area outside the room. Bathroom could be updated a little. The room didn't feel super clean, but it wasn't uncomfortably dirty. The extra sleeping mat was spotty, so we didn't end up using it. Overall, the rating is for the pool and garden area...plus the beautiful weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Luis Obispo, Ca

Great Deal!

Posted Apr 4, 2015
After visiting UCSB, we drove a short distance to State Street and there is was, right across the street from restaurants and shopping. Close to downtown but away from the hustle and bustle. It was quiet, friendly, and clean. You will love the grounds and pool area. Makes you feel like you're in Hawaii. We got room 306, perfect for my granddaughter and me with our own full size beds and plenty of room. I'd recommend this hotel to family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mammoth Lakes, CA

Allowed late check-out at no extra cost

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Front desk check in staff
Cons: All was good.
Location: There's lots to do in Santa Barbara.
It was what we needed. Late arrival, mid day check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Beds

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: It's one of the better hotels because everything is less than 2 miles away. Room rates lower than the others unless you are looking for a 5 star.
Cons: Because most of the time in the room, you are are in bed which is why beds could be improved.
Location: The location is great. Shopping, restaurants, the beach are all close to the hotel.
Almost everything was satisfactory first of all the room rate. The only thing that was unpleasant were the beds. We requested 2 beds and one was uncomfortable in that it creaked. My friend and I ended sleeping together.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

Comfortable but just a little out dated

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Pool Bed
Cons: Updated the rooms
Nice size room with back sliding door to pool area. One of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept on. No exhaust fan in bath, and toilet didn't flush well. Outdated wallpaper and tile. But for just one night it was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clovis, CA

Nice hotel, walking distance to shopping

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: It was a great deal for the money. Clean and comfy. Direct TV and free wifi.
Cons: Updating the wall paper and carpet
Location: It is located on State Street which is a main street. Across the street is a nice shopping center (Macy's, Pottery Barn, Sears, etc.) and restaurants.
Nice room, comfy bed and pillows, window in the bathroom, sliding door that went out to the pool/spa, Direct TV, complimentary bottled water and candy, free Wi-Fi, microwave/fridge/coffee maker in room, generous with the towels/washcloths, and water pressure in the tub/shower was excellent. The lobby had fresh brewed coffee available that was delicious. Restaurant next door was very good. Chuck's Steak house was within walking distance. The only negative: dated wallpaper. I would recommend and gladly stay here again.