Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Quick Weekend in Santa Barbara

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Old style hotel that has been very tastefully upgraded. Large comfortable Canopy bed that you need a stool to climb onto.
Booked hotel for one night stay over in Santa Barbara. Great Hotel. Service was great. Staff was courteous, very helpful, and all had a great attitude. Room was awesome, real old style. Very comfortable. Hotel is right on State Street downtown which is walking distance to all the main shopping and restaurants. Highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Great vibe, great service and very comfortable room with very good restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

best hotel in Santa Barbara!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: relaxing oasis, and a good location just off main street.
We booked this as we had been to one of their hotels before in LA. This is the best hotel in Santa Barb, lovely rooms, friendly staff, even a glass of wine on arrival! Valet boys were a great help and gave us some good local knowledge, and the hotel has a free wine hour each day, and the restaurant has a really trendy laid back atmosphere. Would certainly go back and stay again - for longer next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunderland

Santa Barbara is a lovely and Canary is great

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Great roof top bar and pool
Cons: Restaurant was fantastic the first night second night terrible
Location: Go to the peir
Great hotel it is a short walk to the beach but the shops and restaurants are very close
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from slo ca

quiet downtown Santa Barbara

Posted Sep 6, 2014
quiet downtown Santa Barbarawe enjoyed the rooftopTerrace
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Canary Kimpton Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Location: Great location just off State St and close to shops and restaurants
Loved the decore and the nightly wine tastings. Room was very clean and bed was extemely comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Classic Santa Barbara Hotel with Mountain Views

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Beautiful hotel in the heart of downtown, walking distance to restaurants/night life, shopping, the urban wine trail and the pier. Wonderful rooftop bar & pool. Only giving this hotel for stars because for a few reasons: -Parking (valet only) is an additional $25/night. I'm not surprised, but this hotel is not inexpensive. -Extremely low water pressure in the shower. I'm all for conserving water as well, but this felt a little extreme. -Only a few menu items are on the room service menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Beautiful hotel, excellent service!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Loved everything about this hotel, especially the little touches like offering SPF and lotion and ice water by the rooftop pool. The service was impeccable on all levels - the valet team, the waiter servicing the pool, the receptionist - everyone. The room was beautiful, but the rooftop deck alone is worth the cost. Gorgeous views!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Went to a fraternity bros 40th wedding anniversary

Posted Jul 27, 2014
I waited a little too long to book so I got caught with a high price, and thanks to Expedia for maintaining a discount on the hotel price. However the hotel was not as bad as some of the hotels in the area. It was a very busy weekend in SB so the rates were high. I needed to stay over and the hotel didn't have any rooms because of the weekend so I was prepared to leave the anniversary party early and drive back to LA. My friends had the presence of mind to call the front desk when we got home from dinner the first night and yes they did have a room and they held me over. I was pleased that the hotel did not gouge me for the additional night. I would have been impressed if they had put me on a wait list and let me know via text that they had me covered for the second night. At any rate that was the only glitch. I have stayed in Kimpton hotels across the country and I am pretty much always impressed by their professionalism and client focus. The Canary is even one step higher. The staff was excellent, the room was clean and comfortable and even though I was on a lower floor next to the street, I did not hear any street noise. Nice experience, I will add Canary to my Santa Barbara stays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com