Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Nice old elegant buildings

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Good location. Lovely grounds. Well maintained exterior
Cons: Bathrooms and furniture
Great location. It would help if all establishments were forced to show their bathrooms in their photo gallery. This bathroom was very ordinary for the cost of the accommodation. The wash basin/vanity unit was not in the tiny bathroom but in the general room space. It was a very ugly piece of furniture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

This was a very peaceful, pleasant environment.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The decor was beautiful and the garden area was so peaceful. Very close to great restaurants.
Cons: Nothing, it was great.
Location: The location was very close to State Street and the downtown area. We took long walks, visited the Mission, the Presidio, and the Botanical Gardens.
The staff was very nice and hospitable. We felt welcome and comfortable. The accommodations were so beautiful and clean. The breakfast was wonderful. They had homemade scones that were to die for and a delicious quiche on one of the mornings. The location is great, just a few blocks form State Street. I would definitely recommend this place and even return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our stay!

Posted Jun 28, 2014
A lovely b&b within walking distance to downtown Santa Barbara. The garden is a beautiful relaxing place tob unwind and regroup. Connie - the inn keeper - was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and the room comfortable and clean. Loved every minute of our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jason from San Diego

Didn't want to leave

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was in Santa Barbara for business and I could't truly enjoy this quaint little slice of heaven. The atmosphere was very relaxing and I will be back for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place was perfect for a romantic getaway. We stayed in Alice's room. The food and staff we excellent. I will come back soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Getaway

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful, private escape with a lot of thought and attention to detail .You can't go wrong!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Suby1 from AZ

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, the Cheshire Cat is a pleasant bed & breakfast with very attentive hosts. The rooms are small for the price, and it is located about 25 minutes from the beach if you like to walk there. It is less than a five minute walk to downtown. The breakfast is an upscale continental, rather than a gourmet hot breakfast. This is the second time we have stayed there in the last 3 years, and other than the small rooms, you should know that they do not have window screens, so for those of us who enjoy leaving the window open at night, it is really not an option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nina from Phoenix, AZ

Anniversary trip

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed two nights in the Queen of Hearts room. We had our own private patio that overlooked the back yard. We were within walking distance of all the shops and activities on State Street. The breakfasts were delicious. I would give this B&B a thumbs up and we will be back again.
2 out of 5
by Elle from Los Angeles

Bad Experience

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Upon arrival I found the Inn to be charming, bright quanit and clean. The Manager was polite and helpful. Being a light sleeper I was concerned about the street and traffic noise so I was given their quietest room which was not so quiet. I was told it would be more quiet in the evening. I left the room and returned at 9pm with a couple hours of work to do. I found the traffic noise and the single pane window still noisy and then there was no wifi. The night Manager was very helpful and provided courtesy and choices. He placed me in touch with the owner Christine. I have never encounted such a rude owner in all my 30 years of world travels. I was told that shes never had complaints before (if you look on trip advisor this is untrue), and that it wasnt her fault there was no wifi and I couldn't do my work, it was the acble company. He response in dealing with the matter was so dissapointing that i left and didn't stya the night and checked in to another hotel in the area with wifi and a quiet room and polite staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JG from St Louis

Absolutely delightful !

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Love this place, they do so many little things so much better than larger hotels, staff excellent, nothing was too much trouble, room very comfortable, breakfast super, afternoon drinks and snacks very nice, easy walk to State Street for all the eateries you could ever want, and then to the beach. Will definitely be back !