Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2015
This hotel had excellent front desk, location, room comfort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

just ok

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Location, comfortable bed, nice pool area & spa
Cons: better temperature regulation in shower, higher quality bathroom accessories
Location: Close to beach, state street shopping, spa, bike rentals
Ok place, but nothing memorable. The staff was friendly, but the hotel could use a little updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Beautiful view, spacious room, and friendly staff!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The view was great, the room was clean and spacious, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: We just had a bit of trouble one time with the parking. But after circling around one time, someone left their spot.
Location: A very short walk across the street to Stearn's Wharf and (the beginning of) State St., close to Sambo's restaurant, and the harbor.
We had a wonderful stay at the Harbor View Inn, at the end of March, 2015. We had a corner ocean-view room on the 2nd floor (room 203). We could see over Cabrillo Blvd. - straight ahead to the beach, Stearn's Wharf pier was to the left, and the harbor was to the right. The traffic noise level and construction project on Cabrillo was not bad, and did not bother us at all. It was a very short walk across the street to the entrance to Stearn's Wharf and (the beginning of) State St., and just a few minute walk in the other direction brought us to Sambo's pancake diner - a favorite on every SB visit. Our hotel room was spacious, and even had 2 balconies, (but the 2nd balcony overlooked the covered parking area). The front balcony was wonderful - we sat on the lounge chairs and just enjoyed the view. The room, hallways, pool area, and parking areas were all kept very clean, and the landscaping was beautiful. The parking might be a bit challenging at times...but I'm sure the parking attendants could help. The staff was so friendly and helpful - from the people at the front & parking desks, to the housekeeping & room-service staff, to the pool attendant - they always had a smile and a friendly greeting. The pool area was large, and though it was pretty crowded when we went, we still had plenty of room and personal space. We enjoyed our time at this hotel so much, and will definitely return on our next visit to Santa Barbara!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
We had a wonderful stay! Great location! Will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Laguna Niguel, CA

Beautiful Hotel Fantastic Location

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Very comfortable and Perfect location!! Walk across the street to the beach and pier or just a quick walk up State St. to all the great shopping and dining. The State St. shuttle stops across from the hotel too. so no need for a car. Art fairs and live bands on weekends are a lot of fun. The kids loved it all too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Hotel accommodations were great! Hotel room was clean and spacious. Staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Socal

Location Location Location

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Clean and quaint
Cons: nothing
Location: Best
Located about the closest you can get to the beach and the harbor. Very nice property, great hotel maintained nicely walk everywhere in a friendly atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Monica, CA

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Staff was excellent! Will definitely recommend, as well as stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

I think it wasn't worth the price I paid.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The size of the room was nice.
Cons: A/C that works well would be a huge improvement.
Location: The pier is across the street. It's off of State Street where lots of restaurants are located.
I booked 1 night for the Sunday before President's Day as our "babymoon." The hotel was completely booked so the price of the room was a lot more than what I would typically pay but I wanted to splurge since we were only going to get 1 night away. We arrived at 3pm and were told that our room wasn't ready but would be ready no later than 4pm. So we went for a walk. We came back at 4pm and it was ready. The room was quite big and the bed was comfy. We had a "resort view" room which faced the canal which was torn up and had equipment in it so the view was not so hot. The tub was large and nice but lacked jets which would have been nice. The biggest issue was that even though it was February it was pretty warm out and the A/C didn't work very well. I typically like to sleep to cooler room temperatures (esp while pregnant) and that just didn't happen. Parking was completely full so when we returned from dinner my husband had to go find parking in an adjacent hotel lot down the street. Again, not great as we were informed by the hotel that some people had brought multiple cars. The hotel is situated across from the pier which was nice. We ate breakfast on Monday at the hotel restaurant. It was not great. I wouldn't recommend it. If I had only paid $150-$200, I wouldn't have any really any complaints but we paid twice that and I was a bit disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orinda, CA

Excellent hotel close to the beach.

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Comfortable beds
Cons: Less pricey.
Location: Pier to visit, sand and beach in the summer, town within walking distance.
We chose this hotel because we were coming by train and it was within walking distance of Amtrak and also close to several restaurants. its also RIGHT on the beach. The hotel is quite pricey but we treated ourselves, as we were only there one night. The room was big, had a view and the beds were REALLY comfortable! This would be a fabulous place to stay during the summer months because of its proximity to the beach. They also have a spa which we didn't use but we notice that it offered a lot. From the hotel you can walk immediately out on the long pier to watch fishermen in boats nearby or experience the ocean from a less sandy viewpoint. Or you can go left onto State Street and walk into town to poke in the various shops. One of the things we really liked was that we could walk to many restaurants. If you like an upscale place, I recommend Toma's about 3 blocks to the right of the hotel as you leave the hotel entrance. But make reservations there. We didn't, and couldn't get a table until 9 p.m. We then walked in the opposite direction and ate at the Fish House which was excellent. We had a 35 minute wait there but waited outside sitting on those tall tables under heated lights, each with a drink, so the 35 minutes flew by.The hotel itself does have a restaurant in a separate building on the same block and we ate there for breakfast. They served a good breakfast.