Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Hotel accommodations were great! Hotel room was clean and spacious. Staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Socal

Location Location Location

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Clean and quaint
Cons: nothing
Location: Best
Located about the closest you can get to the beach and the harbor. Very nice property, great hotel maintained nicely walk everywhere in a friendly atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Monica, CA

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Staff was excellent! Will definitely recommend, as well as stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

I think it wasn't worth the price I paid.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The size of the room was nice.
Cons: A/C that works well would be a huge improvement.
Location: The pier is across the street. It's off of State Street where lots of restaurants are located.
I booked 1 night for the Sunday before President's Day as our "babymoon." The hotel was completely booked so the price of the room was a lot more than what I would typically pay but I wanted to splurge since we were only going to get 1 night away. We arrived at 3pm and were told that our room wasn't ready but would be ready no later than 4pm. So we went for a walk. We came back at 4pm and it was ready. The room was quite big and the bed was comfy. We had a "resort view" room which faced the canal which was torn up and had equipment in it so the view was not so hot. The tub was large and nice but lacked jets which would have been nice. The biggest issue was that even though it was February it was pretty warm out and the A/C didn't work very well. I typically like to sleep to cooler room temperatures (esp while pregnant) and that just didn't happen. Parking was completely full so when we returned from dinner my husband had to go find parking in an adjacent hotel lot down the street. Again, not great as we were informed by the hotel that some people had brought multiple cars. The hotel is situated across from the pier which was nice. We ate breakfast on Monday at the hotel restaurant. It was not great. I wouldn't recommend it. If I had only paid $150-$200, I wouldn't have any really any complaints but we paid twice that and I was a bit disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orinda, CA

Excellent hotel close to the beach.

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Comfortable beds
Cons: Less pricey.
Location: Pier to visit, sand and beach in the summer, town within walking distance.
We chose this hotel because we were coming by train and it was within walking distance of Amtrak and also close to several restaurants. its also RIGHT on the beach. The hotel is quite pricey but we treated ourselves, as we were only there one night. The room was big, had a view and the beds were REALLY comfortable! This would be a fabulous place to stay during the summer months because of its proximity to the beach. They also have a spa which we didn't use but we notice that it offered a lot. From the hotel you can walk immediately out on the long pier to watch fishermen in boats nearby or experience the ocean from a less sandy viewpoint. Or you can go left onto State Street and walk into town to poke in the various shops. One of the things we really liked was that we could walk to many restaurants. If you like an upscale place, I recommend Toma's about 3 blocks to the right of the hotel as you leave the hotel entrance. But make reservations there. We didn't, and couldn't get a table until 9 p.m. We then walked in the opposite direction and ate at the Fish House which was excellent. We had a 35 minute wait there but waited outside sitting on those tall tables under heated lights, each with a drink, so the 35 minutes flew by.The hotel itself does have a restaurant in a separate building on the same block and we ate there for breakfast. They served a good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Nice small hotel across from the pier

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Right across from the beach and walking distance to lots of restaurants. The rooms were very spacious.
Cons: The parking is kind of limited and spaces are small.
Location: Definitely try Toma's for dinner which is about 5 mins walking distance from the hotel. Get breakfast to go at Eladio's to eat on your patio/balcony.
The hotel is located right across from the pier at the end of State St. We were able to upgrade to a partial ocean view room and the rooms are very spacious. The hotel staff was very knowledgeable about the are and provided us with plenty of dining recommendations. The only issue we had was our neighbors upstairs who walked around with heavy feet - not the fault of the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San diego

Lovely room in a lovely place.

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Liked its location and room ambience.
Cons: Delete the parking fee, provide waters without charge.
Location: Across from wharf areas and near state street. Walking, biking, wine tasting, dining, swimming, shopping, etc.
Harbor View is conveniently located to the harbor and state street activities. Our room was older but nicely updated and very spacious. Our balcony was not ocean view but overlooked a pleasant palm garden and canal. Only annoyance was the $10 daily parking fee and $2.50 charge for bottled waters.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Excellent location. Has elevators but unusual hallway /walkway path renders the elevators useless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2015
wonderful, very beautiful hotel. all the staff was very accomodating and the room was spacious and gorgeous
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Bamboozled

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Cons: Awful customer service.
I purchased my Parents the best room available. Upon arrival, they were given a Room that wasn't there's. They weren't notified about this at all that their room had switched for no reason. Upon check out, my father realizes they were supposed to give them a top floor room with a beach view (Room 319) i believe. instead, they were sent to a different wing of the hotel. The staff offered no Remedy for this. Will never go here again.