Ratings based on 1,573 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not impressive

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Room had some nice touches like pretty quilts and nice toiletteries.
The hotel is ok- very pricey for what it is. We booked an ocean front for a premium - well, firstly it's far across beyond the road and a large strech of sand - so you don't see much, and then its there are rooms along the corridor that turns around which makes it impossible to keep curtains open without anyone walking by staring into your room. As a result we didn't have a single moment to "view" the ocean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Milo Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
It was like staying in the middle if a play ground at a middle school! Great location across from beach. We were in a room situated in the midst of a group having a family reunion. The parties visited room to room without closing doors, and commandeered the common area tables for their food, drinks, loud conversations, sports events, big screen TV movies, etc etc from early morning to Late at night. Multiple complaints to hotel staff provided no relief until Derek finally asked the group to quiet down. We shouldn't have been given a room in the midst of the group and the group shouldn't have been allowed to commandeer the common areas! Awful!!!!! We asked to be moved to no avail! The room was pared down- not luxurious. Probably wouldn't consider staying there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

across street from beach

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: across from beach
room was very small , no room to store suitcases, bathroom only one person at a time no air conditioning , should have been better for the price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel but no air conditioning!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: beautiful room decor, older hotel charm, right across from the beach
Cons: Add AC
Yes it is by the ocean but it gets hot in Santa Barbara!!! Leaving windows open doesn't allow for privacy! For the price it was a shock to find that there was no AC
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: It had bikes free for two hours to go around town
Location: It is in front of the beach
It is too expenso e for the type of hotel. This is more like a motel, nothing has been done to renovate the premises, all furniture is dated, no AC, fan didn't work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Visalia, CA

Right by the beach!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Arriving at Hotel Milo was pleasant and welcoming. The hotel front desk and staff were very nice. The early reg and preference email was awesome. Our room was nice and comfortable. Our only issue with out room was no AC. Completely understand being so close to the coast there would be no need, but coming from a hot environment, having the ability to turn on the AC is nice. But the staff was very friendly about it and brought us a fan that was very helpful. The grounds were as if you were at a surf resort, and the pool was great. Their cabanas are so awesome. Location to state street and the beach was perfect. We would definitely come back to this hotel. All in all, I recommend this place, and enjoyed our time there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: provide two beds when asked for not a roll out at 500 a night
Location: satisfactory
Cost of 500 dollars per night was beyond excessive for the quality of the hotel. The staff was apologetic but could do nothing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice, high end hotel, allmost on the beach

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location, style, pool.
Cons: As I mentioned it was a bit expensive.
Location: The hotel is located on a street that is right on the beach, the street is big but traffic was not bad.
Just what I was looking for. We took the overnight train down from Seattle and wanted a high end hotel within walking distance from the SB train station. It did seem a bit expensive but that seems to be how Santa Barbara rolls. The hotel is a spralling complex of buildings over most of a block, some looked to be converted motels from back in the day but they did a nice job converting them. Staff was helpful. Free use of beach cruiser bikes with lots of places to explore. Seem to cater to German other European tourist made it feel like we had traveled farther then So Cal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Agree with most reviews about hotel Milo.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Over priced for what you get. otherwise a nice place and great location. Arrived early, front desk said they would call when my room was ready, and they did. When I went to register they informed me they overbooked, and would have to give me a lesser room, but would refund $200.00 of the $460.00 for the inconvenience. My wife took it from there and bam like magic! we got our room back. Breakfast was basic, but good enough, if it's hot rooms are stuffy, with no air-conditioning in the rooms. Would I go back you ask? no! not unless I couldn't find anything better. I think they get the idea that they need to keep improving if you read the reviews and the apologies over and over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Love the location but no AC which was hot in room

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The liquid soap in the shower was not my cup of tea.
Location: Location was the best part.
Very well maintain, but I should have not been charge for things I did not use, pool and wifi bikes. I could understand if I use them, but never did.