Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kobe JAPAN

The most convenient in hotel life

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The parking service is very comfortable because it is quite difficult for us to get a parking lot at the downtown area.
Cons: We liked the old-fashioned elevator, but the speed was too slow to go downstairs quickly.
Location: The hotel can easily access lots of good restaurants and the beach.
The hotel is located at the most convenient area of the downtown in Santa Barbara. The price is not inexpensive in fact, but services and security is comfortable for us. The breakfast should be improved to be more space and more bread and fruits because many film festival participants entered into the lobby to get them with coffee and chattering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Millbrae, CA

Location, location, location

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The proximity to the Urban Wine Trail
Cons: The hotel charged a $150 dollar amenities charge and when I checked out I was charged $20 for parking and NO refund for the $150.
Location: Urban Wine Trail, shopping, movie theaters, bike and segway rentals
The best feature about his hotel is the location right smack on State Street and walking distance to all the great shopping and the Urban Wine Trail. We didn't use our car once during our stay. There is also the option to hop on the local shuttle that takes you up and down main street and to the beach for 50 cents pp.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake County CA

Trip to visit our kids.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Central location. Old-world style. Cool old elevator. Very nice continental breakfast. Easy, reasonable parking.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: If you like a downtown, city hotel, this is it!
Wonderful older place in the heart of Santa Barbara downtown. Lots of great window shopping all around. Really exceptional continental breakfast. Great restaurants all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keithfrom San Diego, CA

Excellent Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here three nights and found the hotel to be very good. The room had been remodeled and was very clean. The hotel lobby is a charming step back to the 1920s, where we had a good continental breakfast. The location can't be beat, as it is right on State Street in the midst of the main shopping and dining areas. We had good service from the reasonably-priced valet parking service. Given the central location, the hotel has taken extra steps to insure quiet, including a sheet of plexiglas over the window. When I read poor reviews on Yelp that complained because of the sign at the top of the stairs admonishing people to be quiet between 10:00 PM and 8:00 AM, or because the hotel wouldn't allow a bachelorette party to be held there, it only increased my estimation of the place. Bravo to Hotel Santa Barbara for not allowing the place to be turned into party headquarters! We slept well and didn't hear a sound. This will be our go-to place to stay in Santa Barbara. If you want a nice place to stay and don't want to put up with loud, drunken carousing, this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judyfrom Oceanside

For those who love Santa Barbara

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
What is not to like? Perfect in all ways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great old hotel. Perfect location. I would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melvin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chrisfrom Huntington Beach

Location is the best

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice Hotel on State St. right across from my favorite rest/bar Joe's. Everything is just outside your front door, the best of SB nightlife.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anthonyfrom Pasadena

Over rated

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
On arrival, reception said they didn't have my reservation and the hotel was sold out. They finally found our reservation and said they always hold 1 room in reserve for situations like this and it was an "upgrade" to what we booked. If that room was an upgrade, I'm glad they lost my reservation because this room was small with only a double bed and a fold out sofa with a view of roof top air conditioning units. You will wake up to flushing toilets from adjacent rooms. Parking is $10 per night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Small

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was small, the bed felt smaller than a queen. They failed to inform us that the city would be repaving the street on the side of the hotel until 3am we got no sleep! It was so loud and the bed was shaking. I complained at check out he offered an apology nothing more. I will never stay here again.