Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta, ga

Nice hotel, walking distance to everything.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great location, while it is an older hotel it has been maintained. Rooms are small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the centre of Santa Barbara restaur

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Position and cleanliness supported by professional staff.
We were welcomed upon arrival by a group of professional staff who were keen to help us to enjoy our stay. Very comfortable bed in a room that was immaculately clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and nice hotel!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Loved the location. Walking distance to the beach and plenty of restaurants and shops to explore. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Great location in the heart of Santa Barbara

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Ambiance of the Hotel; period classic Hotel that has been keep simple and clean.
Cons: Being really critical - Bathrooms could use nicer counter-tops whether period tile or granite, bathtubs and surrounds upgraded.
Location: We walked from the train to the hotel, restaurants, Museums, Wine tasting rooms, and shops. Can't beat the location for getting around.
This is the second time we have stayed at Hotel Santa Barbara. We loved the hotel the first time for it's classic Spanish charm and location to everything. This time we were even more pleased by the remodel of the rooms; new beds, bedding, furniture, in room frig and coffee service~ A perfect hotel for a perfect weekend~
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I arrived off the Amtrak, so the location was great! I liked the uber cool old school elevator with its manuel closing gate, the last remnant of the original structure. I do hope they change out the A/C system. It took the entire night to get the room at a comfortable cool temperature. Also, being able to to open the window would be great! Felt claustrophobic without the option!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by NiKMid from Los Angeles

Super little gem

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This wasn't our first choice based on reviews (first and second choices were full) but it will be from now on. First the whole process with Hotels.com was seamless, (I'm not a plant!!) but first time we used them and it was seamlessly easy. . . nothing to print out, just reassuring emails saying all was good and just turn up. The hotel is right in the middle of state street -- lovely large and open lobby area and a very very comortable (cozy) room, which for 190$ was absolutely fine. Very clean, super comfy bed. They've revamped the bathrooms but really nicely done - lots of fluffy towels, more pillows in the closet, a safe, ironing board, hi tech coffee machine, ceramic mugs! Free water, toletries. I can't think of anything bad to say about this palce at all and it is now most definitely our go to place in Santa Barabara. The Staff were extremely welcoming, from the valet to the front desk and the breakfast in the morning, where they turn the lobby area into a kind of french cafe, was abundant indeed. This goes on into the day with free coffee and fruit. So yes absolutely, great place in a great city at a great price and centrally located in the middle of it all -- great! x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob & Janet from Lompoc, CA

Great State Street location.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Location, service, quality and cost.
Location: Farmers market on Saturday and Tuesday, restaurants, theaters and lots of historical sites.
Our go to hotel for visits to Santa Barbara. Great location, facility and services. Easy walking distance to all of central Santa Barbara and it's an easy trolly ride to the Funk Zone, water front and marina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by S. Gregory from SCV

Magic on the wine trail

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Came up for an event with friends & stayed. Hotel Santa Barbara was very nice, clean friendly staff great lactation. Will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Debbie from Valencia, CA

Perfect Location

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've been wanting to stay at the Hotel Santa Barbara for years, I wasn't disappointed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jensen from CT

Such a nice experience

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay and wanted to stay a few more days. Right on the main shopping street, a an old world charming hotel with super-friendly and helpful staff. We would absolutely stay there again. We loved Santa Barbara.