Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is great if you like dirty rooms

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The room was dingy and there was dried urine on the toilet seat. Switched rooms because of it. The second room was also dingy the trash wasn't taken out from the people before, so I just hoped that the rest of the room was clean. The location is great. We did have to find street parking because I didn't want to pay $25 for valet. Breakfast was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Parking a ripoff

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Traffic noise in a "quiet" room. Parking is a ripoff at $26 per day, can park on a street for free if you walk a couple blocks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Santa Barbara. The parking rates are locally competitive given our location and I’m sorry that you found it to be too high. I am happy that you became aware of the option to park on the street. Typically Orilla Del Mar and Por La Mar have ample parking spots available. These streets are immediately adjacent to the hotel. Aside from the parking rates, I trust that you had a fantastic time exploring our beaches and beautiful city.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Disappointing and over priced

Posted Dec 6, 2014
The hotel's location is perfect, but it is otherwise overpriced and disappointing. Guests are charged $26 for parking, $3 for a bottle of water, and for connecting to the internet. The rooms are dingy. Our room could only be reached by taking two different elevators and walking down long ill-lit corridors. This is not what one expects when one from a hotel that charges more than $250 a night. We were tired from the long drive when we arrived at the hotel so we decided to eat in the hotel's restaurant. That was a big mistake. The place was noisy and there was a draft because the staff had left a door to the outside open. The food was passable. The wait staff's friendliness could not make up for their lack of professionalism.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
First and foremost, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay with us at the Hyatt Santa Barbara and would like to apologize for not fully exceeding your expectations. I’m sorry that you encountered unexpected charges; we like to think we are transparent with all associated fees, in fact each of the fees that you have described are clearly listed on our website. I am sorry as well that you were inconvenienced by the layout of the elevators, but please know that our team is always ready and willing to assist our guests with getting to their rooms as we are well aware that traveling can make one very weary. We have also committed to eliminating all drafts in the dining room. Thank you again and we do hope that you will visit with us on your return to Santa Barbara.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom palm desert

Never again!

Posted Dec 2, 2014
It's a ripoff. Had to have hotel staff for everything. Couldn't even use the luggage cart. Way too hands on. No self parking and very expensive overnight parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello GLS, Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Santa Barbara. I am sorry that felt as though our service was too hands on, as we do strive to be ready and able to assist each guest personally. The luggage carts are available for the convenience of assisting guests to transport their belongings to and from the guest rooms. Our team prefers to assist and do so to genuinely offer a helping hand. The price of our valet is very competitive with other beach side full service hotels and I regret that you did not find value in this. I do hope that you had a wonderful time in our beautiful city and we hope you will return to visit us again!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: good location, nice pool, hot tub and fire pit
Cons: update bathrooms
Location: near beach
good food, friendly restaurant staff. room was noisy dated bathroom, heard scratching noises in walls during night
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you so much for leaving feedback for us regarding your recent visit to the Hyatt Santa Barbara. It’s great to have affirmation that the focus we are putting on food and service is coming through to our guests, I am so happy that you have enjoyed both. I am sorry that you found our bathroom to be noisy and outdated, in regards to this I am happy to tell you that an update is planned to start shortly for many areas of the hotel. Thank you for bringing the scratching noises to my attention as we will investigate this thoroughly to determine the cause. Once this cause is discovered, prompt resolution will be taken. We are looking forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Close to the beach

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Nice location. Our room was in an older section. A bit noisy. Could use some updating
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay at the Hyatt Santa Barbara. We are very pleased that you loved our location. In addressing the room being in an older section, I am happy to let you know that our hotel will begin very shortly a renovation that will address many of these concerns. The first phase is scheduled to be complete by the end of winter, hopefully you can join us again to check it out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Beach was across the street, nice pool.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Nice hotel, we enjoyed our stay and hope to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Clean property, close to the beach.

Posted Nov 28, 2014
The property was great, the bed comfy and the room was clean and update with room apperance and decor. Had a minor back up that came up our sink, called the front desk and they had someone up to our room right awa to clean it up. Overalll a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Great Beach Location

Posted Nov 26, 2014
My favorite part about this hotel is the beautiful beach across the street. So easy to walk there. The main downtown street of Santa Barbara with all the shops and restaurants is about a mile away, so we drove into town. Parking wasn't a problem, and the rates were pretty cheap. (First 75min. free, then $1.25hr after that). The property was clean and staff friendly. The beds were comfortable, but everything was well used. Hotel breakfast was pricey but good and portions were big.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
it was a Saturday night in beautiful Santa Barbara...heard the ocean from the room ...very nice.