Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Location close to the beach

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Doesn't feel like a 4 star property. Valet parking not worth it as the property is setup in separate buildings. Other than location, it wasn't worth the price. This hotel is setup as more of a Comfort Inn feel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Good day, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I understand your feelings on the layout of the building and the 3 story building is not one you would normally associate with a Hyatt hotel. The fact is that the city of Santa Barbara has a building code that limits the height of ocean side buildings. Our prices are very competitive with comparable Oceanside hotels in the area. Thank you again and I hope that you had a great visit to our beautiful city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The location is excellent. Quiet & on the beach.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location
While the hotel is nice, the room was small and not well situated over the ground floor parking lot. It is quite pricey for the size of the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We definitely appreciate that you found our hotel to be nice, we agree and are very proud to have this historic landmark as our hotel. The rooms sizes are a result of the architecture of the period in which the hotel was built, which was the late 1920’s. I’m sorry that you found the Hyatt to be pricey as our pricing is very competitive with comparable beach side hotels in the area. Thank you again, and I hope that you had a fantastic time while visiting our beautiful city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location, smooth operation
Cons: The $10 WiFi charge is outrageous!!!! Cheap motels have free WiFi. This is just a gouge. Leaves a bad feeling.
Location: Convenient to beach and downtown SB.
Friendly, efficient, helpful staff. Excellent location and easy to get to though it can be a little confusing about how to drive on to the property for a first timer. Service and food were very good in the Bistro
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Right across the street from beach

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Comfortable, hotel with a motel feel...2 floors, pool, nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF!

Beautiful getaway!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Location: Lots of restaurants. Beach across the street. Great location for relaxation!
Literally steps away from the beach. Pleasant staff and rooms were great. Would definitely recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT LOCATION!!!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
I give this hotel a five star! It was in the perfect location....a walk away from the beach and zoo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Excellent last minute stay

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Convenience, cleanliness, service of staff
Cons: nothing - perfect for our road-trip overnighter.
Location: The town, cafes & boardwalk were beautiful.
We needed a place to stay overnight on the road from LA to San Francisco. The Hyatt Santa Barbara came up with good reviews online so we booked straight away from the phone. On turning up it was perrfect for our needs. Its not the Hyatt you expect at a major city but much better than a normal motel. Clean, very helpful staff, everything worked and Santa Barbara was a really nice seaside location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Comfy hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
It's small yet comfortable and the pool is nice, I like that they have a fridge in the room. But I think the pricing is a little too much but considering that it's right across the beach it's ok, I just wish wifi was included but there is a surcharge. The hotel is less than 2 miles from state street, where we spent our weekend nights
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dana Point, CA

OK, but no big deal

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The rooms are cramped and poorly designed. The balcony decks are filthy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from valencia

Close to everything

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Only problem was I had to pay extra 50 bucks for a balcony. And expedia advertised that it had balconies included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. I apologize for the confusion regarding the balcony. I am unsure where you saw that information as it may have just been stating that we offer rooms with balconies rather than stating your particular room had one. If this information was mentioned on the booking confirmation we certainly would have honored it. I apologize again for the confusion and I hope despite this you will visit us again soon. Many Thanks, Emma S Guest Relations Manager