Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel by the beach

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need updating
Room was noisy...1st floor by the hot tub. Great location across from East Beach. Fees for parking are $26 per day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay here at the Hyatt Santa Barbara. Please know that we read and listen very intently to what our guests share with us through this feedback. We certainly understand that our rooms need updating, in fact 24 of our rooms are under construction right now and will be released back into service by early Spring. Once completed, additional rooms will be renovated as well as our lobby, restaurant, bar and other spaces throughout the property. Please come back to enjoy a new guest room as I know that you love our location. See you soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Clean Hotel, nice staff but overpriced

Posted Mar 9, 2015
I liked the cleanliness and staff was wonderful. The hotel was a bit overpriced and not truly a four star. The four star part was the name but the room was so basic for the price and the location was just ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Good day and thank you so much for your very kind words about our team and cleanliness of our hotel. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy our location, as we feel being right at East Beach adjacent to the Santa Barbara Zoo is an ideal location. Our pricing is always very competitive with our neighboring hotels and fluctuates based on demand. Please come back to see us again soon as we have many great updates taking place right now throughout the property.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

Old hotel with good position

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Hotel was old and very original. Location was good opposite beach. Hit me for a mandatory $26 valet parking I thought was rude and wouldn't stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate that you loved our location as much as we do, it truly cannot be beat. Our hotel was indeed built in 1931 and is an iconic landmark here in beautiful Santa Barbara. With that being known, we are in the process of a renovation that will bring many areas of the hotel up to date. We are also very sorry that you did not find value in the fee for valet service, please know that we are very transparent regarding this fee and there are other options for parking your vehicle. Thank you again and we hope that you had a wonderful time in Santa Barbara.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced with a beautiful view

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: View
Cons: Reasonable prices
The room was rather small. The accomodations did not warrant the price paid. Other than its location, there is nothing about this hotel to set it apart.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts. We are saddened that you did not find value in the service that was provided as well as the other amenities offered throughout our hotel. Exceeding our guests expectations is our goal and we are sorry that we did not do that with you. Please do visit again real soon so we can provide you with experience you expect and deserve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: The staff and location were excellent. The rooms were very nice.
Cons: Offer bicycles
Location: Beach, town, bike, boardwalk
A great stay. The staff was very nice and attentive. The location was beautiful. Given its location, though, I wish they offered bikes (like some other hotels in the area do).
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Gatos, CA

Santa Barbara weekend

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Great location, stayed often in past when this was the Hotel Mar Monte and Radisson. Always enjoyed our stays there even though the facilities were not quite up to excellent standards. Extremely disappointed this time with attitudes of hotel staff, excessive charges - for example $26 a night for valet parking whether one used it or not. Parking used to be free, staff was always friendly and helpful. When at front desk to check in, request room change and check out, heard multiple complaints from guests with very rude, dismissive and condescending responses from management. We travel very often for business and pleasure and know and appreciate what goes into providing an excellent experience. Hyatt falls far short at their Santa Barbara location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello Pamela, Thank you for sharing the challenges that you experienced at our hotel. We are so sorry that the attitudes of our staff were disappointing, this is certainly not indicative of the culture that is being created here at the Hyatt Santa Barbara. The service of valet at $26 was added early in 2014 and is in line with our local competition, though you should have only been charged if it the service was used and not if it wasn’t. In regards to the complaints about management’s interactions with guests, this will be fully investigated and dealt with accordingly, please accept our sincerest apologies for this behavior.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Nice accomodations.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly, quiet. They had valet parking, but there was plenty of room to park on the street and very safe.
Cons: It was very nice.
Location: Shopping, close to the ocean and nice places to eat close.
This was a great place to stay, everyone so friendly, hotel was clean and the rooms were very nice. The location to the ocean was perfect. Just walked across the street and shopping with in a mile or so. This place is a great stay in Santa Barbara, we loved it.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom corona Ca.

Awful

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Uncomfortable bed. For $450 a night paid it was compatible to motel 6!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are very sorry that you did not realize value in our services for the prices that you paid. This past weekend shared two holidays; Valentine’s Day and President’s Day which increased overall demand for all hotels in Santa Barbara. As with all of our local competitors, prices do increase with higher occupancy levels. We would love to know which room you were assigned to so that we may check on the bed, we typically receive many compliments regarding the comfort of the beds. Thank you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom la

Average hotel at best

Posted Feb 16, 2015
For its name value it's very overrated n not a Hyatt hotel experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for proving this feedback for us. Here at the Hyatt, we truly value your feedback and listen to every word that you say. We read these reviews daily to our teams and create actionable plans to truly increase the level of satisfaction for each of our guests. We are very sorry that you did not have an experience that measured up to your expectations. This is disappointing to all of us and we will continue to work diligently toward our goal of complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced for the stay

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Asked for a ocean view, which was blocked by Art building. USC students were there and made noise all hours of the day and night. After spending the weekend and dining I spent almost a grand. Wasn't worth my hard earned money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Expedia. We are so sorry to hear that your view included the Cabrillo Arts Center, which is immediately across Cabrillo Blvd. from our hotel and sits right on the beach. Thank you for bringing the noise that you have experienced to our attention. It is always our pleasure to address noise concerns while they are occurring to help promote a quiet and relaxing stay for those who wish to enjoy a peaceful stay with us. Again, we are sorry to hear that you did not entirely enjoy your stay and felt as though you had paid too much, please know that we are very transparent with our pricing and look forward to the possibility of seeing you again.