Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic motel but clean quiet rooms.

Posted May 27, 2015
Easy to find and easy parking. Room and beds comfy. Restaurant right next door for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
We had a nice time in Solvang and visiting the Casino
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Extremely clean hotel, great staff, fun town!

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness
Location: Tons! Cruise/walk around.
Thanks so much--we had a great time! Sons treated me to a weekend stay for my birthday--all we expected and more--including the mini golf course! Great idea.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SoCal traveler

Nice Location for Local Attractions

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Front desk staff were pleasant & efficient. Had small breakfast available 7-9am. Pool looked nice and well kept. Soft pillows.
Cons: Room was shaking/vibrating during daytime hours as if some large motor was near our room. Walls were pretty thin- could hear voices next door. Soap.
Location: Only minutes away from Solvang, Santa Ynez, & Los Olivos. You can walk next door to their famous restaurant.
Stayed here for the Wine Country Half Marathon. Good location as it's right off the freeway and only about 5 minutes away from Solvang. Only a few minutes more to get to Los Olivos or Santa Ynez (Chumash Casino). Easy to find as it's right next to the large Anderson's Split Pea Soup Restaurant. If you just need a place for a quick overnight with no frills- then this is the place. Nothing fancy. Served its purpose for our needs. (Light years ahead of the skeevy Days Inn across the street where we stayed last year).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Half Moon Bay,Ca.

clean & comfortable

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Good service.
Cons: Not sure if I noted any lacking features.
Location: Lots of Wineries and local BBQ.
Bed was very comfortable and room was very quiet. The hotel had interesting courtyard entertainment options, Bocce Ball & Golfing green, Pool & Hot tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Comfortable, ideally located.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Centrally located, easy in and out, just two blocks off Hiway 101. Friendly staff. Somewhat dated, yet very comfortable.
Cons: Limited space in bathroom. Frig and microwave convenient, but seem to crowd the room. Restaurant is separate entity - quality sometimes hit or miss.
Location: Central location less than an hour's drive to many attractions and nearby towns. Solvang & S Barbara great places for shopping, dining, wine tasting.
Andersen's Pea Soup Hotel is an excellent choice for a place to use as a 'home base' for tourists visiting the central coast area of California. It is very easy to go for day trips to Lompoc, Santa Barbara, Solvang, Lake Cachuma or Vandenberg. The town of Buellton itself has just a few dining choices other than Andersen's Pea Soup restaurent, but Solvang makes up for the lack of eating choices elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale, AZ

Far exceeded expectations.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The room was large and comfortable
Location: The restaurant next door, also called Pea Soup Anderson's is excellent. Great food, friendly staff. Don't miss the museum upstairs
Very clean, more than enough towels, quality soap. Beds were comfortable. Our room (towards the back of the property) was quiet. Grounds were well kept. Skip the breakfast, it's offered in a small gazebo which is inadequate to hold all the guests. Plus it is only toast or pastry or tasteless muffins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxnard, Ca

Quiet, and away from thew street

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Parking was plentyful, and the room was quiet, with nice pool and outside areas away from the street. very nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbia, MO

Nothing fancy but great retro feel

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: It was quiet and comfortable and as a woman traveling alone I felt very safe.
Cons: The heating/air conditioner unit was pretty old and noisy but everything else was fine.
Location: Easy to find, right off the highway. Loved that I could just walk over to the restaurant and gift shop next door!
I stopped for one night on my way from San Diego to Monterey. I was quite delayed due to traffic out of SD and through LA and arrived very late. When I called to make sure they held my reservation I was reassured that it was "no problem! We're here all night!" When I arrived it was pitch black and I was exhausted and tense and starving, so the fact that my room was right on the front of the hotel facing the busy street didn't concern me. I just wanted a hot shower and a soft bed, but more than that I wanted some famous split pea soup! It was just steps from my room to the restaurant next door so I walked over and got dinner to go and hurried back to my room. This isn't a fancy, new chain hotel but the great kind of family-owned place I remember from family vacations when I was a kid. A bit dated but very clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet even on the front of the building. I had a small little patio at the back I would have used had it been earlier in the evening. The bed was comfortable and the shower/tub was huge, water pressure was great and there were windows to open for fresh air in the bath and vanity area. For the price and the location this is definitely someplace I'll stay again, especially if I visit the Solvang area or the local wineries.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom OC

Close to Legendary Restaurant and Solvang

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Maid service, location is close to Solvang, the Hitching Post and Pea Soup Andersen's
Cons: Hotel Decor, Continental Breakfast, the restaurant food quality
Location: It is near Solvang and The Hitching Post (from the movie Sideways), as well as many wineries in the Santa Ynez Valley.
Chose to stay here overnight while visiting Santa Barbara/Solvang area. It's next to the legendary Pea Soup Andersen's restaurant. I've had fond childhood memories of the restaurant and have visited many times when passing through the area over the years. It's been about nine years since my last visit and I was disappointed in both the restaurant food quality and the Inn's accommodations. Perhaps my tastes have changed over time? The first room they gave me had a horrible smoke odor and the people upstairs must have been walking with cement clogs. The lobby staff told me that they were sold out and the room I had was what I booked online. When I mentioned my heavy-stepping neighbors above, they moved me to a room above the lobby, which was nice of them. Still, I would think that in the location they are in and the amount of traffic they get that they would invest in updating the rooms. I don't think it's been done in years. There were no shower shampoos or soaps - just a generic dispenser in the bathtub. The continental breakfast was only rolls, toast and juices - there were no cereals, oatmeal or fruit available. I made some toast and then noticed the butter was old and tasted horrible, as did the coffee, so I went out to breakfast instead. My guess is that overtime the original appeal of the restaurant is dwindling and becoming less relevant, so the love and care that I'm used experiencing there is disappearing too. The maid was hard-working and friendly.