Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful inside and out

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The setting, the gardens, the pool, the charming rooms. The service was beyond excellent, without being busy bodies, the staff was v. helpful.
Location: Loved breakfast and antiquing in Summerland, visiting the Old Mission and the Courthouse (great views of the surrounding area), Arlington Theatre.
The ranch is so nicely landscaped with beautiful gardens loaded with flowers; a citrus grove and also the chefs garden of produce and herbs. It is a wonderful place to wander. But it is also a treat to just stay in your cottage, each one is beautifully decorated in a way that makes you feel at home. It's hard to choose where to go in the room, however, the canopied bed invites you to stay put, but the porch beckons you to go outdoors. It is not an inexpensive retreat, but it is truly a retreat from everyday life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect weekend

Posted Jul 14, 2014
So romantic and charming we want to come back and stay a bigger cottage next year !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fabulous everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve M from Ventura

Honeymoon

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely Wonderful! Expect the best of everything! Ideal for a honeymoon retreat! You will not be disappointed! Trust me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cathy from Malibu

Beautiful Tranquillity

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Its tranquil setting which sets you apart from the rest of the world.
Location: Loads of things to do ....just relaxing by the shear beauty of the place. Hiking, cycling, whale watching on boats in Santa Barbara.
From the moment we arrived we felt the tranquillity of the place rub off on us! This hotel is in a stunning setting with manicured gardens and rooms that are actually separate cottages all with their own private gardens. Everything in the room was tasteful and beautifully clean with antiques and little touches that made us feel at home. All the staff were so polite and responded to any needs we had. The pool is gorgeous and we relaxed there and had delicious tea and a light meal. Dinner was lovely ...the ambience with all the subtle lights and fire heaters was just sublime. The food was delicious too... The only negative thing I can say about the stay was that I was spoken to in a rather rude way by one member of staff at the front desk. I had called the front desk at about 10am to ask if I could possibly have a late check out and was told that it would be fine to stay until 1pm. I also asked for a table to be booked at the stonehouse restaurant at 1pm and that I would come and check out first and then go to the restaurant. At about 12.15pm a lady staff member called me to ask if there was a reason why I had not checked out yet. When I said that I had been given permission to stay in the room until 1pm she said "I will have to verify that" questioning me that I was telling the truth! I told her that I did not appreciate being spoken to like that and she made the excuse for her behaviour that they only have a small number of rooms there! She did say sorry in the end.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ray from LA

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best !!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Top Shelf experience

Posted May 19, 2014
Location: The location was outside of Santa Barbara but close enough that with rental car we could see all the local attractions.
The grounds were beautiful and serene. The cottage accommodation was tasteful and comfortable. The outdoor dining was terrific. It is a wonderful place for a get a way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by christopher from thomasville, ga

Fabulous hotel outside of Santa Barbara

Posted May 11, 2014
We hit all the high points of Santa Barbara and the surrounding region in 3 full days and were thrilled we chose San Ysidro Ranch as our base of operations. The grounds are breathtaking and worth at least a day. The staff guided us on where to spend our time and coordinated all of our activities. The attention to detail from flowers to staff to the room was impeccable. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

As good as it gets

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Little touches like home made cookies, lemon-aid, free in room snacks, and hiking kits make this place special.
Location: Saturday's Farmer's Market in Santa Barbara is incredible.
Just like it says on their bottled water, San Ysidro Ranch is the world's #1 hotel. It's cheesy, but it's true. Place outperforms in every area.