Ratings based on 1,018 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Dog Friendly Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Dog friendliness, hotel staff, location, beautiful grounds.
Cons: You pay for so much at this hotel and they don't even over complimentary WiFi...
Location: Great beach just across the street; walk to the pier, quick drive to State Street. Great restaurants and wineries. All have dog friendly options.
This hotel is beautiful and has a great location right across from the beach and a nice walkable distance to the pier and some great restaurants. The room was large and very comfortable with a nice balcony. The staff was very friendly and accommodated us with our dog very nicely. They provided a kind of "dog care package" kind of thing that had a toy for our dog, dog treats, a water bowl, a dog waste disposal bag, list of local dog-friendly restaurants and things to do, and a magazine that highlighted other great places to go with your pet. The grounds and room location was very convenient for us - we had close proximity to grass in all locations. We saw many other dogs on the property, but it was very quiet regardless. Wasn't very happy that WiFi was an extra charge. I feel like by this time, all Hotels should be offering complimentary WiFi… Had to maybe 20 minutes worth of work to do and did not want to pay for a full WiFi service just for that. Had to drive out to a coffee shop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across the street from the beach

Posted Nov 17, 2014
The hotel was decent and very close to the beach and other tourist attractions. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The hotel has a great pool,jacuzzi and a very cozy lobby bar with a panoramic view of the ocean. The only disappointment was that there was no jacuzzi in the rooms. The pictures online are misleading because they display a jacuzzi in the rooms and we checked at the front desk it turned out that it was only available in the suits. Overall, our stay was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Be aware of hidden charges before hand and then pretty much enjoy your stay. Great location to relax
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed!

Posted Nov 10, 2014
For the price, I feel the Fess Parker Double Tree was a total disappointment. The hotel is aged and needs to be updated through out. Our room was spacious but did not feel warn or inviting and the décor was dated and not appealing. The bathroom felt old and totally needed updating. Food trays were left in the hall ways. Service at the bar was poor. My impression of the hotel was that it was under staffed and did not really care if we enjoyed our stay or not. I will not stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, CA

Beautiful location, but not kept up.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything else. The rooms need a serious redo to bring them up to just basic standards, the staff needs to learn to be courteous, better facilities.
Location: Downtown Santa Barbara. Tons of restaurants, places to walk and fun things to do.
The only nice thing about this hotel: location. Right on the beach and you can walk anywhere. The rest: For what they are charging, you would expect rooms would be better. Rooms are barely serviceable, faucets/fixtures and old and leak, hotel staff is rude, pool and hot tub is overcrowded (we didn't get to use it at all, it was always full), fitness center is dirty.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Ok, but not a true resort, nor worth 300+ a night

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The staff was nice
Cons: Wifi for a fee? This isn't 1999 anymore. Elevators at each end of the building, near the entrances. $19/day for parking?
Location: State street is nearby, plenty of nice shopping. The wharf is near, plenty to do on and around the beach right across the street. The zoo.
So it's ok, the location is nice, and the place is ok, plus the staff was very nice and friendly, but anyone that rates this 4 stars or above has really never stayed anywhere nice at all. The hotel is old, and it's basically a grouping of 3 story motel buildings. The rooms are like any other standard motel room. They are clean, but need some TLC. The buildings have 2 entrances, one at each end of the roughly 80yard long building, and then strangely, a single elevator located in the center of the building, very inconvenient. Also, I was unable to find a luggage trolley/cart to get all my luggage from the parking lot to my third floor room. Lastly, both parking and wifi are at exorbitant fees, though hardly surprising for a motel calling itself a resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Sam and Lily, our 2 French Bulldogs, love the Fess Parker because it has lots of grassy areas to explore and no one gets upset if they cruise thru the lobby. We will always stay at the Fess Parker because the staff is the most friendly to humans and their best friends!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Outstanding Staff

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: The ambience, Spanish architecture & cleanliness.
Cons: The Gift Shop was closed at 5:30 in the afternoon! The attendant should have a backup person so that the shop is open all normal hours. Lost a sale(s
Location: Perfect location; right across the street from the ocean & only a few blocks walk to the best shopping in any City.
I found the staff to be outstanding. Immediately upon arrival Dave ( the valet) & John (the bell man) made me feel like I had just arrived "at home". The facilities are beautiful & very "Santa Barbara" I had a special room request which was immediately accepted, plus not 1 but 2 warm cookies! Cannot imagine a better place to stay in Santa Barbara.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Not worth the price

Posted Oct 30, 2014
The rooms were old and carpet was dirty ...Bartender was grumpy made you feel like you were a burden on him
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sunday in Santa Barbara

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: It was Clean and kept up.
Cons: locating the elevators. What is the point of hanging the "do not disturb" on the door knob is housekeeping is going to knock on the door at 8:00 am.
Location: i was there for a wedding so finding things near by was not my priority.
Hotel was clean. Staff Friendly. Getting to the room was somewhat confusing finding the elevators.