Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WHAT A MESS!!!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Complete remodel before allowing guests to stay
Location: Had to travel a distance to find food, etc
Place was under construction and debris everywhere!!!! Room was dirty with wet towels & used soap!!!! Broken tv remote, no room welcome basket as promised!!! Noise all night long with construction outside, in lobby & room with hammering, etc. going on continuously!!! Restaurant was not opened yet or availability to coffee, etc. AM food was adequate but very disorganized presentation. The entire place was a mess & not ready for guest to stay!!! Was promised a total refund but have not received yet!!!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Truth in Advertising?

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel was under construction which was totally not disclosed at time of booking, dust and construction debris were everywhere and rebooking a hotel was practically impossible due graduation weekend for UCSB. I ran over a nail on the property and got a flat tire which practically ruined my rims. I am sure when it is done the property may be nice but the weekend ended up being
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Roger Lord from Goleta

Didn't know hotel was under renovation

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We just picked a bad time to stay. Hotel is under MAJOR renovation and we didn't know it until we arrived. There was no reduced rate for all the inconvenience we had to endure. Virtually no amenities, no elevator, no pool and only one set of towels when we arrived. Room smelled like paint but was obviously clean with new furnishings. We should have received a reduced rate like others did but because we booked with hotel.com, management said they couldn't give us one. Very disappointing that we paid double what everyone else did. Staff was as courteous as they good be under the circumstances but I would have stayed somewhere else if I knew it was being renovated. Location is great, walking distance to restaurants and shopping and only minutes from UCSB.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rick from Seattle

Construction Zone!

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Major Construction! No services available. Pool closed, office in a trailer, no coffee service, very noisy with workers everwhere, jack hammers going. Rooms were clean and basic but towels were poor quality and torn, Limited toiletries, no kleenex, no coffee maker, unsecured internet. Stay next door at the Best Western.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sandie from Santa Barbara

Renovated Room!?!

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The renovated room was done in a "rustic modern " style. Sparse and strange furniture. The chair has huge ropes wrapped around the arms to insure discomfort in sitting in it for long. The other "chair" was a big very heavy burlap cube, no back, that one could perch on to put your shoes on perhaps? The room was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Emmanuel from Montreal, Canada

Quiet hotel, nice staff

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was undergoing renovations, major ones, but should be finished soon. Very nice staff, convinient location close to Santa Barbara. Very clean.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Cass from Los Angeles

Major construction zone!

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was undergoing major construction with crews, bulldozers and jack hammers operating from 8am to sun down. Booked 3 rooms for my family based on the 3 star rating, reviews and pictures on hotels.com. However, arrive to total demolition. There was no indication of this major work on hotels.com. So I fault hotels.com for not providing up-to-date information. So, I gave bad scoring since the hotel simply inhabitable, but a great scoring for service, since the hotel manager was very understanding and offered complete refund without hesitation.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel under construction check-in was in one of the rooms
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by K from California

Hotel review

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel does not appear as it looks in the photos and is currently under construction. It's definitely an old hotel that needs some updates. We turned around and rebooked as soon as we got there. Hotel is right by the highway and would be ok for someone who just needs a place to sleep.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Dissapointed Mom from Santa Clarita

Didn't even get out of the car

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
As you drive up the hotel driveway it seems as though the buildings are condemned. There is yellow tape blocking the hallways, the fountain etc. True the hotel is under renovation and some rooms may by new and nice, but we didn't even get out of the car. It's an old, old building, construction everywhere, the restaurant and bar is closed, there were very shady looking people hanging around the parking lot.....the list goes on. Perhaps once ALL the renovations are done this hotel could be a 3 star but as of now, I would deem it a 1 star and not worth $120/night.