Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice, central boutique hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Great, modern design, Excellent and very helpful staff.
Cons: Check in process could be streamlined, 2pm is quite late.
The suite was wonderful, beautiful over the courtyard and plaza 24 de septiembre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Brian from Houston

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel exceeded all my expectations. It was very clean and the staff was very hospitable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by SAL from New York

nice enough

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel overall was pretty nice. The room was clean and the bathroom as well. The restaurant was strange; however, in that most of the tables were not available for seating. There was really only one front desk person that spoke English but the others did not, which is not such a huge problem but as "boutique hotel" that caters to international clients, English speakers would be helpful. My biggest complaint is that the hotel is non smoking, but the client in the room next to us was smoking a lot. When I complained to the front desk, first they couldn't understand what I was saying but after a bit of deliberation and some help from a girl friend hanging out there, that spoke English enough, they said they would speak with the person. I returned later and still my room smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke. They said they could not change my room but they would send someone with an anti smoke device to my room. Strange but I thought I would give it a try. Five minutes later housekeeping showed up with orange scented toxic air freshener that she sprayed all over our room only making our problem worse. After complaining again the bell boy was sent to speak to the neighbor. After that we didn't smell smoke anymore so I suppose the smoker stopped. It was quite annoying that the illegal cigarette smoker was made to be my problem but at least at the end he stopped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City Centre Plaza Hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Modern room, good breakfast, central location.
Cons: Noise levels - very noisy overnight.
Location: Situated on the corner of the central plaza.
Lovely hotel, modern and clean. Great central location, ideal to see Santa Cruz. Good breakfast. However, very noisy overnight, unsure whether this was noise from other guests or from outside on the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Very nice hotel, very good location in Santa Cruz

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, convenience.
Cons: The only minor down side was we requested late evening wake-up calls for our midnight taxi, which did not occur. So glad for cell phone apps!
Our group of 4 men were flying back to the States from deep in the Bolivian jungle through Santa Cruz. We had about a 15 hour layover in SC on a Sunday so we decided to take a couple of twin rooms at the hotel. It is very clean, modern and adjacent to the main square. Not as many restaurants or things to do as we might have expected, but found a nice Italian place less than 2 blocks from the hotel. The staff could not have been more accommodating. We arrived around 11 am well in advance of the 3 pm check-in. They did put us in rooms, but they were single king-sized so we deferred until twins were ready and they stored our luggage until more appropriate accommodations were ready.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maura from Santa Cruz

Nice hotel with great service

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
My boyfriend and I spent the night here to have a mini-getaway and it was just perfect. The reception area was nice and everyone that worked there very polite. We were provided with apple juice and then shown to our room. The room was very simple and nice and very clean. The bathroom was very clean as well. Beds were very comfortable with silky bedding that was spotless white. Big tv with cable, wall of windows. We got so instantly comfortable we decided we didn't want to leave to go out to dinner! We phoned down to the desk to get a menu for room service and there were a lot of selections. The meals were huge and tasty and we were even able to order beers and cocktails to be brought to the room. Service was quick as well. Breakfast the next morning was very extensive with eggs cooked to order, bacon, lots of fruit, breads. The only issue was it was difficult to find and the guy at the front desk kept insisting it was in a room it was not, but it is not a huge place so we were able to figure it out. It was raining so we couldn't go up to the terrace pool which was a bummer. Will definitely stay here again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Contemporary Look but Not Quite

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I chose this hotel based on the reviews and the location. The location is perfect if you want to stay in the downtown area - 30 meters from the main church and plaza. The place wants to be seen as contemporary but the lobby feels like a cheap night club. The staff behind the counter are either indifferent or helpful. Check in and check out is very, very slow. The rooms are boring but I know they are trying to be contemporary - need to add some warmth to the place - from the lobby to the bedrooms to the eating area. Eating area had tables that have glass squares in the center but all they attract are pieces of food in the cracks. The food selection is fine but the presentation is terrible - crowded. They could easily create an additional area for the food so it's not so packed together. The room is large enough. And while eating I am disturbed by a manager trying to be friendly. They need to understand we don't like being interrupted. I will never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort and convenient location, rooftop dining

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Cons: The breakfast buffet could be improved to offer a better quality selection and dishes.
The hotel is at the very heart of the Santa Cruz city center, right on the central plaza next to the historical Cathedral., Given that it's right off of Plaza Principal (24 de Septiembre), the majority of cabbies can get you there without much difficulty. Also, there are plenty of restaurants, cafes, and bars that cater to all hours of the day and some late night all within walking distance from the hotel. The Sky Bar that is a part of the hotel offers an impressive panoramic view overlooking the square and cathedral - a nice breeze also blows through (at least in January). Booked a 1 queen bed room which was spacious, clean, and extremely comfortable. The room came included with an AC that worked perfectly, large windows, a very reliable Wi-Fi signal (connected multiple devices) as well as a big and clean bathroom with toiletries included and a strong water flow. Although there was a mini-bar, I did not make use of it but was pleased with the room service when the staff promptly delivered my order from the Sky Bar to my room when it started raining. Overall, very happy with my stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ricky

VERY NICE HOTEL

Posted Aug 23, 2013
EXCELLENT SERVICE, CLEAN, GREAT ATMOSPHERE, NEAR TO CITY CENTER, BREAKFAST IS EXQUISITE, LOVELY LINENS.