Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Abilene, TX

Nostalgic

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
The El Rey is always such a pretty, nostalgic place. It continues to somehow surprise me how nice it is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Luis from Plano, TX

Excellent hotel, great service.

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel. We got an upgrade since the room was too small for 5 people even though I made the reservation that way in Hotels.com, and apparently the hotel didn't get the same information and/or the larger room didn't show up in hotels.com. But the receptionist was very kind and gave us an upgrade which made our stay even more enjoyable. The rooms are clean, quiet, and nice; and Santa Fe was very cold during our visit but the room was perfect. Breakfast was just OK, but that wasn't a problem, especially considering all the great options in Santa Fe. The "Pantry" has an excellent breakfast and it's at a walking distance from the hotel. Downtown, the Plaza, etc are close (~10 min drive) but not at a walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Olivier from Montréal

havre de paix

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
De passage a Santa Fe... petit havre de paix avec confort, authenticité et charme du Nouveau Mexique
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jack from Abilene

Wonderful stay!!!

Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels
This place is at true Route 66 kind of place that is better than it ever was. It has the quaintness and charm of the mid 20th century but now gone upscale. The lobby has an authentic old Santa Fe feel that was so welcoming and the staff was perfect. I give this place a 5 out of 5 but do realize it is not brand new and, although not in walking distance of the plaza shopping area, it is a 2 minute stroll from The Pantry, a top rated breakfast spot in town. We will definitely stay here again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from phoenix AZ

best of the best

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels
loved this style, nice deep tub, i will come again mark jennison
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Fran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by RW from Rockwall Texas

Back in time at El Rey

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
Great - always stay at El Rey when we travel to Santa Fe. It is a very unique motel. It combines the feel of old Route 66 with model convenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel that needed updating

Posted Oct 26, 2014
The room was cramped and outdated- had to get maintance to fix 2 things when we got there- windows should open- bathroom was cramped and mold on tile- no special amenities like robe or fluffy towels- room was hot and bedding was old.