Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jackfrom Abilene

Wonderful stay!!!

Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place is at true Route 66 kind of place that is better than it ever was. It has the quaintness and charm of the mid 20th century but now gone upscale. The lobby has an authentic old Santa Fe feel that was so welcoming and the staff was perfect. I give this place a 5 out of 5 but do realize it is not brand new and, although not in walking distance of the plaza shopping area, it is a 2 minute stroll from The Pantry, a top rated breakfast spot in town. We will definitely stay here again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Markfrom phoenix AZ

best of the best

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
loved this style, nice deep tub, i will come again mark jennison
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Fran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by RWfrom Rockwall Texas

Back in time at El Rey

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great - always stay at El Rey when we travel to Santa Fe. It is a very unique motel. It combines the feel of old Route 66 with model convenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel that needed updating

Posted Oct 26, 2014
The room was cramped and outdated- had to get maintance to fix 2 things when we got there- windows should open- bathroom was cramped and mold on tile- no special amenities like robe or fluffy towels- room was hot and bedding was old.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathan Mantonfrom Palo Alto, CA

Hardest beds ever

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have never slept on beds as bad as the ones at El Rey. I got about 2 hours sleep each night max and my back still hurts 3 days after I returned from this trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice quaint older hotel....beautiful grounds...will stay again. A couple miles to plaza
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Topeka, KS

Great hotel close to downtown , very quiet!

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness and quietness!
Cons: The parking was a bit tight!
Location: The square is near, a short drive. The Pantry, a wonderful local eating establishment, is around the corner.
We will most certainly be back to stay! Loved the hot tub, and quietness. The breakfast area was quaint, and loved the actual coffee cups, no plastic!