Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: Replace, upgrade TV unit.
Location: Easy drive to cultural centers.
Very good to excellent value. Only complaint, hotel TV picture was slightly fuzzy. All else, great. Staff very helpful. Thanks, Mart Hoffman
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute. Atmosphere. Close to Downtown.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Atmosphere. Grounds. Location.
Cons: Continental breakfast, food and serving area. Room service.
Location: Great location near Downtown. Canyon Road for art galleries, don't miss it.
Our room was very small, but I should've paid more if I wanted a larger room. I knew this was an old, remodeled facility and that some of the rooms would very likely be smallish. It was clean with a modern feel to it. We were gone most of the day anyway. The grounds are beautiful with lots of little private places to hang out and relax. Very nice pool, hot tub and sauna. Small exercise room, but it's there. Nice continental breakfast table areas, but we were disappointed with the limited choices for foods and the extremely cramped quarters for serving it. Our room service was a little iffy (no cream rinse -serious tangles -dang- I-should've-brought-some-from-home and once the bed was left unmade) but no biggy. Stuff happens. My husband really disliked the wimpy shower but I thought it was okay, even with my thick hair to shampoo and rinse. I would definitely stay there again; my husband liked it but yearned for a better shower. But next time we will definitely spring for the larger room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very picturesque

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The rooms are cute and comfortable. The breakfast delicious.
The grounds are will maintained. Lots of plants and fountains. The rooms are clean and in keeping with the spanish theme.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Spa like atmosphere

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Beautiful property. Services were all good. Will definitely be staying here next time I'm in Santa Fe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotterdam

Motel met goede voorzieningen.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Comfortabele kamers, zwembad en whirlpool
Cons: TV-aanbod en kwaliteit van de WiFi-internetverbinding
Location: Het hotel ligt op 4 km van het centrum van Santa Fé. Santa Fé heeft een aantrekkelijk historisch centrum en een flink aantal interessante musea
Het motel ligt aan een drukke uitvalsweg (Cerrillo Rd) van Santa Fé, ongeveer 8 minuten rijden vanaf het centrum. De kamer was ruim genoeg en had twee Queensize bedden, douche, tafel, stoelen badkamer met douche en toilet. Koffiezetapparaat en TV. De kamer was schoon, de bedden comfortabel. De kamer was wel wat donker. Het TV-aanbod was beperkt (8 zenders) en de snelheid van het WiFi netwerk was van wisselende kwaliteit. Het motel beschikt over een verrassend groot zwembad, mooie whirlpools, sauna (erg klein) en een gym. Voor het zwembad en Whirpool zijn aparte handdoeken in de kamer aanwezig. In onze kamer hadden we nauwelijks tot geen last van het verkeergeluid op de drukke weg. De ontvangst was vriendelijk. Het ontbijt was inclusief en te gebruiken in de ontbijtruimte bij de receptie. Het aanbod was bescheiden, maar adequaat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el Paso

Charm and personality

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The gardens smelling of sweet honeysuckle and lilac.
Cons: Could have used a couple more outlets for cell phone charging.
Location: Right next to The Pantry, one of our favorite Santa Fe restaurants
El Rey is full of charm: flowering gardens, meandering paths and a wonderful old fashion feeling. It's a little worn down and not for you if prefer modern hotels. But it's lovely and quirky, a very welcome change from cookie cutter chains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Wonderful ave to stay in Santa Fe. Very quaint with gistorical charm. Wonderful gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ca.

Sweet spot

Posted Apr 7, 2015
I always love the El Rey - the buildings are beautiful old style NM, pretty gardens and fountains, lot's of birds singing and great hot tub and pool. Rooms clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edgewood, WA

Old in a classic way

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Decor, grounds, proximity to the plaza
Cons: Keep it like it is - that's the charm
Location: Close to tourists attractions and museums at the plaza
Quaint is how I would describe it. The room was very small but functional for one person. The fitness room was again small but functional. The breakfast room was small but adiquate for the few people there when I was in it. The grounds were very old-style like you'd see in a movie about Route 66. If you're looking for luxury this ain't it. if you're looking for something memorable and "romantic" this would fit the bill - has a bit of the "Flinstones" feel to it. Only a short distance to the plaza and easy to get to. Will be visiting again. Footnote- I rented a small room, can't coment on the other rooms as I believe there are some larger rooms for family types..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The breakfast, friendly staff, unique room, location, and beautiful property
Cons: The rooms were a little small, but that's not really a complaint for us
Location: It's on Cerillos Road so it's near a lot of restaurants. It's close to Smith's and Whole Foods. Very close to Downtown Santa Fe
My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights and had an amazing time. The rooms were very well decorated and unique. We love that there was a hot tub available as well.