Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom el Paso

Charm and personality

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The gardens smelling of sweet honeysuckle and lilac.
Cons: Could have used a couple more outlets for cell phone charging.
Location: Right next to The Pantry, one of our favorite Santa Fe restaurants
El Rey is full of charm: flowering gardens, meandering paths and a wonderful old fashion feeling. It's a little worn down and not for you if prefer modern hotels. But it's lovely and quirky, a very welcome change from cookie cutter chains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Wonderful ave to stay in Santa Fe. Very quaint with gistorical charm. Wonderful gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom ca.

Sweet spot

Posted Apr 7, 2015
I always love the El Rey - the buildings are beautiful old style NM, pretty gardens and fountains, lot's of birds singing and great hot tub and pool. Rooms clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edgewood, WA

Old in a classic way

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Decor, grounds, proximity to the plaza
Cons: Keep it like it is - that's the charm
Location: Close to tourists attractions and museums at the plaza
Quaint is how I would describe it. The room was very small but functional for one person. The fitness room was again small but functional. The breakfast room was small but adiquate for the few people there when I was in it. The grounds were very old-style like you'd see in a movie about Route 66. If you're looking for luxury this ain't it. if you're looking for something memorable and "romantic" this would fit the bill - has a bit of the "Flinstones" feel to it. Only a short distance to the plaza and easy to get to. Will be visiting again. Footnote- I rented a small room, can't coment on the other rooms as I believe there are some larger rooms for family types..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boulder, CO

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The breakfast, friendly staff, unique room, location, and beautiful property
Cons: The rooms were a little small, but that's not really a complaint for us
Location: It's on Cerillos Road so it's near a lot of restaurants. It's close to Smith's and Whole Foods. Very close to Downtown Santa Fe
My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights and had an amazing time. The rooms were very well decorated and unique. We love that there was a hot tub available as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Enjoyed, needs update.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Character, ambiance.
Cons: Towels, coffee pot.
Location: Location not convenient for walking. There was a bus that took you free to outer edge of downtown Santa Fe; would have liked to had more information.
Bathroom was attractive; shower big and roomy. Towels are very thin and replacement would improve customer experience. Bed/mattress was uncomfortable. Replace coffee cup dispenser with coffee pot for 4 cups. Coffee provided in lounge was nice. Hot tub/pool was great and clean. Not sure if we understood sauna functioning; heating unit was right next to bench to sit on. Just a little more instruction would help. Yard was attractive, even though winter and untidy. Lounge in office was comfortable with classical music and place to sit; room too small to sit and relax. Staff offered to build a fire, which was appreciated. Coupon to The Pantry was appreciated and good food. Generally good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado Springs

Authentic Santa Fe southwest adobe style facility.

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Eclectic Santa Fe - great local experience
Cons: Clean but getting old.
Breakfast is included. Busy season (summer) excellent breakfast in pleasant area. Low season (winter) guests are given a $5.00 certificate for breakfast at "The Pantry" about 50 yds. up the street. All the locals eat there great experience, good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stevefrom Abilene, TX

Nostalgic

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
The El Rey is always such a pretty, nostalgic place. It continues to somehow surprise me how nice it is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Luisfrom Plano, TX

Excellent hotel, great service.

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great hotel. We got an upgrade since the room was too small for 5 people even though I made the reservation that way in Hotels.com, and apparently the hotel didn't get the same information and/or the larger room didn't show up in hotels.com. But the receptionist was very kind and gave us an upgrade which made our stay even more enjoyable. The rooms are clean, quiet, and nice; and Santa Fe was very cold during our visit but the room was perfect. Breakfast was just OK, but that wasn't a problem, especially considering all the great options in Santa Fe. The "Pantry" has an excellent breakfast and it's at a walking distance from the hotel. Downtown, the Plaza, etc are close (~10 min drive) but not at a walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Olivierfrom Montréal

havre de paix

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
De passage a Santa Fe... petit havre de paix avec confort, authenticité et charme du Nouveau Mexique