Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Southern California

Exceptional, authentic.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, authenticity, updated bathrooms and TV. Very old Santa Fe without the gaudiness of some facilities.
Location: Three miles from old town Santa Fe. On a busy street but very quite in our room.
Very well maintained and updated, traditional 1930's motel. Lots of character but comfortable at modern standards. Wonderful breakfast with real table service (no plastic), kind and attentive staff, wide selection of food. Very good for vegetarians and vegans.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Quirky, Comfy, and Friendly

Posted Mar 23, 2014
I had previously stayed at El Rey during a family summer vacation and, when I returned to Santa Fe on a business trip, I jumped at the chance to stay again. The rooms and premises aren't luxurious (at least in comparison with the boutique hotels downtown), but are clean and comfortable and filled with a very Santa Fe-an charm. They're also much, much more comfortable and much more interesting than rooms at the comparably-priced or not-much-cheaper chain motels that dot Cerillos Road over the miles between the interstate and downtown. The staff were uniformly very friendly and cheerful. Finally, the location, while not within walking distance to the plaza and downtown attractions is only a short drive away (and, for that matter, is far enough away from downtown that you don't have to wend your way through the city center if you're bound somewhere else). I wholeheartedly endorse this place, and I look forward to staying there again.
3 out of 5
by phoebemoo from Fort Worth, TX

So much potential. . .

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The history and architecture is fabulous.
Cons: Bedding, pillows and linens.
Outside of the hotel is quaint and adorable. I love a historic motel! However, on the inside, the pillows, linens and upholstery are need of a serious update! Scratchy bedspreads and lumpy pillows just don't work for me. We wanted to love this place, but moved to a different hotel in town for the rest of our stay. Fresh bedding, linens and upholstery would go a long way! Breakfast staff was so friendly!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Only redeeming feature was an excellent breakfast.
Very old room, small and inappropriately furnished. Very uncomfortable. Heater fan very loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clay from Corrales, New Mexico

Quiet hotel with New Mexico character

Posted Mar 10, 2014
It was a very pleasant stay. Whenever I am staying in Santa Fe, I stay at the El Rey. Quiet, comfortable, reasonable rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Seasun from Arizona

Cute hotel with a vintage vibe

Posted Jan 12, 2014
This was our favorite hotel on our 18 day road trip. And believe me we stayed in a lot of hotels. El Rey is just so quaint. The hotel is old, but maintained very well and very clean. The continental breakfast is good because it's unique. They serve homemade green chile and tortillas, yum. Very much a New Mexico touch. The hotel staff were very attentive and welcoming. If we are ever in Santa Fe again, we will stay at El Rey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ambience, good price.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
The hotel is very cool-old fashioned and funky. Our favorite thing was the outdoor hot tub - very large with a fireplace to sit next to...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shane T from San Diego, CA

Quaint, old-school hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our first time staying at El Rey which we've wanted to try for years since we've been coming to Santa Fe. The service and hospitality was great. The hotel itself is on some nicely laid out grounds and sits back far enough that you can't hear any of the traffic on Cerrillos, the super-busy street El Rey is on. The room was quaint, definitely an older hotel feel to it. All in all, I would give it 6 out of 10. It's nice, I would probably stay there again in a pinch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lw from San Jose

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2013
Pros: clean, and good price for so close to everything we wanted to be near
Cons: Hotel could use some fluffing