Ratings based on 633 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is the ONLY redemption

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Cons: Remodel, renovate, re think their photos.....
Location: The plaza.
I use budget hotels all the time. This however is priced above a budget hotel but is a 1-2 star and budget hotels DO NOT CHARGE FOR PARKING. Their website nor the website i purchased the hotel from listed the 8.00 a night parking fees. Pictures on the site does NOT match the room (at least mine). The room itself was CLEAN and the bathroom was Extremely clean (however, room had a faint smell when I walked in unsure if it was musty or smoke). However, the furniture is probably 70's and not in that great of shape. Not many outlets to utilize unfortunately. Sheets were THIN and the blanket on the bed is probably from the 50's/60's the old thick scratchy wool type that does not breathe. Towels were thin and been laundered/bleached to the point they were not soft. The only way you could sleep on the mattress was in the center and when you rolled over you could feel the wear of the mattress (springs). I requested a "quiet room" the response I received was "it's on the second floor." I had to put the heater/ac unit on FAN ONLY all night in order to muffle the noise from the highway ? or streets behind the hotel so that I could sleep. The walls are very thin and I could hear the conversation next door. The overall property needs some work. The finish on the exterior doors are flaking off, several places needed touched up paint outside and wood replaced because it is rotting. The gym is a joke. As my title reads: LOCATION is nice and the only redemption.
2 out of 5
by Mr Z from Colorado

Suggestions

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Location: It is in walking distance to the old town shopping district. Lots of places to dine.
I would suggest they put curtains on their windows as the blinds didn't block the lights from outside the room. The room was lit up during the night and was a factor. I couldn't believe they charged me $8 a day to park there. Of course I didn't know that in advance, it would have been a factor in my decision to stay there. I thought the restaruant at the hotel was a little pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel-good price and excellent location.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Pleasant and had some nice things like coffee and soaps-WiFi and Cable
Cons: Easier plug in for computer and chargers; matresses seemed a little old; desk did not have copy of TV station guide and our room did not have one.
Location: Excellent location near Plaza. Very central for variety of things to do with or without car.
great retro decor. Wish I had had more time for all the lobby has to offer-old LPs and books, etc. Nice to have breakfast cupon for attatched Santa Fe Bite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

outdated cheapy.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: everything
Location: close to city plaza
One of Santa Fe's oldies. Used to be good Motel but has not been updated in years. Now looks seedy. TV's are 30 year old museum pieces.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from new mexico

very good price close to downtown

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Best aspects of the hotel were the price and location. Room was fine--roomy, clean, and reasonably comfortable. Bed was too soft for us, but that would not necessarily be the case for everyone. The Lounge was particularly nice to sit and work. Could have used another chair in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
First the location could not be better. The hotel is a very short walk from the square. It was very nice to be right in the downtown area around all of the shops. The room was clean. We had a few problems with the room bathroom and were given another room right next door. The TV in the room was ancient. There were no hook ups for a dvd player. One last thing, there is an 8 dollar a day parking fee. Which to me is kind of absurd if you are already renting a room but that's just how things are in a tourist town I suppose. Overall it is a nice place to stay if you dont want to spend a lot of money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joseph from Austin, TX

Great location! Walking distance to everything

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Location, size and easy to access.
Cons: Nothing
Location: walk to Canyon Road, grab some pizza next door at Upper Crust Pizza, check out the miraculous staircase at the Loretto Chapel across the street.
Nice, clean and comfortable room with a great view of the Loretto and the Sange de Cristo Mountains.
2 out of 5
by car driver from LA

Shappy

Posted Jan 13, 2014
The setting is good.and walking distance to the center of town. The Hotel is shabby. The carpets are old and worn, television is a tiny old box,(remember them?), communal computer in lobby didn't work, and looked as if it had NEVER been cleaned. There is also an additional charge of $8 for your car. Since very few people would arrive without a car, I felt that this charge should be included in the Motel rate, even if that cost was the $8 dollars more. It was very annoying to be asked for that payment before even checking in. Maybe the Motel should explain that the apparently large entrance, is actually also a public parking lot!! This makes it noisy, not private, and maybe, not secure
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JTP

Santa Fe Plaza

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Stayed at Garrett's because it was affordable and close to the Santa Fe Plaza. Need some clean-up on the outside, but the inside is habitable... I'd stay there again when passing through but not for a lengthy stay.