Ratings based on 806 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma City

Hotel Review

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of the town square and if healthy, an easy stroll for shopping, siteseeing.
We have stayed at the Garret about 5 year ago and again found it pleasant and servicable for our needs. I do not care for the charge for parking - I realize that this is a premium downtown but a turn off for guests. It basically raises the cost of the room by $8 a day. The rooms have been somewhat updated but attention does need to be given to 'details'. Chaulking around tubs, windows, etc. Air/heat is outdated. Television was 'small' (perhaps 25" if that) compared to other hotels who have LED slim lines at least 32" or larger.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Olathe, Ks

Close to the Square

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Price value, and location to downtown are huge reasons for staying at the Garrett's Desert Inn.
Cons: Bathrooms can use an update.
Location: If you couldn't guess from above, the location is key to this hotel. Park and walk your way around Santa Fe's shops and restaurants.
One of the great benefits of Garrett's is that it is within walking distance to the downtown square of Santa Fe. The price is the most economical in the downtown area. The facilities may be a bit dated, but we are not spending much time in the room. We are here for the city and entertainment. Having the Santa Fe Bites restaurant on site, is also a nice plus.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom santa fe

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pillows were like rocks There was debri on the floor Unclean Very thin walls so noisy Good location
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Mediocre

Posted Dec 30, 2014
No character. Check in took forever because there was only one person there. Anywhere else this would be a seedy motel for $40/night, but because it's in 'the plaza', they charge through the roof and know they've got you so they provide nothing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Christmas stay at Garretts Desert Inn.

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Location!
Cons: The towels absolutely need to be updated, ours were thin as dish rags. Also, pillows need updating, very stiff and uncomfortable.
Location: GREAT location: walking distance to the Plaza and Canyon Road.
A local friend recommended Garretts for its location and price: within easy walking distance of the Plaza area as well as Canyon Road. We stayed two nights over Christmas Eve so we could enjoy the beauty of Santa Fe via foot and not worry about driving.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom wyoming

Close to down town, but very out dated and dirty.

Posted Dec 30, 2014
The room was dirty, they didn't restock our towels or coffee for the second night. We had to go to the office to get towels and coffee, the office personnel said they were out of wash clothes. The bathroom floor was so cold the we had to put a towel down under our feet just to be in there. I found a plastic cover for a razor on the floor so that tells me they didn't clean properly. The only good thing about it is it's close to down town. I do have to say, they did refund our parking fee when I told her about the towels and coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown, not worth the price):

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Close to downtown but not worth the price. Old Inn and smelled old and musty. Friendly front desk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Great location...and that's it. Dark, old, small, ugly rooms. Nice staff. .....location, location, location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Restored, older property in great location

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Towels, coffee maker, wifi.
Location: Heart of town with restaurants and shopping are very close.
This is an older property with outside doors located very close to the heart of town. It has ample parking and a restaurant. TV and coffee maker could definitely use upgrades as could the bathroom. The heating was excellent, and the bed was good. It was quiet. Towels are thin! Wifi did not work well. The staff were all very pleasant. The exterior appearance is very good!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Great location near the plaza. Staff is pleasant.
Cons: small frig, comfortable chair to sit on.
Location: Great location with many interesting places to walk to.
Clean rooms, good beds. Could use a comfortable chair to sit on. Small table with 2 chairs is good. Has microwave but no small frig.