Ratings based on 885 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Smith, Arkansas

Great facility/unfortunate experience

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We were at this exceptionally fine facility for four nights. On the first night there was a yapping dog a couple of rooms down that the owners had left unattended. On top of that, next door at about midnight some group, not sober, started up playing a guitar and singing badly. My wife and I retire early, so we were asleep and rudely awakened. To the hotels staff's credit, they dispatched security promptly and the noise problem was solved. Nights two and three were uneventful and quite enjoyable. On night four at 12:30, we were again rudely awakened by a guitar and bad singing. It was not the same bad singers as on night one, but again called security, and the noise stopped. We left the hotel early, so I did not have an opportunity to speak with the manager. The next day after checkout, I left a voicemail message on the managers phone, asking her to call me back. I have not heard anything as I have not been called by hyrax manager. The stay was disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Typical "Tribal" resort experience with a NM twist

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Nicely appointed.
Cons: Supplemental staff training.
Location: Santa Fe is 15 minutes away with more 5 star restaurants per square mile than anywhere in the US.
Poor Front Desk execution was attributed to "Summer Help". I booked a suite. They put me in a small room. I believe since it was an Expedia booking they intentionally put me in lesser accommodations to see if they could get away with it. I have experienced this before with Expedia bookings at Hilton properties. Hilton folks up through site management show some disdain for Expedia bookings (rate discounts). Beautiful facility. Slightly less than first class staff performance. This is a Casino Resort but NO Alcohol in gaming areas? NM law. Antiquated philosophy and detracts from the experience. 3 1/2 of 5 stars as Casinos go.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

A Disappointing Start

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Though not in Santa Fe it is a super easy & quick 10 min. to everything in SF. It is a great location for heading north as well . Easy FWY access.
Cons: Training of front desk staff. Starbucks on the Lobby floor closes at 2:00 PM. This is nuts. Buffet food is a 4 out of 10. Pool is small/crowded
Location: Santa Fe, Taos, Bandelier Nat Park, Taos Pueblo, tons of hikes, and tons of history. Tons of art and music and relaxed vibe in SF. BEAUTIFUL Drives!
Check in is guaranteed for 4:00PM, so when I arrived at 6:00 PM I expected it to be seamless and without incident. Nothing could have been further from the truth. My confirmed, by the front desk employee, "Superior Suite" was not ready. It would be about 20 minutes. Hmmm. So after having flown 5 hours and driven another 1.5 hours, I would have to wait for a room which I had booked 3.5 months earlier. When I was called back over to check in, I was told I had a "Terrace Suite". Hmmmm again. Long story short, it wasn't what I had booked, it wasn't what I had confirmed when I showed up 20 minutes earlier, and it wasn't what I wanted. Unfortunately, the front desk staff was not properly trained in anything, including client appreciation. I was booked for a week, unlike most others who came to gamble and blew in and out in one or two days, but I was hassled and argued with about my reservation. To make matters worse, the young girl who had said, " I have you confirmed in a Superior Suite", was now denying to my face (and my daughter's) that she had ever said "Superior". I never did get into my "Superior" (which would have had 2 fpls and a seperate LVR) but the room I was given was great. The next day, a front desk mgr, apologized (after I approached him with the issue) and he rectified it in a professional manner. He did step up, and I was impressed with is performance. This was more the 'Hilton' responsiveness I was used to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great home base for excursions!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Felt very clean and professional. Loved the sandwich shop within the casino.
Cons: We ate at the buffet one night and only enjoyed the Italian offerings. The oriental food was particularly bad.
Location: Drove to old Santa Fe for plaza and the historic churches, Durango for scenic views, town and train to Silverton, then Mesa Verde... WOW!
Everything about the facility was clean, neat, first-class.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Unfriendly staff

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Beautiful hotel, casino isn't too Smokey, room was nice, did not get one welcome or a smile. Employees walk before guests, not really caring. Did not answer phones welcoming. Wouldn't go back, and it was extremely expensive to get treated so badly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
My husband and I went for our anniversary. We enjoyed that we could stay for 2 days and not have to leave. We were able to golf, enjoy a massage, swim at the pool and gamble at the casino. We ate at a different restaurant each meal and were very pleased with everything. Very courteous hotel staff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WashDC

Not What Was Expected

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Beds very comfortable. Concierge "Glen" was super helpful and a very nice fellow.
Cons: Correctly advertise the room and what you receive. We feel this room was a bait and switch. Breakfast buffet a nightmare due to limited seating.
Location: Location is 20 miles from city. City has much to do and see so you commute everyday. Hotel has a casino, but it is not a pleasant experience.
WiFi was suppose to be free but only free area was the lobby area. No WiFi in room unless you paid each day. Hotel advertisement indicated room had a fireplace and small refrigerator. This was also not the case. Hotel room had no refrigerator or fireplace. Bed was very comfortable. First room assigned had bird poop all over the balcony. Hotel did reassign a new room. Room was an average hotel room which appeared different from the original advertisement. Hotel was 20 miles away from city of Santa Fe - so in the future I would stay in the city. There is much more to do in the city. Communications was terrible for both Verizon and AT&T. No texting, no data, in the room while using Android cell phones. Food was expensive. This was our first stay at a Hilton in a long while, and after this experience I am cured and will go back to Marriott's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Missing details.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Room very nice. Hard beds. Horrible room service food and service. Room is a good value. Everything else is a huge ripoff. If you stay here drive to everything else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

NOT HAPPY- CAN'T BELIEVE THIS IS A HILTON PROPERTY

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Not much!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Everything
Location: Golf, Shopping and sight seeing in Santa Fe
Upon our arrival at the hotel and checking in we were told that we had a handicapped room (which we were not aware of) we asked to change the room and was told that when anyone books through Expedia or a third party there is no way they can make any changes to the reservations. If this is true than Hilton should not be listing their hotels through Expedia. When we arrived to our handicapped room we were surprised to find out that the elevators were so far away from the rooms you would think they would be closer. The room needed to be fumigated as there were bugs. Also we made reservations at the Red Sage Restaurant when our order was taken it was over one hour before we got served, we complained about the service and was told that the restaurant just got a new menu (I guess that meant that the chef did not know how to cook any of the items on the menu), when our meal was finally served my lobster was raw in the middle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Room not ready-gave room below one booked

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Room quite and very clean.
Cons: Give room that was paid for by third party without any questions.
Location: Santa Fe, TurquiseTrail.
Went to room at 4pm, room not ready. Returned at 4:45 given standard room. After long trip to room, realized it was not a Jr. Suite, returned to registration, given Jr. Suite with view of parking lot. No frig, only cooler that would not open. Back to registration took first room, at least had a view over pool area, and cooler opened. Finally settled into room at 5:45pm. Put 3 small bottles in cooler, was charged for them upon removing them. Got charges removed. Upon checkout checked with registration, was charged with breakfast at the rate of $32.49. Got that removed after going to restaurant and viewing receipt. Wondering about how property is managed. Originally paid for room thru third party, and staff at desk stated rate paid was below their standard rate for Jr. Suite. If you use a third party site for reservations, make sure you get what you pay for.