Ratings based on 1,073 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NM

Not So Saintly

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Close to plaza
Cons: Use of room space and parking to exclude charging $18.00 for such a small space.
Location: Close to shops and restaurants
Small cramped space, way overpriced and old. Only redeeming feature, close to all of downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to the Plaza

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Great decor, loved the social action of the bar and restaurant as well as the outside porch
Cons: small room
Location: Location great
love the location, room a little small for the price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kenner, LA

Great Location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Nice bar and outside seating area.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms!
Location: Great downtown location. Plaza, dining, shopping all close by.
This hotel is perfectly situation in downtown Santa Fe. Nice upbeat atmosphere in lobby and bar. Room was very small, and absolutes reeked of stale smoke. Not like someone smoked there recently, like it was never completely cleaned properly enough to get rid of the smell from years ago. In general, would probably not recommend because of the smell of the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

It's like other reviewers have said...

Posted Aug 22, 2014
You're paying a lot here for location and history. Not for comfort. After a half-dozen or so one-night stays (I regularly spend a night in Santa Fe, after landing in Albuquerque and before visiting friends in Taos), I'm a bit weary of the whole setup. Don't get me wrong: I love historic hotels, and don't fault the St. Francis for tiny room size....the building is what it is. But that made it all the more important for the owners to "get it right" in the recent redecoration. Instead, they elevated a particular aesthetic over guests' comfort. Specifics: okay-sized room, tiny bathroom (door banged against toilet!), misguided vessel sink (a fad that I dislike) with little space for toiletries, lit by an overhead lantern whose bulb happened to be burned out, a single mirror that was hung too high for this 5' 0" female. So I left in the morning with no coffee (another deficiency that reviewers have noted) and with no confidence in my appearance. Not a great way to start the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Show Low , Az

Small but Special

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Enjoyed the 100 year old hotel immensely. Very interesting having sink in bedroom instead of bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yazoo City, MS

Beautiful, old-world hotel with a European vibe

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Renovation has simplified the hotel but made it even more beautiful (though some might find it spare and like a monastery). Rooms are still quite small, but lovely carpet, bed, and linens. Perfectly functional and charming!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but...

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location and decor
Cons: parking availability and beverages for guests.
Hotel is charming and rooms are small (expected). Price was reasonable, but it included NOTHING. Parking was $18 a day and no breakfast. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but not owned by the hotel so if you want a cup of coffee, bring cash. No coffee bar or anything for guests. Make sure to add those expenses when making plans.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hotel that could be nice!

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Expensive for no coffee or room service. Lighting very bad when trying to see while applying makeup etc. No vending machines so have to look else where. Had to get coffee across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Love the atmosphere

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Cons: See above
No coffee in room. Restaurant not open until 7 am to get cup of coffee. Lobby needs coffee (not instant from a machine) at least early in the morning. Our first morning restaurant manager did not show up with a key until 7:30 and coffee was not ready by the time we left. This is huge enough for us that we will not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Good location and bar - the rest no so much

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location and bar
Cons: Covert small rooms to singles - provide coffee in room or lobby
Location: Great location - walked everywhere
We booked 3 nights via Expedia and even received an advance check-in email for our preferences. We requested a room with a good view. Our room had an excellent view of a dumpster and was just large enough to contain the queen bed. The sink was outside the bath making the small room seem even smaller. The shower stall had no light or shelves so you took showers in the dark and had to put soap, shampoo, etc on the floor. Since the maids never replenished these items we washed the soap to a nub. We asked to change rooms but they were booked. I hoped to give this feedback upon check out but the desk clerk never asked, he just rang up my parking fees. Next visit to Santa Fe will not include the St. Francis.