Ratings based on 1,082 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Nice hotel with great location. Best feature is the veranda in front to enjoy a drink from the bar. Very convenient to everything near the square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Charming hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Location, charming decor.
Cons: Clean carpets in rooms, have the maids make sure the alarm clocks are not turned on so guests aren't rudely awakened by an alarm they didn't set.
Our hotel room was fabulous at first, the window open with a cool breeze. However, as the evening went on, a loud noise outside the window took over and continued throughout the night and made it difficult to sleep. Since the room was so hot (for some reason the "cool" setting on the thermostat was actually heat, there was no "cool"), we had to have the window open to keep the room cool. Also, at midnight, the alarm clock went off, waking us both out of the sleep we had fought for. Very annoying. Other than the stained carpet in the room, and the two things I've mentioned, the hotel was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el paso, texas

Historic hotel right in town.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Well taken care of from check-in to check-out. Beds comfortable. Restaurant looked nice, but we did not eat there. Staff members very courteous. Front reception also very nice. Will return to Hotel St. Francis.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NM

Not So Saintly

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Close to plaza
Cons: Use of room space and parking to exclude charging $18.00 for such a small space.
Location: Close to shops and restaurants
Small cramped space, way overpriced and old. Only redeeming feature, close to all of downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to the Plaza

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Great decor, loved the social action of the bar and restaurant as well as the outside porch
Cons: small room
Location: Location great
love the location, room a little small for the price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kenner, LA

Great Location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Nice bar and outside seating area.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms!
Location: Great downtown location. Plaza, dining, shopping all close by.
This hotel is perfectly situation in downtown Santa Fe. Nice upbeat atmosphere in lobby and bar. Room was very small, and absolutes reeked of stale smoke. Not like someone smoked there recently, like it was never completely cleaned properly enough to get rid of the smell from years ago. In general, would probably not recommend because of the smell of the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

It's like other reviewers have said...

Posted Aug 22, 2014
You're paying a lot here for location and history. Not for comfort. After a half-dozen or so one-night stays (I regularly spend a night in Santa Fe, after landing in Albuquerque and before visiting friends in Taos), I'm a bit weary of the whole setup. Don't get me wrong: I love historic hotels, and don't fault the St. Francis for tiny room size....the building is what it is. But that made it all the more important for the owners to "get it right" in the recent redecoration. Instead, they elevated a particular aesthetic over guests' comfort. Specifics: okay-sized room, tiny bathroom (door banged against toilet!), misguided vessel sink (a fad that I dislike) with little space for toiletries, lit by an overhead lantern whose bulb happened to be burned out, a single mirror that was hung too high for this 5' 0" female. So I left in the morning with no coffee (another deficiency that reviewers have noted) and with no confidence in my appearance. Not a great way to start the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Show Low , Az

Small but Special

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Enjoyed the 100 year old hotel immensely. Very interesting having sink in bedroom instead of bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yazoo City, MS

Beautiful, old-world hotel with a European vibe

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Renovation has simplified the hotel but made it even more beautiful (though some might find it spare and like a monastery). Rooms are still quite small, but lovely carpet, bed, and linens. Perfectly functional and charming!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but...

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location and decor
Cons: parking availability and beverages for guests.
Hotel is charming and rooms are small (expected). Price was reasonable, but it included NOTHING. Parking was $18 a day and no breakfast. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but not owned by the hotel so if you want a cup of coffee, bring cash. No coffee bar or anything for guests. Make sure to add those expenses when making plans.