Ratings based on 1,196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DFW

Nice, historic hotel only one block from Plaza.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Nice, historic hotel only one block from Santa Fe Plaza. Great restaurant for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Close to the action

Posted Jul 21, 2015
While the historic hotel has a great location in the center of the square, our room had lingering cigarette smoke (despite the hotel being a non-smoking hotel - front desk personnel didn't know why). Beds really comfortable. Small bathroom with no shelves for toiletries. We made recommendations to staff and were told management is reviewing similar comments and will make changes in alignment with historic property guidelines. Overall a nice one-night stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Santa Fe....Hotel St. Francis

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Excellent location, the restaurant was top notch and the staff was very pleasant.
Cons: Our room was tiny!!!! No sink in the bathroom and the closet was too small to put our suitcase so they took up even more of our room!
Location: Santa Fe is for those who want to shop, eat, and take in the local culture. I don't recommend it if you are traveling with younger kids.
Santa Fe is a very unique as well as beautiful city!! In Mid July the high temperature was in the was in the high 70"s to low 80's. Excellent restaurants, galleries, and sights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, overpriced for tiny room.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Only the location.
Cons: False advertising..Staff should not say they will upgrade when it is impossible to do so.
Confirming the room by phone, I inquired about chairs and was told we would be upgraded to a room with chairs. The 'upgrade' was to a room with not even one chair that was being aired out, for some reason. I realize that the hotel is historic, but did not realize the tradeoff. The bedroom mattress (#217) was old and saggy and the sheets were threadbare and stained and totally wrinkled..I wondered if they were clean. The room and dimly lit bath were tidy; the maids folded up our wet towels and bath mat as if they were fresh, but they were wet! There are many options in Santa Fe and we will not choose this hotel again. It is living on past laurels. We are sorry we chose this hotel for our 3 night visit. The parking lot did not begin to accommodate the guest cars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel but rooms were disappointing

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The lobby, especially at night with the candle lights. The porch in front is also a great place to people watch.
Cons: New carpeting in the rooms and brighter lights over the bathroom sink.
Great location and wonderful lobby. Lovely stairway and porch. Restaurant was very good. Get the green chile sausage! The staff was also great. Rooms were disappointing. They didn't match the ambience of the lobby. The carpet in the hallway in front of the room was wet the first day. The room was small with what looked like dirty carpeting and a dirty floor in the tub/shower area - or else the tile in the bathroom is so old it can no longer get truly clean. Kept noticing a faint disagreeable odor but never pinpointed a source. As noted by another in our group, they wished the hotel would spring for more than 40 watt lightbulbs, especially in the bathroom. No full length mirror - if that is important to you. Close quarters in the tub/shower. There was a curtain over the window that kept clinging to you as you tried to shower. Ended up tucking it under a towel rack to get it out of the way (the window is glass block so no one could see in anyway). The stairway is lovely and really needed as there is only one elevator. We waited for a long time on the day we checked out and when the elevator finally arrived there was a very large machine in it. Ended up making a few trips with luggage on the stairs instead. The beds are comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great hotel in downtown

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Location was extremely convenient, facilities are very nice, staff was very friendly & helpful with recommendations.
Cons: The parking situation is not ideal; their lot is small, and several hotel employees were taking spaces. Parking costs extra so be prepared. No pool.
Location: Super convenient for shopping & dining downtown. Also several museums to explore in downtown Santa Fe. All within walking distance.
We spent one night in Santa Fe on a road trip through New Mexico and stayed at the Hotel St. Francis downtown. It is a very charming hotel, with a nice bar & patio area out front and a wonderful lobby. They had water & treats available in the lobby (which the kids loved) and the rooms seem much more unique than your standard chain hotel. It's also in the heart of downtown, so walking to breakfast in the morning was literally a 30-second trip. Very nice atmosphere, great room, and very helpful staff made it a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Beautiful Historic Hotel, close to everything!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Central to everything. Parking is right next door.
Cons: Needs more hangers in the closet's. Front desk clerk told us the free walking tour included with our stay started in the lobby, which was incorrect
Location: Location is close to all shop's restaurants and sites to see.
Two night stay in Santa Fe, hotel is beautiful, if a little noisy as it is very old! Rooms are small, but the hotel is so beautiful it does not matter. Lovely porch to sit out on and have a cocktail or morning coffee and people watch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Very nice unique facility and the staff was extremely accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg, Va

Great walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
First time in Santa Fe, staff was very welcoming. Hotel is beautiful and room was nicely decorated and comfortable. Only slights are a pool was missing and a full length mirror in room would be nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ft. Worth, TX

very nostalgic hotel located in center of town

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Center of square, very friendly employees and nostolgic feel.
Cons: bathrooms
Location: great, everything
very nice and helpful staff. Pet freindly and great area in heart of Santa Fe Square