Ratings based on 1,089 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Placerville, CA

Convenient location and very friendly staff.

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Staff, happy hour, breakfast, comfortable beds.
Cons: Would have liked an inside room... and not need to go through the bitterly cold breezeway. The food machine should be repaired on the second floor.
Location: So many restaurants, shops, galleries, architecture,.....and the plaza itself was wonderful with the crafters selling their wares. Bandoleer (sp?)
Our room was fine with comfortable beds. Would have liked a bit more room to spread out, and I'm wondering, since we got our room through Expedia, we got a less than top-notch room. We had to go through a very cold outside breezeway to gain access to our room, whereas other rooms had an inside access. The 4-5pm happy hour with free Sherry and Brandy was a very nice touch. The breakfasts were as good as the reviews specified... a wonderful healthy selection of eggs served two ways, hash browns (not oily), fresh fruit, oatmeal, and lots of sweet rolls for less health-oriented folks. The staff seemed especially kind and conscientious. Since we were there in the winter, we didn't get to experience the pretty gardens pictured in their promotional on-line material. But, they made nice arrangements of colorful dried flowers to put in the flower beds to try and make up for the lack of live flowers in February. Filtered water was available in the lobby. Santa Fe has such a plethora of art galleries, shops, wonderful restaurants, and pleasant architecture. Just be ready for the biting wind in the winter and the occasional snow flurries.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom denver, CO

Staff and location exceptional.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was exceptional
Cons: Truth at registration and instructions on the thermostat.
Location: So much to see and so much to do. The history that exists in and around Santa Fe and the travels in the area are wonderful.
Everyone was helpful. We planned the location for the memories it brought from 46 years ago. We were not pleased that our room had two double extra long beds but not the queen beds we were told we would have. The heating system was not explained and did not function the way we understood the thrmostat to perform in room 211. We could have complained and asked for a change but after settling in our eagerness for our adventure we did not want to spend time with management for a problem that should never had existed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2015
My mom and I shared a wonderful birthday weekend. It's close to everything, the staff was wonderful, and the rooms were perfect. We couldn't ask for anything more! Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Overall very nice experience. Everybody was helpful and courteous, specially Ken
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel right by the plaza

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, location
Cons: It was advertised that there was a fireplace in every room but we did not have a fireplace
Location: Near the plaza, within walking distance to many restaurants and shops
It was a nice and very clean hotel. Breakfast was fabulous and plenty of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Excellent hotel near the Plaza in Santa Fe

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Free parking, free breakfast, good service, housekeeping exceptional, and the staff outstanding. Restaurant in the hotel. Wonderful atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing we can think of.
Location: See above
We loved our stay at the Inn of the Governors. It was convenient to the art district, restaurants, specialty shops, historical district, book stores - all were within walking distance. The staff was most accommodating to our needs. They provided maps, offered suggestions, gave directions to places of interest, recommended artisans to meet our needs, and told us of special events taking place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin Texas

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn of the Governors. The location is perfect - walking distance to the Plaza as well as many restaurants and shopping. The staff was exceptionally helpful, and our room was very comfortable with adequate space for two people. Also, the breakfast was delicious, with great coffee and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bakersfield, ca

Posted Dec 21, 2014
This was a great location. Plenty of parking. Excellent breakfast. Very nice room. Will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

4 days at the Governors Inn

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: They had a full breakfast each morning and sherry, and cookies each afternoon for all guests. Cucumber and regular water was available each day.
Cons: Not much!
Location: Walking distance to Canyon Road, great shops, wonderful jewelry, restaurants, churches and 1 hour drive to Taos
I was very satisfied with my room and it's location. The maids kept it very clean each day. The breakfast was ample with a variety of items to choose from each morning. The staff were very accommodating with any of my questions. Parking was free and the location of the Inn was very convenient to walking everywhere. There was a wonderful restaurant attached to this hotel with anything you might want to eat and drink. A great time to visit at Thanksgiving as there weren't too many people there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2014
People at front desk was really helpfull. And I want to specially thank Carlos on the restaurant that was able to help with any questions, It was a pleasure to meet him. Great stay at this hotel!