Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location, fabulous rooms

Posted May 11, 2014
we were on a southwest roadtrip with 4 friends, the hotel was fantastic and close to everything, the staff was friendly, and the room was unique and lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by cindi from dallas

Great in Town hotel!

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the hotel, great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ernesto from frye island, maine

Great experience in a busy hotel

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed with my wife to get to know Santa Fe. Hotel is perfectly located to explore the city on foot. It's a busy hotel so sometimes you had to wait for a meal, but then you had alternative venues to eat. Food was good and at reasonable prices. We were given a large and comfortable room, with a niche closed in balcony overlooking the Loretto chapel. Architecture and decor is authentic colonial Spanish but not of chain hotels. . Ample bathroom with walk in shower, no tub.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Eileen from Gallup

A long time favorite disappoints

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's great to be in the plaza and at La Fonda and near the cathedral at Easter. Check in was fast, my room was lovely (beautiful Spanish colonial and Santa Fe style decorations, soft linens, comfortable bed, pretty bathroom), and WiFi was free. The fitness area is small but impeccably clean and with high quality equipment and beautiful art. Chef out was fast. The reason for my low rating is that there was a gas leak so the hotel had no hot water for at least 7 hours (from morning until after 3pm) on the Sunday of my stay. I understand such things can be beyond the control of the hotel, but what was disappointing is that I asked at check out for a credit toward a future stay for that day (because I was effectively trapped in my room because I could not shower & needed a shower to look presentable) and was told I'd be contacted. About a week later, I completed the hotel's online comment card with the same feedback and question, but still have not heard back. This just isn't the service I'd expect from La Fonda.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Dr. Al

La Fonda NOT what we expected.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The concierge was pleasant and helpful.
Cons: This is supposed to be a higher end property, but the staff were not able to deal with an exceptional situation.
Location: It is, as they advertise, at the corner of the central square.
The Santa Fe La Fonda appeared to have the potential to be a good hotel, however we were there over the Easter weekend 2014, and it was not a good stay. The hotel was without hot water all day on Easter Sunday. We weren't able to clean up for Church or to attend our friend's Easter dinner. In addition, and appropriately so, the bars and restaurants in the hotel were also closed. After the hot water was back, we suffered with a shortage of linens, and got scratchy towels that would have embarrassed most low end hotels (I suspected they washed the towels in cold water and then air dried them when the gas was turned off.) The hotel will say it was a problem with the Gas utility, etc. However, these sorts of things do happen in the hospitality industry, and the test of a hotel is how they handle the problem. I'll leave it at this. They didn't handle it very well. In the end, we got a slight reduction in our bill -- less than 10% and a self-righteous attitude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lars from Long Beach.CA

Absolutely outstanding!

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beyond our expectations. The service was outstanding. The location was smack in the middle of everything with a very convenient parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Enumclaw, Washington

A great place to stay at. The location to the tow

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: It was clean, roomy, and had its own charm to it.
Cons: Coffee to go in / by check in out desk.
Location: Just about everything you need to see or do is in walking distance.
Great location to the town center, arts, restaurants, museums, history, churches, people, food, was wonderful.. The staff was very friendly and hard working to please any way they could.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John Labadie from Seattle, WA

Very nice hotel; enjoyable experience -- mostly

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The 2 AM fire alarm (for 15 seconds) was a bit of a jolt. Having no hot water the next morning was difficult. The hotel can't foresee or control these problems, but guests should not have to ask what is going on. The restaurant is lovely, the service first rate; the breakfasts were excellent, the dinner was not stellar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Philip Gough from Bellevue WA

Magnifasense

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
'twas to die for.