Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Amarillo, TX

Hotel of Dissapointment

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Location is great just outside of town
Cons: Really needs room updating and of course employees would help as well.
Location: Old time resort with great non-winter possibilities located nearby to Santa Fe, NM
On the morning of Day 2 the owners without warning shut down resturant and bar and laid off most of the staff beside front desk and security. Was told it was a corporate decision without warning to employees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John Cfrom Dallas

Fading Glory

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was nothing wrong with our stay at the resort--it was very quiet with few guests. Still, the place needs an update--cracked walkways, peeling paint, an overall faded look. The person who checked us in was more bored than most of her type are. The room itself was fine, spacious, though a very small bathroom. Lots of competition in Santa Fe; I suggest the Bishop's Lodge take note.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marysefrom Vancouver, Canada

Perfectly placed just off the beaten path

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The lodge needs yo upsate a few things. Their TV is ancient, their phone from the 80's and it would bave been nice to have more than one little bar of soap for two people fir three days. Nothing beats the location though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort with hiking trails

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Overall ok experience. One down fall was our room was invaded by wasps one afternoon while we were out. Hotel staff relocated us to a new room with no problems.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom St Louis

Classic Resort

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Classic old resort. Beautiful original art in the lodge. During warm weather the pool is great. Horseback riding, skeet shooting, tennis, available.
Cons: Staff and concierge could not execute simple restaurant reservations in town. Bathroom fixtures from seventies; had to fix toilet.
Location: Endless possibilities nearby for hiking, visiting Indian ruins, visiting art galleries and more.
Under new ownership. Have some needs to upgrade tired bathrooms and old technology. Still a great getaway place close to the Plaza in Santa Fe but far enough out to enjoy beautiful views. I have stayed here many times before and enjoy the ambiance. Good food in the southwestern style.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brucefrom Colorado

Great location, great staff, they are working hard

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lovely 4 days. Yes, the property shows its age in spots but it is clear they are working to spruce things up. The staff were all friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile, so to speak. We will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson, Az

Lovely Atmosphere, but....

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The setting is pretty.
Cons: See above.
Location: It is close to downtown, for shopping and sightseeing, and it's easy to get from the location to the road north to Chimayo, etc.
Bishop's Lodge is situated in a beautiful wooded area north of Santa Fe, just about 10 minutes drive from downtown. The grounds are beautiful and the room was nice, but the amenities for a hotel in this price range were, well, lacking. The room had no microwave, though complimentary "nacho" makings were in the room (can't heat the cheese), and neither was there a blow dryer, which I've come to expect in a hotel. We did have some spiders and other visitors in the room (I guess it comes with the territory), which i guess isn't surprising since one of the windows had no screen, and the one next to it had a screen we had to put back into the frame so we could keep it open. The coffee maker didn't work properly, and after leaving a note for housekeeping one morning asking for a couple extra coffee packets kind of expected they'd follow up the next morning with extras without my having to leave a note. The pool is beautiful but advertised as heated, and it wasn't. Overall, for the same cost I'll likely stay elsewhere next time I'm in Santa Fe.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom abq

Nice grounds, cold breakfast

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Crying kid next door, could hear everything in next room as big gap at bottom of door. Breakfast was cold, wait staff was not friendly and disorganized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arvada, CO

Beautiful grounds, charming atmosphere

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Staff, grounds, beds are really comfy. Each room is different.
Location: Close to downtown and the Plaza. Lots of shopping. Horseback riding is offered too.
Love the hotel and the staff. They went above and beyond to make our trip enjoyable. I was worried after reading other reviews about the age and condition of the rooms. I was pleasantly surprised by the rooms. It's true there is no granite, or newly renovated bathrooms. But the bathroom was spacious and the water pressure was great. The charm more than makes up for that. If you're looking for a Hilton, this isn't the place for you. If you're looking for wonderful grounds, romantic fireplaces, great walking trails and beautiful views then you will love it here. We walked down to pet the horses (we didn't opt for the trail ride, maybe next time). We enjoyed margaritas on the restaurant patio in the evening. The plaza is a really short drive and they have shuttles during the day. My hubby and I prefer this hotel to many others we have stayed at. It is truly comfortable and manages to keep the "lodge" charm while offering a great experience. We will be back.