Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, colorado

Nice resort.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Since we only stayed one night, I don't feel like I can give too much information. Bishop's Lodge is trying hard to be a first rate resort, but needs a little TLC to get there. The staff was wonderful - friendly, responsive, helpful. The room, while comfortable, had a bathroom that was a bit run down, with rust around the fixtures, and in need of some updating. The grounds were beautiful. There were a lot of extras - they offer a shuttle to the Plaza, but at 7$ a head each way, it made more sense for us to drive down and park for 5$!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Staff, grounds, food, room, location.
Cons: The bed was lumpy, felt old.
Location: Santa Fe - say no more!
Would definitely stay here again; perhaps bring the family - great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, grandchildren. Something for everyone. Wonderful, casual atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed the wonderful mountain views

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: location and views of surrounding mountains
Cons: The rooms need to be updated
Location: Santa Fe and Taos, lots of art and art galleries and great restaurants near the Plaza
We enjoyed the walk to a great breakfast every day. The pool was not heated enough for me to use. The hot tub was very unattractive in the area where it was enclosed. The food was good but not exceptional. The grounds and sculptures were outstanding. Overall, the best feature of the hotel. Poor directions to our room and they provided no assistance in helping us find our room. They did not even have conditioning provided with shampoo.
2 out of 5
by Luc from Staunton Virginia

What we saw on the web site it is not what we got.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff.
Location: Outside of the hotel we had a very good time, great outdoors activities, nice scenery all over and the food is fantastic all around Santa Fe.
The only thing we got is the hotel is not in the city. The room, the carpet was very old, dusty and the color could not be defined. One day we had to stay in our room, the cleaning lady never used a vacum cleaner, she did have one with her and we never eared one running the all day. The bedding, they used flat sheets for the mattress and not fitted sheets. Evry night we woke up sleeping partially on the matress. The restaurant, one evening one of us had a very good dish (stuff pablano). The next evening we order the same dish, we got something that was not close to what we had the evening before. The corn and veggies was rosted the first time now it was only steam. The green chilly was onctueux the first time now it was soupy. We reported to the staff and told us it was not the same cook the both evening. The staff renoved the charge for the dish we did not like. The two possitif experiences are the staff is very plaisant and helpful and our bad diner experience make us discovering Santa Fe fantastic restaurants (we never had any meal in the hotel the rest of our stay). Also the tennis court are in very poor condition, one is even dangerous to play on it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location, very peacesful

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Loved hanging out by the pool!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sally B. from San Diego

Relaxing Retreat

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Surrounded by beautiful grounds, this older resort offers something for everyone. We were offered tennis, horse back riding, and spa services. Unfortunately, we were only staying one night, so were unable to take advantage of these extras. The setting is pastoral with rolling hills, plentiful greenery, and interesting sculptures. The food and service were excellent. It is somewhat out of town, so easy access to Santa Fe is not possible. Also it is in good condition for its age, but the rooms could use some renovation and updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karla from /Santa Fe, NM

Very nice but overpriced

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Santa Fe is a beautiful city with lots of enjoyable things to do, As for the Lodge, I felt is was overpriced for the overall accomodations, and services provided/included in that price. The rooms would be need microwave, small refrigerator, and better electronics such as flat screen HD TV's, and some source of music. The staff was extremely nice and helpful in any request /inquiries we made
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Texas Panhandle

Anniversary Get Away

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: The views are breathtaking!
Cons: Only wished the villas wasn't so expensive per night!
Location: Mountains and forest all around. They offer miles of hiking trails and have horseback available. Great shopping in town. Many historical sites nearby.
We had reserved a superior deluxe king room, but was given one with two double beds. When we asked the front desk about switching, all they had available was a villa. They graciously moved us to a 2 bedroom/2 bath villa for two nights at the superior deluxe rate which was around $500 less than this villa normal goes for. The staff was very friendly during our entire stay. They on site restaurant is excellent! I had made online reservations and noted it was to celebrate our anniversary. Not only did they reserve us a table away from crowd, but also wished us happy anniversary as well. The waiter was excellent and offered great recommendations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JoAnn from NYC

A problem courteously resolved

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
After traveling all day to get there for a birthday party that night, they had lost my reservation and told me there was only one room left that was already spoken for. Fortunately I had my confirmation with me, so I just calmly waited, after saying that I was sure they would resolve this in some acceptable way. Did they!!!! They gave me a gorgeous 2 bedroom villa!! Probably the most luxurious accommodation they had. And I was treated with great courtesy throughout my stay!I have written to the management to commend the people involved!