Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Views, location, staff
Cons: Beds are hard.
Location: Skiing, hiking, shopping, eating, etc. in and around Santa Fe.
We love this place, but the beds were hard as a rock! We understand they will be closing after Labor Day to fully renovate, which will be nice but we may not be able to afford their rates if they raise them significantly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Renovations

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The quiet outdoors, the big room the climate
Cons: The hotel is in dire need of updating
Location: Hiking, bird watching
Because the hotel was to be under nenovations, many of the services were lacking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roswell NM

Bishops Lodge in Santa Fe New Mexico

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Location in the Santa Fe foot hills.
Cons: Clean the darn lobby, deck and lounge.
Location: Easy distance to the Plaza.
The head desk clerk erased our resevations but luckily we got a room and at half the cost of what Expedia said. The Lodge is a bit run down and in need of repairs and grounds work. Really nice staff though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Located in the hills quite and peaceful

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Really liked the atmosphere we stayed in the suite had a private patio with jacuzzi tub and sep shower with skylights . It was a great getaway. Wish I could have stayed longer. Hope to come back again. A memorable visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Affordable opportunity at luxurious guest ranch

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: More peace and luxury at this price than expected. I have booked two more stays before the end of the summer.
Cons: They are engaged in improvements right now. There were some recent repairs to water damage in our bathroom that I assume will be painted soon.
Bishop's Lodge has been priced out of my range for years. They have lowered prices during renovations to many of the amenities. It was a delight to stay there. During this renovation, the food service (except breakfast, which we slept through deliberately because we had brunch plans in town) is shut down and the pool is unavailable. But, for approximately the price of a Holiday Inn, we got a 400 or so square foot room with a gas fireplace and a balcony and luxury linens and a late checkout time. The view was extraordinary. There was little city light interfering with viewing the stars. A bird dropped by our balcony in the morning to explain in detail that he was a bird, but there was no construction noise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amarillo, TX

Hotel of Dissapointment

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Location is great just outside of town
Cons: Really needs room updating and of course employees would help as well.
Location: Old time resort with great non-winter possibilities located nearby to Santa Fe, NM
On the morning of Day 2 the owners without warning shut down resturant and bar and laid off most of the staff beside front desk and security. Was told it was a corporate decision without warning to employees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John C from Dallas

Fading Glory

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
There was nothing wrong with our stay at the resort--it was very quiet with few guests. Still, the place needs an update--cracked walkways, peeling paint, an overall faded look. The person who checked us in was more bored than most of her type are. The room itself was fine, spacious, though a very small bathroom. Lots of competition in Santa Fe; I suggest the Bishop's Lodge take note.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maryse from Vancouver, Canada

Perfectly placed just off the beaten path

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
The lodge needs yo upsate a few things. Their TV is ancient, their phone from the 80's and it would bave been nice to have more than one little bar of soap for two people fir three days. Nothing beats the location though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort with hiking trails

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Overall ok experience. One down fall was our room was invaded by wasps one afternoon while we were out. Hotel staff relocated us to a new room with no problems.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Classic Resort

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Classic old resort. Beautiful original art in the lodge. During warm weather the pool is great. Horseback riding, skeet shooting, tennis, available.
Cons: Staff and concierge could not execute simple restaurant reservations in town. Bathroom fixtures from seventies; had to fix toilet.
Location: Endless possibilities nearby for hiking, visiting Indian ruins, visiting art galleries and more.
Under new ownership. Have some needs to upgrade tired bathrooms and old technology. Still a great getaway place close to the Plaza in Santa Fe but far enough out to enjoy beautiful views. I have stayed here many times before and enjoy the ambiance. Good food in the southwestern style.