Ratings based on 1,342 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Rooms over priced....

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Very un eventful! I will not stay here and will not recommend any one else!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very historical hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
It is nice and the furniture is very special. Even though it is a little old but it is very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Administration , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our hotel. We have been around since 1917 and do our best to keep a unique yet comfortable atmosphere here for our guests. We hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great old school historical gem

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The Hotel oozes history and old time charm.
Cons: Personally I really enjoyed myself and really can't think of anything.
Location: My visit was just overnight. I want to go back and explore Santa Maria.
I was greeted by a warm smile and very friendly hotel staff upon check in. The room was very comfortable and clean. If you like old Hollywood history and glimpses into the past this would be a great hotel for you to check out. I will definitely be going back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Administration, Hotel Management
This is such a lovely and kind review. We exist because of guests like you, thank you!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

this hotel was recommeded by the American Legion.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: food was excellent
we failed to let the hotel there was a special rate. We booked thru you folks and paid the full price. In the future, we will be notifying the hotel directly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Administration, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the recommendation of the American Legion. We look forward to having you back in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland, CA

Noisy

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The room next door to us had a party in it, called for room change but they couldn't accommodate us stating that they only had a room above the bar
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Erin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write a review, and we are very sorry that your stay did not go better! We are constantly looking to grow and improve as a hotel so this feedback is very valuable to us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victorville, CA

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: historic siginificance
Historic aspect of hotel is interesting. Hotel is broken into two section sections old section (built in 1917) and new section built in 1984. We stayed in old section. room was fairly small and had an odd smell. on the positive side we had a microwave and refrigerator in the room. Did not like the adjacent neighborhood. When I opened the window, I had to listen to mariachi music from the neighboring house.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Erin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are constantly looking for ways to grow and improve and we appriciate your insight.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

This old gem is a little tired.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The oldness of it and some of the original wood work and stain glass.
Cons: A little cleaner and fresh paint. it looks dingy and banged up.
Location: Great location because you could go north or south for great wine country excursions.
Overall, this hotel is fine. We like staying somewhere with some charm..and this place has some. It's just a little tired and could use some sprucing up. The room is a little small, not too bad. My biggest issue was probably the pillows. They were small and thick..so not great for the neck. The pool area was really nice and the hotel bar is a nice asset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom , CA

Nice hotel!

Posted Feb 11, 2015
My wife and I stayed here it is very clean. Staff is great. Bar and service were excellent! Will stay here again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Beautiful, 19th-century charm and elegance. A wonderful surprise after a long drive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Camarillo, CA

Very Nice

Posted Jan 23, 2015
I was from out of town for my son's Rugby match. I decided to come up early to Santa Maria and stay the weekend. The check in was very easy and the girls at the front desk were delightful. This is a very impressive hotel with so many different rooms and activities within the hotel floors. I loved that it was a pet friendly hotel as I had my dog with me. There as ample room for the dogs to go out onto the grassy area. The front desk provided a dog bowl for her. The room was clean and not smelly as you would think being a 'pet hotel'. I am very happy with my stay, the restaurant was delicious and beautiful. I will always stay here when in the area. Great escape.