Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

OK but not a reason to visit Columbia from afar

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Great pool at the center of the resort. Infinity pool has great views. Free shuttle from airport. Buffet breakfast had many Columbian dishes
Cons: Villas need updating. A la carte dinners are average. Security was adequate, but resort feels somewhat like open campus
Location: Most people just stay at the resort. Santa Marta is about 15 km up the road.
We stayed in the Villas which were a bit dated, but spacious. Beach has dark fine sand and water is warm, but not clear. Lots of hawkers in beach area takes away from ambiance. Buffet breakfast was good, but dinners were mediocre in quality and overpriced by Columbian standards. Center pool and infinity pool were very nice and best part of the resort. Lizards are all over the place, but non-threatening - the kids enjoyed spotting them. Very obvious that the resort is trying to sell time shares. Very few foreigners. Most of the staff does not speak English. Some activities like golf putting require additional fees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Overall excellency!

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: The service, the attention to detail
Location: We stayed at the hotel pretty much all the time, but that was our idea.
The whole crew was amazing, nice, helpful. the stay was great. The hotel was great! very happy with everthing
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ppe from Orange Co. California

Nice resort, great services, bad room

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: outdoors, 24 hr medical assistants
Cons: remodel, rebuilt old sections and rooms
very old settings, cabin was built probably on the 60's, beautiful resort dough
2 out of 5
by Ed from Phoenix

Nice Location, terrible room

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Lots of beach front. Nice selection of restaurants with good food.
Cons: tear down the Villas. Put in a better water slide.
Lots of beach front, the sand was ok but the water is not sparkling clear. The food and common areas were good but the Villa we reserved was a horrible, dated and cramped. It was terribly overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by S from Bogota

Excellent for Kids

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have nothing bad to say about the Irotama Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bungalow in beach complex.

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Fantastic beach, warm clean sea backed by palm trees and beautiful tropical plants. Lovely large pool with waterfall. Four restaurants, wide variety of dishes, especially tropical fruit. Staff could not be more pleasant and helpful.
1 out of 5
by na from Colombia

DISSAPOINTED

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Beach and Breakfast buffet
Cons: Huge improvement in Customer relationship and Rooms need an Upgrade. If not then they should lower the rate.
Location: Awesome beaches, great weather, beautiful city
Its been a long time since my last stay at irotama. The rooms are very old, you feel like in a cheap motel, exept for the Bill. At moment of check out, they charged 2 bottles of water, Inmediatly i complained that i didnt drink such water. Even though, they didnt care and didnt believed me and I had to pay them. The pool facilities, the beach and the breakfast buffet are pretty good, its a shame that between an old room and a really poor customer management they screwed it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by alan from santa Marta

great for rest and retreat

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay, but the location is a bit pricey and far from the other attractions and after three nights we decided to move for a few nights to Santa Marta proper... Most of the guests were Colombian, which was a plus, since our family speaks Spanish...