Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY.

Cozy hotel, centrally located

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Cozy, not too big, personal
Cons: Maybe the hot tub should be really hot instead of cold
Location: Good location, quiet and centrally located
The owner made us feel at home immediately, explaining the hotel and interesting things to do around the area during the days we were there. Also good suggestions about where to eat. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON.

Boutique hotel in Santa Marta

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Was comfortable, good value for the money.
Location: Close by is the "Parque de los Novios" in which there are restaurants and bars, also the city is famous by the beautiful natural park Tayrona.
Well appointed boutique hotel in Santa Marta, Colombia. The room was comfortable, appropriate to our needs. The top terrace although small deserves a visit in the afternoon. Breakfasts are varied and well prepared. We would come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Beautiful hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
My friend and I had a wonderful stay at La Casa del Farol! The staff was very warm and friendly, and the owner introduced himself the morning after we arrived. Our stay included a delicious breakfast which was a great way to start off the day. The staff gave us a good explanation of the surrounding area which is very close to Parque de los Novios and excellent restaurants. An overall great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sergio from Bogota

Nice visit to Santa Marta

Posted May 20, 2014
Near to principal tourist places, very romantic, perfect for a couple, staff is very kind, breakfasts are delicious, you can walk around very securely. It has a small but nice swimming pool, a jacuzzi, happy hour for cocktails and wine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wilson from FL, USA

A boutique type hotel

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable and romantic stay. Delicious selection of breakfast. Friendly staff and willing to go the extra mile to help. The hotel is located right in the middle of historic Santa Marta, close to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wendy from US

Absolutely Love This Place

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
I love the history of each room. The service was great. The owner greeted us and provided very useful information so that we could make the most of our trip. The breakfast was the best of any hotel I have stayed in and I have probably stayed in close to 100 hotels. I would highly recomend it to anyone reading this review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from USA

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent breakfast and very helpful staff. Good firm bed and excellent shower, A/C was just OK. Overall a good choice in Santa Marta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from San Francisco

Charming hotel in the historical center

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Location: The corner itself the hotel is on can look iffy at night, but there aren't really problems and it's a 2 min walk to major restaurant/bar areas.
Very friendly staff. Walked us through a map of the city on arrival and gave us a free glass of agua panela. The room was spotless - safe, hot water, climate control, and patio doors all worked - can be hard to find in Colombia. The rooftop terrace and pool were a great spot for watching sunset. We were bumped up with no charge to one of the suites - huge room with couch and desk area. It's a few extra blocks from the big activity hubs, but that means it's quiet. Everything in the historical center is very close, so it's still walking distance to the restaurants, parks, and seashore. Breakfast menu was superb - made-to-order delicious eggs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sweet and Charming In Great Location!

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: The location is excellent, two blocks from all the restaurants and bars. Just far enough not to be loud, but close enough to roll of out of bed.
Cons: The pools aren't big, but we enjoyed just sitting on the roof top at night and drinking wine.
Location: The location is excellent, two blocks from all the restaurants and bars. Just far enough not to be loud, but close enough to roll of out of bed.
We really loved this hotel, we were on our honeymoon so we thought of splurging at some of the more expensive hotels, but this hotel had everything those really expensive hotels had at a really good value. We stayed in 'Paris' room and loved it. The staff was really helpful as well in getting us information and helping us book taxis to the National Park. Really great place highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by John Barreto from United Kingdom

Great stay and fantastic customer service!

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was very impressed with the service and quality of the rooms. The warm and welcoming attitude of the staff made my stay remarkable. The owner was hands on and that translate in attention to details. He was very personable and made sure that I was doing fine during my stay. Definitively will come back if I visit Santa Marta again.