Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great hotel in the centre of Santa Teresa

Posted Dec 23, 2014
We had a lovely stay at hotel castelinho38. It is well located in a safe area and just short walk away to the bars and shops in Santa Teresa. The hotel has good facilities, nice breakfast and bar and great views of Rio. The staff are wonderful and are very helpful, their English is excellent. The manager is so kind he encouraged us to use the spare shower room after we went to the beach on our last day as we had a late night flight. The only problem we had (which wasn't the hotels fault) was that every taxi we took back did not know the area and it cost more we don't know if this was a scam or they genuinely didn't know but it's best to confirm the address and directions in advance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia.

Charming Castelinho38

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. This place is more like a guest house than a hotel. Breakfast was on the large balcony overlooking Rio.
Cons: The hand basin in the bathroom was starting to come away from the wall; it needed a permanent fix.
Location: A very hilly historic location within a jumble of streets; I would never have found it without a good taxi driver. Good choice of restaurants nearby.
I had three nights in mid September staying in Rio de Janeiro at Castelinho38 and was really happy there. Olindo and his staff were friendly and helpful. Olindo helped me choose the best tours to get the most out of my two short days in Rio and I was very happy with those choices. He also organised a taxi driver friend to take me at a very early hour to the airport when I was leaving, so if I was going there again I would have him organise the same friendly driver to pick me up from the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamburg

Ein Schmuckstück von Hotel!

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Das Hotel ist eine sehr schön restaurierte Villa mitten in Rio. Unser Zimmer war einfach ausgestattet ,aber sehr sauber und geschmackvoll mit alten Möbeln eingerichtet! Die Frühstücksterrase bietet einen wunderbaren Blick über Santa Teresa und Rio centrum. Es gibt viele Restaurants und Bars in der nähe und für Ausflüge rund um Rio ist die Lage ideal. Das Personal sprach englisch und war sehr freundlich. Das Frühstück war gut und ausreichend. Wir würden beim nächsten Rio aufendhalt das Hotel wieder buchen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Douglasfrom Chapel Hill, NC, USA

Wonderful Hotel in Santa Teresa area of Rio

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent room, fantastic host, good price. Delicious breakfasts on the city-view terrace, with fresh local tropical fruits, breads, spreads, and eggs made to order. Olindo, the owner, made every guest feel special. The neighborhood is colorful and felt safe to us (despite some other reviews of the Santa Teresa area). The street is a bit off the beaten path, so taxis sometimes had to ask directions, but it was a short walk to the main streets, and to the bus to get to the Metro (if you want to save the 10-15 minute walk to the Metro). Santa Teresa is centrally located, so pretty convenient for tourism. If we come to Rio again, we'll stay at Castelinho38.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

unique hotel in brilliant position

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Position, staff, the whole ambiance
Cons: Probably much but should be left alone !!
Location: Close to centre of Santa Teresa with interesting walks etc.
We had two days at this hotel it was good fun . Staff really helpful. Laid on a simple but really tasty buffet breakfast You must order scrambled eggs excellent ! Room is very basic but clean with a bathroom that is antique but good fun. Its position at top of hill makes views of Rio a real treat. This was an introduction to Brasil and it set the scene we loved it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Davidfrom USA

Best hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was such a pleasure to come and stay at. It is in an amazing location, just a stones throw from the delightful Santa Teresa. The staff go above and beyond to make sure that you have everything you need. Olindo not only brought me food when the kitchen was closed, but he also came with an umbrella when my taxi arrived and literally gave me the coat from his back when I needed to get some food and I had lost mine. The breakfast and terrace are amazing. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leticiafrom Argentina

excelente ubicación

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: ubicación excelente, ambiente calido y familiar, muy seguro
Cons: El desayuno demasiado discreto. Esperaba un autentico cafe da manha con bolos, mucha variedad de frutas y jugos igualmente no opacó nuestra estadía.
volvería a este hotel sin dudarlo, me sentí cómoda, segura. Santa teresa es hermoso y la ubicacion del hotel permite recorrer el barrio con tranquilidad, caminando disfrutando tanto de dia como de noche.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ulm

Schönes Hotel in perfekter Lage oberhalb des Zentr

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Schönes Hotel mit super Blick, Ideal für jeden der nicht richtig viel für ein Hotel bezahlen will. Preis-Leistung stimmt!