Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Wonderful! Location was right on the beach! Staff was friendly and helpfull.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge

A bit disappointing

Posted Jul 9, 2014
First of all - understand it's a eeally long drive down a very bumpy unpaved road The view was nice and the covered outdoor area is the best part of the room. But - there was no hot water, the beach wasn't as pretty as other places we have stayed on this trip, the room was pretty basic (not even a chair) and we were not very impressed with their restaurant. That's alot of negatives for such a high price, I believe we probably should have done a little more research.
3 out of 5
by robyn from byron bay australia

Close to beach

Posted May 13, 2014
Had room 11 back of hotel, wasn't so much road noise ,off sea.son but staff live next door TV and dogs barking late at night.woulnt pay the price for that, moved to somewhere half the price nice and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meghan from Maryland

Relaxing getaway right on the beach

Posted Mar 6, 2014
We chose Hotel Tropico Latino for our honeymoon stay in Santa Teresa, and it was gorgeous. We went with the beach bungalow, which I would highly recommend for anyone who's looking for some quiet privacy with a personal hammock and a very nearby beach. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the food at the hotel restaurant is pricey but really delicious and worth trying at least once. I loved that you could have drinks brought to you right on the beach all afternoon. And the beach is mostly sandy with very few rocky parts - a lot of strong waves, though, and great for surfing if you're into it. While in itself being very private and relaxing, the hotel's location is conveniently located along the same road as many local sodas, bars and supermarkets, and it is also easy to rent an ATV and take a day trip to see Montezuma Falls. We also used a local tour agency to take a day trip to Tortuga Island for snorkeling, and went horseback riding at a nearby ranch. So, there's tons to see and do, and yet the option to absolutely do nothing and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the warm ocean breeze. I would highly, highly recommend it, and hope to get back there again someday!
3 out of 5
by Mike

The reservations

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The views and beach
Cons: Maintenence on rooms and grounds
When we arrived they couldn't find the second reservation They called the manager and good think I had kept the expedia confirmation. They found a room but we had to move to another after 2 days. No hot water in i room for 2 days . The toilet was plug in i room . General housekeeping needed work but setting was beautiful. A great resort that needed some simple maintanence
1 out of 5
by Adam from Ottawa, Canada

Not worth the price... look elsewhere.

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: I honestly can't think of anything.
Cons: Rebuild.
Location: You MUST eat at Brisas Del Mar. It is located up a steep hill, just north of the Malpais crossroads. The food and the staff are exceptional.
This hotel was disappointing overall. The grounds were overgrown, traffic was loud, and the neighbors dog barked all morning. The rooms were outdated, the bed very old, and the cleanliness was questionable. The restaurant was forgettable, and the beach really not as nice as expected. Given that getting to Santa Teresa is a long, strenuous trip down some atrocious roads, we wish we had booked something else. We did have dinner at Nectar one night, it is at Hotel Flor Blanca, and were very sad that we had not stayed there instead. Dinner there was fantastic and the hotel seemed immaculate - the difference was night and day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by freewheeler from santa fe

lost in paradise

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Tropico Latino is hard to get to but worth every bit of effort. A beach paradise second to none.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Amy Mcfetridge from Fort Lauderdale

Great location

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here at the end of October so the hotel was nice & quiet at night. There was some construction going on so the condition of the place wasn't as high, but it was the rainy season after all. Nice staff, helpful & friendly. There is a spa and yoga which is great. Yoga would also be better in the dry season as classes got cancelled and had low attendance when I was there. Great location right on the beach (we had a beach bungalow). Also close to the other local beaches, shops, caf├ęs etc.