Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Wonderful! Location was right on the beach! Staff was friendly and helpfull.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge

A bit disappointing

Posted Jul 9, 2014
First of all - understand it's a eeally long drive down a very bumpy unpaved road The view was nice and the covered outdoor area is the best part of the room. But - there was no hot water, the beach wasn't as pretty as other places we have stayed on this trip, the room was pretty basic (not even a chair) and we were not very impressed with their restaurant. That's alot of negatives for such a high price, I believe we probably should have done a little more research.
3 out of 5
by robyn from byron bay australia

Close to beach

Posted May 13, 2014
Had room 11 back of hotel, wasn't so much road noise ,off sea.son but staff live next door TV and dogs barking late at night.woulnt pay the price for that, moved to somewhere half the price nice and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kate Ross from Bedminster NJ

Fabulous Vacation in Santa Teresa

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our time very much in Santa Teresa. The hotel was exactly what we expected and will hopefully return in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andrea from New Jersey

Perfect Getaway

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel exceeded our expectations. I felt like I was on a remote getaway. I stayed in one of their rooms in the garden and it was absolutely beautiful! It was like having a private cabin to ourselves. Our friends stayed in a beachfront unit and although it was wonderful, I preferred the garden. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel was kept very clean. I would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meghan from Maryland

Relaxing getaway right on the beach

Posted Mar 6, 2014
We chose Hotel Tropico Latino for our honeymoon stay in Santa Teresa, and it was gorgeous. We went with the beach bungalow, which I would highly recommend for anyone who's looking for some quiet privacy with a personal hammock and a very nearby beach. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the food at the hotel restaurant is pricey but really delicious and worth trying at least once. I loved that you could have drinks brought to you right on the beach all afternoon. And the beach is mostly sandy with very few rocky parts - a lot of strong waves, though, and great for surfing if you're into it. While in itself being very private and relaxing, the hotel's location is conveniently located along the same road as many local sodas, bars and supermarkets, and it is also easy to rent an ATV and take a day trip to see Montezuma Falls. We also used a local tour agency to take a day trip to Tortuga Island for snorkeling, and went horseback riding at a nearby ranch. So, there's tons to see and do, and yet the option to absolutely do nothing and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the warm ocean breeze. I would highly, highly recommend it, and hope to get back there again someday!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rick from Massachusetts

Great Santa Teresa location

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
In general it was very good. Staff was outstanding and the quality and value of the food at the on site resturant were great. A short walk from up town where there are other great places to eat. On one of the best streaches of beach in the area.
3 out of 5
by Mike

The reservations

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The views and beach
Cons: Maintenence on rooms and grounds
When we arrived they couldn't find the second reservation They called the manager and good think I had kept the expedia confirmation. They found a room but we had to move to another after 2 days. No hot water in i room for 2 days . The toilet was plug in i room . General housekeeping needed work but setting was beautiful. A great resort that needed some simple maintanence
1 out of 5
by Adam from Ottawa, Canada

Not worth the price... look elsewhere.

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: I honestly can't think of anything.
Cons: Rebuild.
Location: You MUST eat at Brisas Del Mar. It is located up a steep hill, just north of the Malpais crossroads. The food and the staff are exceptional.
This hotel was disappointing overall. The grounds were overgrown, traffic was loud, and the neighbors dog barked all morning. The rooms were outdated, the bed very old, and the cleanliness was questionable. The restaurant was forgettable, and the beach really not as nice as expected. Given that getting to Santa Teresa is a long, strenuous trip down some atrocious roads, we wish we had booked something else. We did have dinner at Nectar one night, it is at Hotel Flor Blanca, and were very sad that we had not stayed there instead. Dinner there was fantastic and the hotel seemed immaculate - the difference was night and day.