Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Honeymoon in Paradise

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Grab some wine and watch the sunset Rent an ATV if you don't have a car. Zula had a tasty falafel pita. Chicken Joe's had a solid fish taco.
Our stay at Otro Lado was a wonderful way to start our honeymoon. We enjoyed our room, (including the patio,) it's a short stroll to the beach, the pool was awesome, and the breakfast was always tasty with more than a few options. The staff and guests were a joy to be around. We also loved the cute cats that were relaxing in the common area. It was a Costa Rican laid-back attitude meets some European flair. We will definitely be re-visiting there again. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was great. Room was spacious and clean. Hotel staff were super helpful and kind. Would encourage anyone to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin, TX

Great value and an even greater vibe!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We felt so relaxed here and had the trip of a lifetime. The staff was super helpful and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc

charming hotel, quiet intimate, near beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Smell of flowers while you swim in small pool, good food, calming atmosphere, laid back vibe.
Cons: cooling the pool water to make it even more refreshing. We would have eaten there if they served dinner (only serve breakfast and lunch)
Location: short walk to the beach, hotel is near surf shops, small restaurants
we very much enjoyed Otro Lado's laid-back atmosphere, unique look (bamboo cottages), beautiful garden and delicious food. Owners were pleasant and accommodating, I would definitely recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Beautiful yoga themed hotel 3 minutes from beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Otro lado truly is a gem in santa teressa. The owner Nico was very polite and helpful. The facilities are clean and well maintained. I particularly enjoyed the crepes for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful Hotel, great location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Very nice hotel, pool and is close to the beach and all the great places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexis from Toronto,ON

Beautiful hotel steps from the beach!

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Everything! Mostly how relaxing and calm it is, even though they are just off the main road.
Cons: The beds were comfortable however the king bed is 2 single mattresses put together, there were "sides" of the bed and a full king would be better
Location: Otro Lado is right off of the main road, however in a little bit so you cannot hear the traffic so much. It is a 5 minute walk (if that) to the beach!
We booked the Otro Lado on Expedia the day before we arrived based on the good reviews. Once we got there, Baggi welcomed us with a big smile and lead us to our rooms - no need to go through the visa/passport/signatures/deposits as we had to at some hotels during our trip in Costa Rica. The hotel is split into a few different tours. The room was beautiful and clean, very relaxing and fresh. It had a balcony which was great - with privacy blinds, chairs and a table, and a clothesline! The bathroom was luxurious compared to most places in CR! The water was hot and the AC was cold which came in handy after long days outside on the beach. Baggi and Nico are always around to help you with anything you need or any questions on activities and restaurants to go to. Their are also always some dogs and cats lounging at the hotel too, which just ads to how relaxing and calm it is. The pool is clean and surrounded by beautiful gardens. The breakfast food is great - none of the continental toast and cereal like some places - it was crepes, pancakes, fruit, yogurt, granola and fresh juices etc. We really enjoyed the pancakes and crepes with Nutella.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jordan from Kentucky

A sigh of relief

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place is a gem. Clean, friendly & great grounds. The common area is one of the more serene places i have ever had the pleasure of eating or just lounging around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ingrid from Vancouver

Posted Mar 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is a bit far from the center, it's a small, busy & dangerous road, so it's not a good idea to walk from the hotel to the center. The hotel has a particular relaxed atmosphere, very zen. Rooms are ok but very dark (it feels like a basement). Staff was nice. Overall, it was a nice stay but definitely not worth $100 / night. We stayed at better hotels in Costa Rica for half the price.