Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phill from London

Hotel in el Sardinero district of Santander

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The room was massive more like a small appartment, clean and well equiped. All the staff we encountered were friendly.
Cons: The bullfighting memorabilia in the reception may not be to everyone's taste and the bar/cafe is decorated with animal heads.
Location: Very close to some of the city's beaches, nice area plenty of cafes etc close by.
We specifically booked this hotel as we were attending a game in the stadium just down the road so, for us, it was ideally located. Others may wish to stay more centrally as we have in the past. The area is very nice with the beaches very close and in Summer would be ideal. The centre is easy to reach via bus and the walk along the coastal path into the centre is very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Edwards843 from Leicester, England

Fantastic Rooms

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked this Hotel as a result of the Comments and found that when we arrived it appeared from the outside in need a bit of a clean but on going into the reception we found that it was very nice indeed. Our Junior Suite was huge and is really worth a visit. The buses into the centre are a couple of minutes walk and run frequently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosie from London

Fantastic!

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Everything! Simply marvellous! Beautiful suite for unbelievable price.
Cons: no tissues provided. no dinner til 9pm
Location: Not central. 10 minute walk to beach. 25 minute walk to Centro. No problemo. The basement bar was good value with basic food offerings.
After 2 weeks of travelling through Spain, what an amazing and pleasant surprise to find ourselves at Placio del Mar in Santander. Amazing value for an amazing room/suite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jill from West Yorkshire

Rude receptionist

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is a bit dated and ready for a revamp. We booked two rooms and were initially given one on 1st floor and one on 5th floor -would have been nicer to be allocated closer rooms. Door lock broken on one room so one room was subsequently reallocated so we ended up closer together after all. Second room was a suite so probably an upgrade -this room had a strange smell and wasn't spotless. Receptionist on check in pompous and rude -my daughter speaks Spanish and he interupted her mid sentence and started speaking in English. Option for eating out of the hotel quite limited in this area. Walking distance to beach but not city centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jane from Dorset

Great hotel following a sea crossing

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: Different decor
Location: Situated close to beach
Excellent situation, close to beach. Good carpark ing facilities, very safe. Decor different!
2 out of 5
by David from Boston, MA

Not what was advertised.

Posted May 23, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Public room decor; poorly maintained elevators; tattered, stained hallway carpets.
Location: About a ten minute taxi ride from the downtown area (and taxis are cheap). About a ten minute walk to the far northern end of the beach.
Therooms are large suites -- but very poorly designed so that the bathroom was cramped and the sofa and TV were separated by thirty feet and a table and chairs -- totally lacking in any charm or character. The hallways carpets were tattered and stained, The front office staff had only rudimentary command of English. The public rooms are -- well "African kitch" would be a generous characterization. The lobby was filled with toreador suit displays and graphics of wild animals; The bar/ lounge walls were filled with taxidermy that included elephant heads and zebra skins and antelope heads; And the dining room had a solid wall of mirrors and truly ugly LED starburst chandileers. The breakfast had minimal selection compared to other hotels we stayed in with four star ratings. Both elevators broke down during the course of our two day stay, at one point leaving no operating elevator service. The location is ten minutes by taxi from the downtown and a ten minute walk to the northern end of the beach - not particularly convenient. This is by no means a four star hotel. Three stars would be generous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gina from Sunny California

Back to the roots

Posted Apr 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a super hotel - the rooms were so spacious! The furniture is a bit outdated but very comfortable and clean. The lobby smelled of smoke but NOT the rooms. Parking was tight but managed a spot on the street next to hotel. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Roger

Quiet convenient location

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very accommodating staff, large room and an excellent breakfast. Local transport close by for enjoyable ride into the centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

decevant

Posted Aug 31, 2011 on Hotels.com
palacio del mar : and no sea to be looked at from the hotel !!!!