Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol, UK

Very smart hotel, opposite lovely beach.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Perfect for the beach. About a 30 minute walk to the main town.
This seemed like a very smart hotel with excellent facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Laurafrom Nottingham

Lovely

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I'd say this is the best hotel on el sardinero after the newly renovated Gran Hotel Sardinero.Perfect location across the road from the beach,was hot & slept with the Juliet balcony doors open & didn't notice the traffic at all.Nice hotel,maybe slightly dated but still fab.Reception staff really not very welcoming on arrival & perhaps they need training in customer service! I would say it's worth paying for a sea view room & there's a lovely place over the road where we always have breakfast...tortilla,juice,coffee costs 4 euros max! Will def return as I love Santander & would stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Francescafrom London

Beautiful view

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was attending a family wedding in Santander and chose the Rio Silken to be by the beach. The view from our fifth floor balcony was stunning, the room quite big with comfy beds and good sized bathroom. However, our arrival at the reception desk was a disaster - the staff unwelcoming and totally disinterested, and no help was offered with baggage. Had I not prepaid I would have considered changing hotels! Breakfast was an ok buffet, but again no smile or friendly 'good morning' and no price for breakfast was specified anywhere. I will not be using the Rio Silken again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by APfrom USA

Great location

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent location by the beach, bus stop, local restraints and shops. Clean and cost. No coffee maker and refrigerator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Iqq

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only reason I give this hotel a 3 for comfort was the first room this hotel give us was a room in the back with the sun shining into the room. When we got into the room it was very very hot. On the way out to go to dinner I explained to the front desk that the room was vey warm and the air was not coming on. We got back from dinner around 10 pm and the room was still very hot without a fan or the air working in the room. We we're told that it has no air on yet as the weather has to get hotter. I told them that I did not care about the Air , but we still needed some kind of air flow. The fin in this room did not work. I was told to pack up and leave if I did not like it and that they would refund my money. At this point I went off on the hotel person. I had booked this hotel 7 months ago and would have to pay more money to get another Hotel last minute.No way wis I going any place at 10 pm at night. I started yelling at her and she upgraded us to a room in the front that was very cool and had a balcony. If you stay in this hotel make sure you get a front room with a balcony. Problem solved. Would go back to this hotel and next time book a front room facing the water. You can also park on the street and do not have to pay for parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Zhao

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by shadow shopperfrom Australia

Nice location - but tiy rooms, avoid sea-view ones

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked a sea-view room thinking it would be nice - but it was so small all we wanted to do was get out of it. There was barely any room to put your cases, two normal-size ones took up all the floor space. And there was only one chair from which you could 'enjoy' the sea view! The verandah could accommodate only very slim people, and then only one at a time. When I tried to get a bigger room was quoted a 50% additional cost per night - seemed a bit steep. And the front desk people were unhelpful and impolite. The restaurant doesn't open until 9PM, so we tried the coffee shop - which was excellent - the food was very good, the waiter very pleasant. But I can't get over the tiny rooms - on the fire escape plan the back rooms looked much bigger - should have had one of them instead!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ismaryfrom Miami

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
This Hotel was the best in our tour. We stayed in about 12 different hotels while going from Madrid to the north coast of Spain, including Potugal. Silken Rio Santander was fantastic. Great Hotel, great location.
2 out of 5
by Taniafrom Miami

Good location

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was very good, the front desk staff were very helpful. The location of the hotel is great, across from the beach and very lively.
Cons: They hotel needs a major over hall.
Location: The location is great across from the beach, great area in the evening also, many restaurants and cafes.
The lobby and rooms looked tired and dated, they need to be remodeled. Parking is a problem.
3 out of 5
by Lizfrom Milton Keynes

Car parking not what is advertised

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Having a car with luggage (summer holiday) we always choose a hotel with parking facilities. This states that there is valet parking. There is not. We anticipated incorrectly that that would mean someone would take the car away to a secure place for you and return the car when you wanted it. The charge was supposed to be 16 Euros per night. That would have been fine. When we arrived, we found out that you had to take the car yourself to a car park two hundred metres away, park it three floors underground, with no lift. There seemed to be no help offered. So to say that there is valet parking is quite untrue. In the end, we emptied the car and kept it on the street just round the corner from the hotel so we could keep an eye on it. But not what we had chosen the hotel for. Disappointing end to an otherwise super holiday.