Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Very smart hotel, opposite lovely beach.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Perfect for the beach. About a 30 minute walk to the main town.
This seemed like a very smart hotel with excellent facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by AP from USA

Great location

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent location by the beach, bus stop, local restraints and shops. Clean and cost. No coffee maker and refrigerator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Iqq

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only reason I give this hotel a 3 for comfort was the first room this hotel give us was a room in the back with the sun shining into the room. When we got into the room it was very very hot. On the way out to go to dinner I explained to the front desk that the room was vey warm and the air was not coming on. We got back from dinner around 10 pm and the room was still very hot without a fan or the air working in the room. We we're told that it has no air on yet as the weather has to get hotter. I told them that I did not care about the Air , but we still needed some kind of air flow. The fin in this room did not work. I was told to pack up and leave if I did not like it and that they would refund my money. At this point I went off on the hotel person. I had booked this hotel 7 months ago and would have to pay more money to get another Hotel last minute.No way wis I going any place at 10 pm at night. I started yelling at her and she upgraded us to a room in the front that was very cool and had a balcony. If you stay in this hotel make sure you get a front room with a balcony. Problem solved. Would go back to this hotel and next time book a front room facing the water. You can also park on the street and do not have to pay for parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Zhao

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by shadow shopper from Australia

Nice location - but tiy rooms, avoid sea-view ones

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked a sea-view room thinking it would be nice - but it was so small all we wanted to do was get out of it. There was barely any room to put your cases, two normal-size ones took up all the floor space. And there was only one chair from which you could 'enjoy' the sea view! The verandah could accommodate only very slim people, and then only one at a time. When I tried to get a bigger room was quoted a 50% additional cost per night - seemed a bit steep. And the front desk people were unhelpful and impolite. The restaurant doesn't open until 9PM, so we tried the coffee shop - which was excellent - the food was very good, the waiter very pleasant. But I can't get over the tiny rooms - on the fire escape plan the back rooms looked much bigger - should have had one of them instead!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ismary from Miami

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
This Hotel was the best in our tour. We stayed in about 12 different hotels while going from Madrid to the north coast of Spain, including Potugal. Silken Rio Santander was fantastic. Great Hotel, great location.
2 out of 5
by Tania from Miami

Good location

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was very good, the front desk staff were very helpful. The location of the hotel is great, across from the beach and very lively.
Cons: They hotel needs a major over hall.
Location: The location is great across from the beach, great area in the evening also, many restaurants and cafes.
The lobby and rooms looked tired and dated, they need to be remodeled. Parking is a problem.
3 out of 5
by Liz from Milton Keynes

Car parking not what is advertised

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Having a car with luggage (summer holiday) we always choose a hotel with parking facilities. This states that there is valet parking. There is not. We anticipated incorrectly that that would mean someone would take the car away to a secure place for you and return the car when you wanted it. The charge was supposed to be 16 Euros per night. That would have been fine. When we arrived, we found out that you had to take the car yourself to a car park two hundred metres away, park it three floors underground, with no lift. There seemed to be no help offered. So to say that there is valet parking is quite untrue. In the end, we emptied the car and kept it on the street just round the corner from the hotel so we could keep an eye on it. But not what we had chosen the hotel for. Disappointing end to an otherwise super holiday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith and Jean from NE England

A good introduction to Cantabria

Posted May 2, 2013
Pros: The location
Cons: Nothing to complain about
Location: Very smart seaside neighbourhood - the Kings of Spain used to stay nearby.
We needed a hotel close to the Santander ferry terminal for a couple of nights to explore the area briefly and as a jumping off point for driving to the Midi Pyrenees in France. The Silken Rio is located in a smart seaside suburb of Santander and provided a very pleasant stay. We specified a sea facing room which had great views and were happy with the breakfast on offer. Staff were helpful and friendly and in particular gave us good directions to the Altamira prehistoric cave paintings museum which is about half an hour out of town. There is a choice of bars and restaurants along the seafront with good food and drink as you would expect in Spain and reasonably priced given the upmarket character of the neighbourhood. All in all, given the price range, we couldn't really fault the hotel or the location.