Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Unfortunately I had problems with the room, I changed room 3 times and none had a good cleaning. When opening the connecting doors the rooms had a broken and musty mattress, I moved to the Hyatt Place, great place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Very pleasant option in Santiago

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The views are excellent, especially on the upper floors. You may be charged extra for a higher floor and a view of the Andes, both are well worth it.
Cons: Some aspects of the decoration have aged. The rooms get a bit stuffy (windows don't open). Bar was closed on a Sunday evening.
Location: There is a large shopping centre nearby. For more interesting dining you might need to drive or walk into other areas. Good dining in the hotel.
The Grand Hyatt in Santiago is beautiful and comfortable. The location, out of the city centre, is good, but it might be inconvenient to reach on public transportation. It is a better option for those who can drive or be driven - even the entrance design is a bit discouraging for pedestrians. However, the service is excellent and it has all the amenities one would expect of a Grand Hyatt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by PatriciaP from Panama City, Panama

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
It's a nice hotel but nothing WAO... I believe that it's too expensive for the value. They don't have free wifi in the rooms, the rooms are really old fashion... It's located in a good area but near it there are more hotels with more amenities complementary and also good service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A terrible experienceI

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: All.It is really not at the level of a 5 star hotel. I will write to the CEO of the HYATT GROUP,to let him know about my experience.
The staff is not experienced and not trained, the facilities ugly, the furniture old . Awfull!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Spencer Sydow from Brazil

Honeymoon Disaster

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although the hotel is beautiful and great, we were there for our honeymoon night. I informed that to the manager, so the night could be special. The hotel sent me an email congratulating us for the wedding and offering us a wine bottle that should be inside the room when we arrived. But it wasn't. At about 7 pm I went down to ask for the bottle. Nobody knew about it. So I showed the email to another manager and he told me they would sent it in 15 minutes. I went to the room, prepared everything for the night (candles, music, etc) and the wine (actually a sparkling wine) NEVER appeared... 1 hour latter, all the mood was ruined... I tried to call the front desk but NOBODY ANSWERED FOR 30 minutes... After almost 3 HOURS OF WAITING, the bottle arrived, my wife was sleepy and thanks to the GH service, all was a total failure. The hotel is very nice and clean. The staff is ok and the pool is fantastic. But the promise of a gift and my expectations on GH was not close to good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RD

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Javier from Santiago

Nice hotel, pricey for the quality

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Restaurants and views of the city
Cons: Definitely phone charges; rug floors are terrible specially for allergic people like me
Location: Location is great but there are others much better located (Ritz, W, etc)
Hotel is ok, but they have to improve things. The offered me the newspaper for next morning but it never appeared. My wife made a local call and they charged $ 6.600 for that (app. US$ 14), what is simply a robbery. I have made local phone calls all over the world and this is just absurdly pricey. You fell you have been abused.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Ryan K from FL

Worst Hyatt Ever Part 1

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at over 50 different Hyatt hotels all over the world and this was by far the absolute worst experience I have ever had. First off it was easy to see that my wife and I were not treated with the same respect as other clients of the hotel because we are a younger ethic couple that didn't dress a certain way. My wife and I were harassed by a waitress during breakfast (during breakfast meaning that we did not even get to begin eating before being harassed) to pay for the breakfast, which we had already pre-paid with our stay; she accused me and my wife of sneaking in for free breakfast in front of all the other guests. The doormen would open the hotel doors for all the other guests with haste and courtesy except for me and my wife, proof of the racism/profiling that is a common place for the staff at this hotel. Furthermore, when we requested for the room to be "made up", the cleaning staff only made the bed and did not clean on single thing in the room, did not remove the dirty dishes from the night before, did not restock the toilet paper, or do anything that they are supposed to do. These are all examples of the poor service and the disgusting manner in which my wife and I were treated here, but the next is worst of all. Continued in Worst Hyatt Ever Part 2
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from mill valley ca

Lovely hotel, attentive staff, good food.

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Excellent concierge service, especially Victor.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Off the beaten track from tourist attractions but walking distance to a large shopping mall with quite a few restaurants and many stores.
Was given early checking even tough I hadn't requested it in advance, lovely room overlooking Santiago and Bruce Springsteen and his band were also staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you get an offer on a lower price, it's a must

Posted Aug 5, 2013
If you get an offer on a lower price, it's a must. Ask for a room with nice view, higher up and look forward to the breakfast menu.