Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jenny from CO

Hotel in excellent location

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Definitely the location and the friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: In some parts it is showing its age, for example, the bathroom, but everything worked well.
Location: Many restaurants and cafes, plus a Starbucks around the corner. The Metro is close, as is the just reopened spectacular pre-Columbian art museum.
I chose the hotel for its location in the historical center of Santiago where museums and interesting sites are easily walkable. The hotel is decent and comfortable, but don't expect luxury. It is very good value for the money. It has a tasty breakfast included in the price. The room was comfortable and kept very clean. There is free internet in the rooms, and computers for guests to use for free on some of the floors. I noticed that there were several tour groups that stayed there during my stay - that is usually a good indication that the hotel is good value. I don't speak much Spanish, but that was not a problem. Some of the very helpful staff know English. I was happy with my choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg & Naomi from Australia

Hotel Panamericano

Posted Mar 19, 2013
The location of this hotel was very good. It was nice and close to the city centre so easy to get around. It is a little older and so not so flash but it was clean and the staff were efficient. The breakfast was substantial as was the restaurant meal at night. Tea and coffee facilities in the room would be a good idea as many travelers don't want to have to ring room service to get a cup of tea, especially if they don't speak the local language very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pa, from Medford, Oregon

Staying in Downtown Santiago

Posted Mar 1, 2013
Pros: In the heart of old Santiago.
Cons: Not having towels when we needed themj.
Location: It is right near Constitution Square and buinesses.
It is in the old city and has lots of interesting sites. Stores and restaurants were right there as was the Hop on Hop off Bus stop for us tourists. The one weird thing was when we were at breakfast, they took all the towels. You didn't have any towels until they washed them and brought them back later in the day. We didn't like that! Would have liked a pool, but price was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eugene from Louisville, KY

¡Excelente!

Posted Dec 13, 2012
Pros: spaciousness of the room and reliable WiFi
Cons: breakfast—but it was fine
Location: right in the heart of downtown Santiago
From the patience of the helpful staff with my non-fluent Spanish to the reliability of the WiFi and spaciousness of the room (single King bed), I have nothing but praise for the Panamericano. The desk clerks were always ready to point me in the right direction with a smile, and when I could only log onto the WiFi with one device (iPhone), the tech guy solved the problem within a few minutes so that I could connect with my iPad and MacBook Air as well. The breakfast was adequate—no complaints but no raves, either. note: Despite the reports of several websites, the outlets were not those found in France and Germany but the straight line of three holes found in Italy. The adaptor I bought for France/Germany worked fine, but some French fellow travelers had problems: the prongs on their plugs were spaced correctly but were too thick to fit in the outlets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kookie from England, UK

Breakfast not to my standard

Posted Nov 10, 2012
Pros: Larger room with excellent shower
Cons: The dining room and poor choice of food
Location: good for getting to the river and restaurants
excellent standard and location, friendly and helpful reception staff. Disappointing bufffet breakfast means I would probably not choose to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SYLVIA from Florida, USA

Great location for exploring Santiago

Posted Sep 13, 2012
Pros: Location,location,location
Location: Great for people who like to walk, taxi to airport 14.000 ch/pesso
Perfect location, you can walk to metro, Red Bus Stop in Plaza d'Armas, Santa Lucia Park. A lot of places to eat.Any shift at the front desk was 1 person who speaks English.The price on Expedia is right for downtown location with breakfast, not posh -but nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 30, 2012
The hotel has an excellent location for sightseeing in the old city and is also fairly close to the airport. We just had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which was about average for a three-star buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Saint Petersburg, Florida

Fine hotel, fine location.

Posted Apr 12, 2011
Totally pleased with the Panamericano -- staff were excellent beginning with the very early 530 am check in I had all the way to the check out where they helped with language skills. Sparkling clean, well appointed public rooms; beautiful private room with all the extras -- and a very fair price. Great location, too -- walk to all the great historic and government bldgs. in downtown Santiago. I'll stay here again, happily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salvador, Brazil

Good stay for the price

Posted Jan 20, 2010
Panamericano has all services a regular hotel from the same category would have (good breakfast, phone, mini bar, TV, safe, etc). They have room for improvement on their computers. Although they have internet access there is no printer to have a hardcopy of reservations to the places you will visit or maps. Also the computers do not allow the connection of USB peripherals like digital cameras (useful when your memory card is full and you have to move your pictures to a pen drive).