Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with a lot of character

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Good location Excellent breakfast (especially the toast) Very nice staff
Cons: Remove one of the two double beds and the bide from the bathroom.
Location: Walk around the village
Very nice hotel, room was nice, and an excellent shower.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marek from Suisse

Not a nice hotel for a stay with friends

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is overequipped with lots of ancient stuff just to keep the style and it is too much. Hotel rooms not very comfortable and quite small. Very limited choice of food for breakfast and everything just sweet. It is not allowed to take any food to hotel rooms. Good location in the center of the village and parking for hotel guests free of charge. We got a room with a king bed although we wanted 2 separate beds. Older couples may appreciate the hotel and its equipment but it is not a good choice for a stay with friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

close to beautiful ancient areaof town

Posted Nov 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
a lovely surprise to be in such a beautiful area. The lounge areas were too cold to sit in with any comfort and the lighting too dim to read or play cards.It would be nice to have english programmes on the TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel as intro to Spain off the ferry

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Pros: Interesting character.
Location: Very easy to find. The village is a good place to stay if you come off an evening ferry arrival.
The only reason I have marked the hotel down on comfort was the mattresses were 'memory' ones, and were therefore hot. But this would not worry everyone, and we only realised it in the night.
2 out of 5
by Jeff from England

Great Place, shame about the Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2012
Pros: The Beds were fine
Cons: Breakfast and the waiting staff
Location: On a busy junction but not disturbed by traffic
This hotel is a museum, and is advertised as such on site within the village...The building is filled with classic Spanish antiques and furniture, we found it fascinating and it did add to the atmosphere . The check in experience was fine, but I understand some Spanish and my Wife speaks it fluently. This coast is a Spanish tourist area and little English is spoken here, so this should not be held as a negative against this hotel. People without any of the language could find the whole thing very frustrating. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the bathroom facilities more than adequate. What was disappointing was the arrangements for breakfast and the parking. Parking in Santilliana del Mar is at a premium, the few reserved spaces outside the hotel and across the junction remained full for our whole stay, there is parking for the hotel but it is 400 metres up the main road. A long trek with cases. Breakfast was in the basement breakfast room of an associated hotel a hundred metres up the hill. The food was decidedly average by standards set by other 3 star hotels we stayed in during our week on this delightful coast. The waiter was surly and had to be asked for everything rather than offering service. Not a great start to the trip - we shall not be returning to this hotel... Lovely little village, a great choice of restaurants and local as well as tourist shops. Great local food and on the Camino pilgrim route.
2 out of 5
by paloma from estados unidos

noisiest hotel ever

Posted Aug 5, 2012
This hotel is beautiful, located in an historic casona and filled with antique furniture and paintings. However, the crossroads of the two main highways into town is located directly beneath most of the guestroom balconies. The traffic noise was incessant and intrusive. It did not abate at night, as trucks were constantly passing through. I wore earplugs and still found it difficult to sleep peacefully. It's a shame, because the hotel itslef is charming, and located right at the entrance to the old village. Since staying here,I have started using google.maps to investigate future hotels' traffic patterns. I have really never experienced anything like it before.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by andy

great location, good value for money hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
pleasant hotel with friendly helpful staff, great town center location, would use this hotel again no problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Doncaster - UK

Fabulous

Posted Sep 11, 2011 on Hotels.com
Absolutley stunning - picturesque village just outside of Santander - well worth a visit. Wish we had stayed longer. Cannot fault the hotel, it was clean, bedroom was more than adequate, took the dog and was welcomed without hesitation. Beautiful surroundings too. Not much English spoken tho but muddled through. Very typically Spanish - would highly recommend a stop off!