Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wanda from Reading, PA, USA

My vacation

Posted May 3, 2012
Pros: the beach
Cons: you can not use the beach to swing
Location: ok
the hotel was ok..the services was so,so..the hotel no have telephone.no restaurant in the hotel,and the bathroom was no at all clean, and missing thing in the bathroom like the soap dispenser, toilet paper, some black dirt in some area in the bathtop, they need to up date some thing in the rooms. But for the price was ok..I you ask me if I want to stay in the hotel in the trip, I will tell you NO..I will find some place else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Latin caribbean

Posted Apr 27, 2012
For the price you cannot have or pretended more than this! Unfortunately the beach is quite far from the hotel but it's breezy and you can enjoy the force of the sea from the near pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total disastre

Posted Mar 6, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
Location: Not have beach
Very traumatic experience Do you now this Hotel is garbage
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trenton nj

really enjoyed it

Posted Feb 25, 2012
Pros: ocean view, wake up and all you see is blue water...nice
Cons: the locals selling things were kind of annoying
Location: location is kind of creepy, 30 minutes from santo domingo airport. if you're faint at heart i wouldn't recommend walking around outside at night.
excellent place for someone who wants to just relax without being around too many tourist. 1 restaurant about 2 minutes away El Concon great place to eat. nice public beaches close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Patrick from Florida

BEST VALUE IN DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Pros: Location Location Location, Great VALUE. Caters to Europeans, especially Italians. Closest best location to Airport..Secure, Safe, Quiet
Cons: Beds are hard, towels are cheap
Location: Staff is good with limited English, Read my directions or a 30 minute ride becomes a 4 hour ride
This Hotel has to be the BEST VALUE IN the Dominican Republic. On the OCEAN, Clean, Super SAFE 24/7. Each room has a kitchen (trick push knob down to light stove with match (supplied) lit), there is a small mini market on site, hours are not posted, good for last minute items; super market is about a $20 round trip if you plan to cook a lot, so planning is a must. Many small restaurants near by walking, BEST is ConCon at the end of the road about 300 meters from hotel is the BEST by far..Reasonable, delicious, Italian fare, Chicken Codon Blue to die for, entertainment Saturday night ( bring mosquito repellent for your feet, especially if your real sensitive..they have fans, candles, etc , BUT..There is an Italian restaurant opened in the hotel but days ahours are limmited..menu looks yummy prices reasonable..On site entertainment is limmited. Hotel is 30 years old, pool looks it, water is clean though..sandy beach but have to walk off site to enter the ocean ..BIG Waves....There is no on site parking, park on the street safe safe as security watch. DOWN SIDE : Hard to find if you drive..30 km from airport excelent road..Juan Dolio exit easy to miss if you miss the one and Only Sign overhead. Right at fork. 10 km or so see sign for only Casino on road; next right see sign for Capella Bacello, next right to end, left about 600 meters along Ocean, Albatros Painted on lamp post..beds are hard, in room towels cheap, water pressure ok, tons hot water.. Caters to ITALIANS
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coalinga, CA

There will be no third time

Posted Jan 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is the second year in a row that my wife and I have been given twin beds instead of a queen or king bed. There are a number of new places in the area and since we book 6 months to a 1 year in advance we'll never be coming back to Albatros. We could not even get enough towels for the bathroom this trip and staff never provided materials so that the dishes could be washed. Moreover, the rates have increased by over 50% from the same time last year, so it seems you pay more and get less. However, the bartender was awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Florida USA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Carlos from Santo Domingo, D.R.

Depressing for a pre-paid New year wekend holiday

Posted Jan 3, 2012
Pros: The town of Juan Dolio where friends were staying.
Cons: very old paint (8-10 years old) and worn-down kitchenette.
Location: The town of Juan Dolio where friends were staying.
Some years ago it might have been a good resort to spend holidays. Today, the facility seem almost totally abandoned. There is a FOR SALE sign in the place. Individual efficiency worn down rooms wwith balcony (36-40 square meters) are for sale at a high price ($80,000 euros) in a water front facility with a swiming pool. NO BEACH, restaurant nor parking for the guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tito from California

My stay at Albotross

Posted Jan 1, 2012
Pros: The Bartenders and cleaning staff
Cons: the bed, and the time the bar closes
Location: The location is farther out from the town, but its only 5 minutes to get to the main paft of town by car or taxi
The staff was awsome, but there bar closes at 11pm which forces you to go outside the hotel to have fun. The bed is hard and not very comfortable, and the paint has peeled on the pool making it look dirty, but it is cleaned daily. I would definately stay again as in my opinion it is the better hotel for the price in Juan Dolio. The Bartenders, and cleaning staff were great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Albatross is OK - great staff

Posted Dec 26, 2011
Pros: Staff
Cons: the room and the location of the hotel - ugly beach. not really a beach
Location: Poor
No potable water, no restaurant nice staff, tho. The "beach" was non existent, and the location was dead and no taxis came unless you had them called by the hotel staff.